We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - So Many Choices”

Zin American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Zin American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 342 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: American, French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Arenas
Description: Casual fine dining serving only the best quality natural, hormone free, sustainable products we can find. 9 time winner of the Wine Spectator Award and now the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2 years in a row, and now winner of the Best Wine List in the Coachella Valley. Over 479 selections and priced to sell, the list is eclectic but friendly. Ask for our wine director Jason to see there's any wine specials as there are often 50% off wine nights or special wines available not on the list. Champagne Brunch Daily with a 2 course Prix Fixe Brunch/Lunch menu for $16.99. Happy Hour during lunch hours and from 4:30 - Cl (4:30 - 6:30 TH, FR, SAT) nightly. Try the XXX Mac n' cheese or the Bacon Pork and Chorizo burger! House wines and well drinks $5 Hand crafted cocktails, Bourbons and house signature drink specials. Make reservations early and ask to sit outside on the cooled, misted patio in the summer or heated patio in the winter. People watching on Thursday nights for the street fair is the best from this patio with live music across the street.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Always try to hit Zin when in the desert. They have a great menu and the staff are always accommodating to minor menu variations. It's a go to place in PS - enjoy!

Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zin1ps, Owner at Zin American Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks for the review Barry T!
We try to accommodate special requests and I'm glad my staff was able to give you what you wanted! Hope to see you again.
Mindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 381 of 659 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Zin is located in the heart of Palm Springs, on the main drag. My wife and I ate lunch outside on a sunny, somewhat cool day, and it was very pleasant. I had hanger steak with a shallot sauce, with green beans and frites. The steak was not tender, but that is not the point of hanger steak. The point is the flavor, and there was plenty of it. The beans also were good, as were the frites. I particularly liked the frites because they were cut fairly thin (like Long Branch potatoes) and they were just golden.

My wife had a salad with grilled chicken. It was presented very nicely and was properly prepared.

The steak was quite reasonable at $16; the salad was $12, I think.

Service was attentive without being suffocating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chescat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zin1ps, Owner at Zin American Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your lunch! I love our hanger steak also and the chicken salad is a house favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We chilled on the patio drinking the recommended California chardonnay, eating the mussels and a salad Nicoise. Very relaxed, friendly service, saw everyone in town pass by.

Thank Sheila_R_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had previously been to Zin and decided to return this trip. Our table was right at the railing, so we could watch (and sometimes interact with) all the people going by. In addition to the regular menu they had a reasonably priced 3-course prix fixe with a range of choices. They have a great wine list, also reasonably priced. The food was fresh and excellently prepared, the atmosphere was pleasant, and our server, Aaron, had just the right touch of helpfulness and humor. It made for a very enjoyable and memorable dinner.

Thank Diane102_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Met friends for dinner while week-ending at our PS house, and found this restaurant, though very nice, rather overpriced. In fact, our dinner check at over $200.00 plus gratuity for 4 people, (less wine) was frankly excessive for the quality and actual quantity of food presented. We are long-time locals and this was our first visit to this place, but we were more than a little disappointed. We had heard raves about this place.

Examples? How about a really miniscule ala carte beet salad for $9.00? The least they could have done was provide a microscope to find it on the plate. It was literally that small. My companion ordered mussels and they were well prepared and plentiful. I had scallops and was not over-whelmed with the preparation (bland) or the portion size. The dessert menu was limited, as well. We ordered two different desserts and found the desserts very formulaic, in fact the banana themed dessert smacked of old-fashioned banana pudding and the other dessert featured churros. Not at these price points!

We sat on the large patio, and the "people watching", though interesting, was simply not the equalizing rationale to pay the prices we paid.

The staff was extremely welcoming and the service top-notch, the menu a bit eclectic, but the overall meal portions were more akin to a tapas bar than having a regular sit-down dinner. Perhaps I ordered the wrong dish(es), but cannot say that I will be back. Final hint: bring money...a whole lot of it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank houstontosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zin1ps, Owner at Zin American Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Sorry you thought the portions were small, I'm not sure if you received a split beet salad by mistake or the pantry made it small but the beet salad is actually very nice sized.
We make all the desserts here (one of my job descriptions at times) and the 'Banana Cream Pie' layered between the puff pastry is very popular. Not sure what you are referring to as a churro because I have nothing even close to that on my dessert menu and with other options like our Chevre Cheese Cake and Tarte Tatin I think our menu is very unusual compared to most restaurants with their mass produced, purchased desserts.
I hope you will accept the offer to come in again that I sent you so you can try us again.
We actually have been reviewed as "having the best food for the money in the Coachella Valley" and I hope you decide to return.
Mindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zin American Bistro also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Zin American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing