We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu Has Potental”
Review of Jiao Palm Springs - CLOSED

Jiao Palm Springs
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Menu Has Potental”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Had eaten at Jiao once before & thought I'd give it another try because their menu selection is innovative & has potential. It was disappointing, again. They just don't seem to be able to get the flavors together. Plus both times the service was adequate but "cool", which may be a reflection of their comment on their menu to give comments directly to them vs other websites (thinking Trip Advisor too?). Wouldn't return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try Dim Sum Sunday”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Jiao's food is light, with an interesting mix of Asian flavors. Delightful patio. Last visit we went on Sunday, and they have only a Dim Sum menu of small plates, but NOT the traditional Chinatown choices. Items were much more intriguing. Even with just two of us we could sample multiple items.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice small plates”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Don't go if you 're really hungry. We ordered several items to share. The flavors were amazing! The pork belly bao was outstanding and the chicken, mango & avocado salad has a great combination of flavors. Because we shared so many plates, we left perfectly satisfied. Highly recommend this restaurant to experience the mix of flavors!

Helpful?
Thank Nittany84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived on Saturday night to a 45-minute wait. They took our cell phone number and said they would call when a table was ready. We walked around town and returned after 40 minutes and were shown to one of several open tables-What happened to the call?

Food ranged from average to excellent. Some items such as fresh rolls and Vietnamese noodles are better in Vietnamese restaurants for much cheaper. However, the raw Hamachi appetizer over slivers of fresh grapefruit with daikon radish was excellent. The beef in watercress was also a very competent combination with good cuts of perfectly cooked beef in a salty teriyaki-style sauce balanced by the bitter bite of watercress. The soy marinated cod, although a tad pricey for the size, was also wonderful with a fresh flavorful cod steak perfectly caramelized on top. My daughter pronounced the agedashi tofu “Meh.”

The waitperson was knowledgeable, if over impressed, by the ingredients. Service was spotty. We received drinks and first round of food quickly but our side of coconut rice arrived (at room temp) after we finished the meal. We waited for ages for the desert menu and at the waitperson’s suggestion settled on the ice cream sandwich. This arrived rock solid frozen and impossible to cut. The basil ice cream was unsavory and weird with the salty chocolate bar. The citrus topping gele was interesting but had a strange slimy-gooey consistency. It took forever to catch the waitperson’s eye for the check.

Our meal took about 2 ½ hours. Walking out, my daughter suggested that if service were more efficient, there would not be 45 minute waits to be seated. If you order carefully and are not in a hurry, this can be a pleasant place to spend an evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pacyabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, gluten-free options”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Jiao was recommended by Jim at the Avanti hotel when we asked for information on resturants with gluten-free options. It was a great reecommendation! The food at Jiao was outstanding! We started with the spicy butternt squash soup, which was excellent- rich, spicy and flavorful. My entree was the black cod, which was OUTSTANDING- among the best fish dishes I have eaten anywhere. It was perfectly prepared, perfect texture, and exquistitely subtle layers of flavor. We were very impressed with the food, and the variety of gluten-free options that were available. We will return the next time we visit Palm Springs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickt588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jiao Palm Springs also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing