We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hideaway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Rossi Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Ranch Inn(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday House(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Korakia Pensione(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willows(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Hills(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Del Marcos Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Serena Villas(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
67
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister propertyorbit innmid centuryorbitini hourfree cruiser bikesother guestsfire pitboomerang barcomplimentary bottlerooms surroundingour room was spacioussalt water poolyogurtsmall propertycocktail hourowners and staffmodernism week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 77 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Palm Springs is heaven for those who like mid century modern architecture. The Hideaway is one of the many jewels of it, especially the Dino's Den room which offers a selection of cd's and dvd's of the era. Every detail is authentic. The smaller rooms also have all you need, beds are good, showers somewhat shaky (authentic), but it is excellent value for money.
The living room in the center part of the building offers (organic)breakfast and during the day there is free use of the content of the fridge, soft drinks, yogurts etc. Sometimes a beer.
Bikes are for free as well, so you can start your stroll around Palm Springs architecture right from The Hideaway. It's wise to check the bike lock in case you want to park your bikes somewhere. Town center is very close, yet distant enough not to be bothered by its noise. The pool in the middle is all right, the garden and the lawn offer shade. Bill, the manager makes restaurant reservations as well as reservations for the (highly recommended!) architectural tour around PS. We felt that The Hideaway has a more luxurious feeling than its 'sister hotel' The Orbit Inn, just a few meters away.

Room Tip: Ask for Dino's Den
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went for a 3 day getaway and loved this place,lots of 50s charm.very small and intimate beautiful pool and fire pit area.beds were comfy furniture was funky and was very quiet area being a block or so from the strip.free use of bikes which was nice,continental breakfast was handy ,the onsite kitchen and livingroom(lounge) area was nice for a latenight snack or drink.love the vibe from the mid century architecture in the area.next time we are in Palm Springs we are going to the hideaway

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms our first day there since we were the only ones booked that night,all a little different,not a bad one in the lot
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just got back from a 3 day stay at this cool property. We loved the mid century modern decor and clean lines of the landscaping. The continental breakfast and coffee were a nice way to start the day. We took advantage of their cruiser bikes to check out the great neighborhood. For the price we thought the amenities could have been much better but with that said we really enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was getting overwhelmed with my trying to make a decision on where to stay in Palm Springs, I happened to find The Hideaway right before booking another (which, it turns out was overpriced and far away)
Bill was the person who took the booking and he was such a help. We messed him around because we almost had to cancel, but he was so accommodating.
I could go on forever about how much I enjoyed this trip, but I'll nutshell it:
1. Quiet and intimate, if you're a loud kinda person, best not to book this place.
2. Feels like your own vacation home, it's right off the main strip, but on a residential street.
3. It's vintage in all the right places. Fabulous key pieces, but you don't feel like you're stuck in a time-machine and it doesn't smell like mothballs!
4. The staff are all so helpful and knowledgeable.
5. The bed was so comfortable I thought someone had slipped us a Mickey! We slept sooo good.

None of the other hotels compare. In the words of the Terminator, 'I'll be back.'

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynseyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location is perfect. A quick walk to downtown Palm Springs. The grounds are great and well kept. Very cool pool area with plenty of seating and a cool lounge area with a kitchen attached. Plenty of books and movies on location. And the service from all of the staff is great who are from the Orbit In and you should go down there for the Happy Hour to meet the other guests who were all interesting to talk too. This will always be my first choice in a visit to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews