We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Excellent Value at a Mediterranean Restaurant....”

Zin American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Zin American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 319 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Arenas
Description: Casual fine dining serving only the best quality natural, hormone free, sustainable products we can find. 9 time winner of the Wine Spectator Award and now the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2 years in a row, and now winner of the Best Wine List in the Coachella Valley. Over 479 selections and priced to sell, the list is eclectic but friendly. Ask for our wine director Jason to see there's any wine specials as there are often 50% off wine nights or special wines available not on the list. Champagne Brunch Daily with a 2 course Prix Fixe Brunch/Lunch menu for $16.99. Happy Hour during lunch hours and from 4:30 - 6:30 nightly. Try the XXX Mac n' cheese or the Bacon Pork and Chorizo burger! House wines and well drinks $5 Hand crafted cocktails, Bourbons and house signature drink specials. Make reservations early and ask to sit outside on the cooled, misted patio in the summer or heated patio in the winter. People watching on Thursday nights for the street fair is the best from this patio with live music across the street.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow! Excellent Value at a Mediterranean Restaurant....”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the best restaurant we went to in Palm Springs. It is small but the food is fantastic. We had the chicken special stuffed with goat cheese and ricotta. Crunchy little haricots. Tiny potatoes. Very nice wait staff. We have talked about that chicken for days now!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lillian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    190
    66
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We eat here every time we pass by Palm Springs”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We found this place on Palm Canyon Drive by accident on our way back from Joshua Tree NF to LA and have returned each time (2) we've been near Palm Springs since. They have a great selection of delicious tapas at very reasonable prices (even more so if you come during the 3-6p happy hour) - the Serrano ham wrapped zucchini is outstanding. And their sangria is fantastic - more so at $12 for a carafe. The sidewalk tables are perfect on a sunny day if you can get one before the crowds get there. Skip the other dives along the Drive and stop by this local gem!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkbATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Traditional American food well served and presented”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice little restaurant in the heart of Palm Springs. We enjoyed the outside seating area, warm in December, and the traditional food was a welcome respite from what is on offer elsewhere. We had the boneless ribs, served with mash and green veg. Very straightforward but a nice change in the circumstances. Try Zin, along with more adventurous restaurants, if you're in the area for a few days.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueOcean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Christmas Dinner...and Dinner Anytime”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I visited Palm Springs last year and ate here twice in 4 days we enjoyed it so much. It was our first choice for Christmas Dinner this year. They had a prix fixe menu and all the choices sounded so good we had a hard time deciding. We both had the Mushroom Truffle Soup and we both took our bread to the bottom of the bowl to get every last drop. We both had the filet mignon and though we both ordered medium rare, his was perfect but mine came a little more done than that. Waitress was very apologetic and took it back to the kitchen and left me the rest of my dinner to nibble on. Steak arrived on a new plate with the complete dinner...it was now perfect. Dessert was delish, husband had Raspberry Napoleon and I ended up with a delicious bread pudding. Since we flew in and had late reservations we suspected they might be out of a few things...unfortunately the pecan pie was one of them....but the bread pudding was excellent and since the waitress heard I liked caramel (was a sauce on the ice cream for the pie) it was added on the side...very nice touch. All in all another good meal. Have always found it to have good ambiance and attentive staff, but not overly so. It has seating indoors and outdoors (we've sat in both) so great place to people watch, even if you are inside as the wall to the outside is all glass. Will be back again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Bistro with Accommodating Chef”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've got dietary restrictions which limits what I can or will eat. Our server, Deborah, was very personable and understanding about my needs. I selected an entree that I could not have "as is", so Deborah made suggestions that made the dish work for me. She didn't even need to check with the chef first. The entree, as well as the appetizers, were delicious, and we would go back here on another visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zin American Bistro also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Zin American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing