We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
84
13
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
84
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister property record player mid century fire pit other guests manager eric don draper saltwater pool complimentary bottle albert frey mad men pool hours central location yogurt tennis club modernism week art museum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 97 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2019

Walk through the gates of The Hideaway, and it's like entering a time machine, hello 1950! You would expect to see Don Draper by the pool. Build in 1947 by Herbert Burns it is an architectural masterpiece renovated with love and care. My husband and I spend 3 nights in room 111, furbished in the mid century style, complete with vinyl record player. All rooms have a direct acces to the common pool area with lounge chairs, and a small private patio with chairs and tables. With only 10 rooms, and adults only, this is a heaven of peace and quiet, no cell phone conversations by the pool allowed - hallelujah!!
Eric is the general manager, and the absolute perfect host, catering to all our needs, serving healthy breakfast, giving tips to day trips and just a genuinely nice and pleasant guy to chat with.
Located in the beautiful Historic Tennis Club neighborhood it's perfect for the morning run, offers a great view of the mountains, and only a short walk from shops and restaurants, this is the perfect location.
We most definitely hope to revisit the Hideaway one day.

Room tip: #111 Dino's Den is the best room
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and enjoyed our small but adequate room with an undersized queen bed (next time we will book a king). It has a fridge so you can store left overs and drinks. They have a communal kitchen where they have a fridge that makes ice and includes sparkling water in cans. They put out coffee, orange juice, yogurt, bananas, oranges, apples, bagels, bread and English muffins just before 8 am. The K cup coffee machine did not work when we were there so I had to wait until 8 am for coffee. They do have a water cooler near the kitchen. We did not find out until the last day about the bicycles and pool floaters. It is an adult only place which is what makes this place special. It is a three block walk to the Main Street so we walked to restaurant s every day. We used the salt water pool everyday. There are a number of similar like inns on this street.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

We had a wonderful stay at The Hideaway, a beautiful hotel which gives you the true Palm Springs experience. You could be on the set of Mad Men, bespoke furniture and extremely tidy and well kept.

Eric the hotel manager made this stay truly exceptional, from his witty conversation, general helpfulness and useful tips and recommendations. True American hospitality, thank you for make our stay so great

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franruy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

You can’t beat the locale for starters just a couple of blocks off the main drag but super quiet with great views of the hills. The inn keeper Eric was great and the room immaculate spacious and loved being able To vinyl in my room ....
This may seem petty but there were only three bikes making it awkward when you and another couple wanted to explore the city at the same time and also a in room coffee machine like a Nespresso would of sealed the deal . The breakfast could use a little something as well .

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Chefclaire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019

The Hideaway is one of several mid-century masterpieces designed by the self-taught architect Herbert W. Burns. It’s a study in clean lines, right angles, muted materials, and magnificent landscaping. The private courtyard seems to expand in all directions around a welcoming, heated, saltwater pool. The perfectly manicured lawn and lush plantings provide an appropriate contrast to the muted tones and clean lines of the building itself. It’s precisely this confluence of exterior styling that forms the heart of this hotel.

The rooms only add to the experience. With large windows and vintage furniture (our room featured several authentic Bertoia chairs, for example), the rooms are comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. We had two closets and a small, fairly-new, non-vintage kitchenette equipped with a mini-fridge. Overall, painted in a creamy white, with taupe accents, curtains in light avocado, and white carpeting, the room had a bright yet warm feel.

In the center of the hotel itself is a gorgeous, mid-century common area. It’s here that a light continental breakfast is served daily. With its views of the courtyard and comfortable furnishings, this room provides some nice interior space for reading, too.

Now for a couple of key details you should know. The first is that, if you read older reviews, you’ll see that this hotel was once a sister property to the Orbit In, which is just down the street. This is no longer the case, which means that you don’t have the option to use the hot tub at the Orbit, as is suggested in some of the previous reviews. Most of the time this won’t be a problem, but the temperatures in Palm Springs do sometimes dip into the 40s (and did so for us!)…

Next, there’s no dedicated parking; you park on the street in front of the hotel. Again, no real problem here. We had no trouble finding parking, and our car was fine. However, some folks might prefer a parking area.

Finally, the overall feel of the hotel, true to its name, is one of extreme privacy. We never saw our host or any sort of main office. The guests were rather reserved. The courtyard is a designated quiet area. This, combined with the express check-in / check-out process, means that you might spend your entire stay without speaking to or interacting with a single soul. To be sure, the manager was extremely communicative and friendly over email and on the phone before our arrival. But once arrived, the experience tended toward quiet contemplation. This can be a great thing. But anyone looking for a slightly more social environment might want to look elsewhere.

Still, I’m really glad we got to stay here. For those who love classic, modern architecture, and who desire a quiet, private experience, the Hideaway Hotel is not to be missed.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kartographize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews