We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & atmosphere on Palm Canyon”

Zin American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Zin American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 328 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Arenas
Description: Casual fine dining serving only the best quality natural, hormone free, sustainable products we can find. 9 time winner of the Wine Spectator Award and now the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2 years in a row, and now winner of the Best Wine List in the Coachella Valley. Over 479 selections and priced to sell, the list is eclectic but friendly. Ask for our wine director Jason to see there's any wine specials as there are often 50% off wine nights or special wines available not on the list. Champagne Brunch Daily with a 2 course Prix Fixe Brunch/Lunch menu for $16.99. Happy Hour during lunch hours and from 4:30 - Cl (4:30 - 6:30 TH, FR, SAT) nightly. Try the XXX Mac n' cheese or the Bacon Pork and Chorizo burger! House wines and well drinks $5 Hand crafted cocktails, Bourbons and house signature drink specials. Make reservations early and ask to sit outside on the cooled, misted patio in the summer or heated patio in the winter. People watching on Thursday nights for the street fair is the best from this patio with live music across the street.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you want to dine in a relaxed, yet cosmopolitan atmosphere with a great menu, helpful staff, good service, and good prices right in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, then Zin American Bistro is your place!
We ate there last weekend just before going to an evening performance of the Follies, right down the street. We didn't have reservations, they were busy but thankfully were able seat us serve us and get us off to the Follies in time. Thankfully we arrived early ( 5:00 ish) or I'm sure we would have been out of luck. I would definitely NOT try that again and would highly recommend that YOU make reservations!!!
We chose from their Prix Fixe ( 2 course) menu and were really pleased. I had the sand dabs and my husband enjoyed the pork loin. We just couldn't stop commenting on our great meals. Happily they have a great selection of wines, beer and cocktails to choose from.
We also noticed that there's a great happy hour at the bar with appetizers and 1/2 price drinks. Next time we're going to try the bar menu!! :)
We ate outside in their recently enlarged patio area and enjoyed watching the passersby and the activity on Palm Canyon. But if you'd like a more quiet atmosphere there was also lovely indoor seating.
We can't believe that in all these years we hadn't dined at Zin's in the past....but we can honestly say that we'll be enjoying many more meals there when we're staying at our place in Palm Springs!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zin1ps, Owner at Zin American Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks for dining with us and I'm happy you enjoyed the Early Dining $19.99 prix fixe dinner! We look forward to having you back in the next time you are in town - and good advice about the reservations!
Mindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 328 of 607 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We heard good things about this place but WOW what a disappointment. Our meal (pork chop) was to over cooked to eat. We spoke to the manager/owner who said she knew more about food than we did and said if we didn't like it we were welcome to leave and that we had better pay for it. We were shocked and majorly disappointed. Strike this one off your list.

Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zin1ps, Owner at Zin American Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

William B. I again am sorry you didn't like your pork chop and if your remember correctly you didn't pay for it. I did not say "I knew more than food than you did" but that I knew how my kitchen worked. You said that I "cooked it in the same pan as I had cooked fish without washing it" and what I said was that I could "guarantee that each dish was cooked to order and not in a dirty pan".
I am very proud of my kitchen and the quality of food that comes out. They did over cook your pork for your liking however which is why I took it off your check. As good as they are not perfect and I take the responsibility when they make a mistake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had difficulty making a dinner reservation for Valentine's Day (we left it rather late) and we 'finished up' at Zin. We were pleasantly surprised. The place was busy but the staff were not overwhelmed. The quality of the food on the prix fixe menu (the only option) was very good. The NY steak was tender and tasty, as was the swordfish. We will be back on a 'normal' day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RLP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zin1ps, Owner at Zin American Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

We are glad that you procrastinated and ended up dining with us on Valentines! Looking forward to having you in to enjoy our regular menu!
Thanks for letting me know my staff did a good job!
Mindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Always try to hit Zin when in the desert. They have a great menu and the staff are always accommodating to minor menu variations. It's a go to place in PS - enjoy!

Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zin1ps, Owner at Zin American Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks for the review Barry T!
We try to accommodate special requests and I'm glad my staff was able to give you what you wanted! Hope to see you again.
Mindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Zin is located in the heart of Palm Springs, on the main drag. My wife and I ate lunch outside on a sunny, somewhat cool day, and it was very pleasant. I had hanger steak with a shallot sauce, with green beans and frites. The steak was not tender, but that is not the point of hanger steak. The point is the flavor, and there was plenty of it. The beans also were good, as were the frites. I particularly liked the frites because they were cut fairly thin (like Long Branch potatoes) and they were just golden.

My wife had a salad with grilled chicken. It was presented very nicely and was properly prepared.

The steak was quite reasonable at $16; the salad was $12, I think.

Service was attentive without being suffocating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chescat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zin1ps, Owner at Zin American Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your lunch! I love our hanger steak also and the chicken salad is a house favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zin American Bistro also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Zin American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing