We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Boutique desert oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcazar Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alcazar Palm Springs
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Boutique desert oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visited Alcazar off-season, when no-one is in Palm Springs. Consequently a few places I tried first were unavailable as a lot of hotels close or do maintenance in the hot summer months.

What a fabulous surprise - we liked the look of the hotel from the online photos (clean, cool white decor) and it was really funky. Rooms are situated around a swimming pool with the mountains looming behind - very spectacular. The room was clean and spacious, with a bar fridge (hooray!) and air-conditioning. Robes were included as well as pool towels.

The restaurant was closed for the season but there are nearby ones open all summer and we visited the Thai restaurant across the road which was fine.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is a light breakfast and free wi-fi included in the resort fee (about $14). It is well located near the main downtown area and has parking available.
There are free bikes available for guests (better in cooler months) and we were excited to see hummingbirds around the pool area.

I have already recommended this hotel to friends and will continue to do so - ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room as some reviewers had mentioned road noise, and we had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbanegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    86
    42
    2
    7
See reviews for
34
191
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed over the weekend at the Alcazar recently. The hotel property is lovely. The pool is clean and well maintained, it's serene and not at all overrun by too many people. Small little boutique hotel very close to downtown that boasts some very yummy restaurants attached to it. The service was good at the front desk and everyone we encountered was friendly, though we didn't encounter too many people.

However, it had it's flaws. The rooms were stark white, which we expected based on the pictures. But, when it's outside of the filters of a camera, it's almost hospital like. The bathroom was large and weirdly put together. Tiny little fiberglass shower with a barely there shower curtain and a strangely cornered toilet and tons of dead space. The jacuzzi tub also had a pretty dated feeling to it. Just overall very antiseptic feeling, instead of modern like we imagined.

Big big no-no was that housekeeping never came to clean our room during our stay there, which was very disappointing. When you have white everything, missed cleanings makes it feel icky quickly.

The bed was not at all comfortable, it was very much reminiscent of the old hotels of yesteryear, not the modern hotels of today. Even a courtyard marriot has a pillow-top now a days. Kind of bummed about the back aches.

Overall it was a decent stay. It was clean and generally well maintained, boutique in feel but just not quite all together there yet. Adding a little warmth to the rooms would make for a better feel and changing out the mattresses may make it more comfortable.

Room Tip: There's no room service, so if you're the type that likes to dine in, this isn't for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandieSometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

No complaints, no nonsense hotel. Cute clean bungalows, great location. Loved the bikes. Staff was friendly, pool was clean. Late check out accommodated our late departure. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rca012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Check in was fast and friendly. The room and property were clean. The pool area was great and you can't beat the location in downtown Palm Springs.

The room was a little smaller than most hotel rooms and the walls were pretty thin. I could hear everything the guests in the room next to me said. I could hear their TV very late into the evening. This was not their fault since they have the right to talk and watch TV. It's a shame the walls were so thin because the hotel could be a real gem.

I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again because of the thin walls. A quiet room and good nights sleep is important to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlabrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcazarManagement, General Manager at Alcazar Palm Springs, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear DLBRAKE, It is unfortunate to hear your displeasure after your stay at Alcazar Palm Springs. I did research which room you were in and realized it is one of our two courtyard queen rooms. These two rooms are the smallest economy rooms we have and they are adjoining rooms which increases the noise level.
The Alcazar family would like to invite you back for a future stay with a complimentary upgrade so you can enjoy one of our poolside king rooms.
Robert Hunt
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went to Palm Springs for a wedding last weekend, and at the suggestion of the bride and groom, many the guests stayed at the Alcazar. This hotel has been newly renovated, and the place was great. It’s a quiet, intimate boutique hotel in a perfect location with a stunning backdrop of the mountains. The room was light, bright, clean, and modern. Our room was located right next to the pool and had a small private courtyard in the back.

The hotel is next to a trendy and popular breakfast and lunch restaurant, Cheekys, which also has take out if you want to dine under the trees in the hotel courtyard or by the pool. There was a big iced water cooler by the pool which was constantly replenished. It was super hot (109) but a dip in the pool and a lounge under the shade trees or umbrellas made us all feel great. Great free coffee and fresh pastries in the morning. The manager and staff were extremely helpful and attentive, and we all agreed that this place was a winner.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed slightly different from each other, and each had something special about them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitoutngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley,UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just spent eight really lovely days at this hotel in Palm Springs and cannot recommend it highly enough. We were actually provided with information on the hotel at the Palm Springs Visitor Centre and were impressed the moment we checked in by the reception we received from Elsie.
We were shown our room before checking in to make sure it was acceptable - it was - and very quickly settled in. Robert the Manager was quality customer service personified with nothing being too much trouble for him or his staff. Everyone who works here wears a smile and I would encourage you to maintain the standards you have set. We had intended to stay only 4 days which turned into 7 and finally 8 because we changed our onward plans. Ths really says it all that we didn't want to leave. They were happy to listen to comments which I thought would benefit the resort but these were minor. Thanks to everyone at Alcazar and keep up the truly great work. We will return without question.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a five night stay at the Alcazar and enjoyed it tremendously. Our room was small but clean and comfortable. The hotel grounds were beautiful. The pool area was great. The atmosphere was relaxing. Everyone we meet, from the front desk to the manager, was welcoming and helpful. We ate both breakfast and lunch at cheeky's which is attached to the alcazar. The food was delicious. I inlay recommend the alcazar!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Palm Springs

Property: Alcazar Palm Springs
Address: 622 N Palm Canyon Dr, Entrance on Granvia Valmonte, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2011 this 34 room boutique hotel, formally known as the Pepper Tree Inn, has undergone an exquisite redesign. Modern & sleek, featuring imported Italian Linens, flat screen TV's, fireplaces, poolside patios and Mountain View's. This is the third addition to Birba and Cheeky's restaurant family - making the triangle complete. Current hotel amenities include Morning fresh pastries from Cheeky's, Coffee/Espresso/Tea/Juice, Townie Bikes, Business center and wireless internet throughout. Adjoining property offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, cocktails and a hotel all in the heart of the super hip uptown design district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Alcazar Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Pepper Tree Palm Springs
Pepper Tree Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing