We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great!”
Review of Orbit In

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orbit In
Ranked #1 of 22 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

One of my favorite places to stay, the B&B is truly mid-century modern. Kevin and Jeannie have a great establishment here (two if you include the Hideaway a few doors down). The rooms are well furnished and the place is simply charming. Cocktails around the pool (they have misters!) are fun!!! I've stayed there a number of times and can't wait to get back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 505 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

My sister and I stayed in the Frey room for 2 nights and we loved every minute of it. The only room with sliding doors overlooking the pool is very spacious.
Especially the outdoor shower from which you can see The Frey House in the hills is the best.
Orbit In is in walking distance of the centre of Palm Springs with many restaurants and shops.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lany57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Have just spent a week at the Orbit and we certainly made a good choice. We were visiting Palm Springs from England so we wanted a place which offers relaxation and a peaceful atmosphere yet convenient for shops and restaurants - the Orbit satisfied all our needs.
Bill and Elaine made excellent hosts. We always looked forward to Happy Hour and especially the signature Orbitini cocktail. Our room was fascinating, decorated in late 50's/early 60's style. Specially interesting was the original ironing board which is fixed to the wall in it's own purpose built cupboard - what a great idea.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sherrill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

There's not much more I can add to the glowing reviews except to say that staying at the Orbit In made us happy (nostalgic bliss combined with in the moment fun and comfort). I still have a grin on my face thinking about listening to the great selection of vinyl tunes in the cozy ChaCha room. Kevin and Jinny made us feel so welcome and despite staying only one night we were treated like cherished guests.
The grounds, pool, and rooms are beautiful and the mid-century theme is perfectly executed, with not a hint of tackiness. This alone makes the place great, but what really stands out is the attention to detail in ensuring guests' comfort: complementary cold and hot drinks, and snacks; daily happy hour; complementary bikes; selection of sun screen/skin products; and a bathroom with a magnifying mirror with light (much valued by a mid-century guest like me, and an amenity far too uncommon in hotel rooms).
We were sad to leave, but will return for a longer stay. This was our first time to Palm Springs and we found that it offers much more than my previous image of golf/shopping. We love to hike and there are many great options in and around town. Biking the beautiful neighbourhoods is great too.

Room Tip: ChaCha room was only one available during our stay. It is the smallest, but very comfortable, privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binderdundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our two night stay at the Orbit In came in the middle of a 2,400 mile road trip of California; we arrived late, dirty and stressed from a very long drive in the desert. As we pulled up, Bill was arriving on his bike, and he and Elaine immediately made us feel relaxed and pampered. Elaine brought a bottle of wine to our room, the Atomic Paradise (paradise indeed) and they both couldn't do enough to help us.
We absolutely adored everything about this place. The love and care which has gone into the décor, objects, records, and most importantly the guests' comfort is evident.
This was our top hotel of our trip and almost a reason in itself to return to Palm Springs from the UK.

Room Tip: They are all good, we believe! We loved ours, the Atomic Paradise but will try another next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a wonderful, hip, little hotel, a few blocks off the main road through Palm Springs. The owners and managers are easy-going, gracious, and really make you feel welcome. Loved the selection of albums (yes vinyl) to play on the turntables in each room. We stayed in the Rat Pack room, which was spacious, clean, and comfortable, with a small kitchen. The only drawback was that it was closest to the main entrance and breakfast/happy hour area, which can get a little noisy. Speaking of happy hour, the orbitinis are delicious! The next time we stay, we might try their sister property a few doors away, The Hideaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidReader_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I returned to the Orbit In for the second time in late March 2014. We are proud to be return "Orbiteers"! We had a fantastic experience! This is a classic mid-century modern hotel and a sun soaked haven (just like its sister property, The Hideaway, just down the street). The owners, Kevin & Jinny, and managers Bill and Elaine are great! They are very accommodating and sociable hosts. The Orbitini cocktail hour is awesome and you cannot beat the location just a few blocks away from the center of town. You just cannot top the Orbit In and The Hideaway! We even re-booked for next year before checking out!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank anne1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,277 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.3 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#12 of 74 in Palm Springs
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orbit In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orbit In

Address: 562 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: $129 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two acclaimed, intimate settings near the mountain in downtown Palm Springs. The restored mid-century modern realm inspires leisurely poolside bliss while friendly staff oversees diverse clientele who enjoy spectacular views and vintage tunes. Wake up to organic coffee and extensive continental breakfast then ride a cruiser bike, enjoy the saline pool and Jacuzzi, or surrender to personalized in-room massage before winding down with "Orbitinis" or wine at the Boomerang Bar. Free high-speed wireless internet too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orbit In Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing