We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Hotel" desk is closed - must book through private owners only”
Review of Ocotillo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocotillo Lodge
Reviewed September 27, 2007

Must book your condo rental through private sites. See VRBO.com or Vacation Spaces, or by using search engines for Ocotillo Lodge Palm Springs.

Forget the past complaints about front desk service. The front desk no longer exists.

Ocotillo Lodge is great!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lestoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmontoninuit, Owner at Ocotillo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

This review is over 13 years ago...when it WAS a hotel. Now these are individually owned condominiums. Please look at CURRENT reviews!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Ocotillo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2007

Cosy condos and bungalows, we had a great time there, in a fantastic spot close to everything and not windy at all! We found the place by chance from the ocotillolodgepalmsprings.com website and booked it there. We will go back and reccomend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dkingbumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
The OC
1
Reviewed May 2, 2006

It was nice and quiet. We had the pool to ourselves. What's happening with the Ocotillo anyways? They were remodeling or something... I want to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
15
Reviewed February 13, 2006

My rating is between terrible and okay.

We had stayed at the Ocotillo a few years before 2004. The condo we rented was owned by someone from another country. He had remodeled it and it was very nice.
We tried to rent the same condo but found that the person had sold out and gone back to his country.
We were at the front desk making arrangements for a January stay when a man came by and told us he'd rent his condo in the complex to us for a more reasonable price. $1600. for the month.

We looked at it and decided it would be fine. It was close to the hot tub, and the pool, on the ground floor, facing the sunrises.
The morning after we got there we found cockroaches covering the kitchen sink area. We lifted the lid on the stove, and found it was filthy with an inch of grime and grease. We sprayed the bugs madly, they would run down the garbage disposal. The garbage disposal didn't work. The owner had gone out of town. The bugs put a damper on the rest of the time there because we spent a lot of time gagging and spraying, and living with that crawly bug feeling. We could stay outside during the day, but had to sleep there at night. Then the toilet plugged up...really plugged up. We called in maintenance. At first they were reluctant to do anything but we insisted and threatened and they finally did call someone in to fix it.

We haven't been back because we believe that where there is one cockroach there are plenty and the whole place is probably infested. Maybe they called an exterminator, but they'd have to shut the whole place down to get them all, I'm sure. We complained to the owner who came back just before we left. He didn't seem much alarmed by the bugs.

It's too bad because the Ocotillo has the best designed pool/BBQ, hot tub area ever. As I mentioned, the condo floorplans (the 2 we saw) were efficiently laid out. The view is good, and it is sort of nestled in, away from the wind. It's not too far from downtown and it is on the busline. Those are the redeeming features. Plus a person can use the treadmill and weight equipment.
Like many California hotels/motels, the front receiving area is nice, but the rest of the place is a bit shabby.
We didn't ask much, except for insisting on the unplugging of the toilet, so didn't notice the inadequacies at the desk, but have no doubt that is true. They were not open 24 hours, or even until midnight. There is a supermarket and a family restaurnant within walking distance.
It could be a great place. They need to close for awhile and exterminate.

Stayed: February 2004
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orange County, CA
13
Reviewed January 22, 2006

Please, listen to those that have gone before, this place is not a nice place. The people working there are rude. The rooms are all different, so you never know if you'll be in a dirty room or just in a room that smells dirty. The pool was merky (that was fun), but it is in a good location. Maybe someone should tear it down and build something better.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fontana, California
13
Reviewed June 1, 2005

The pool area is quite nice and the lodging comfortable, but the Ocotillo is not much of a happening place anymore. They ran off lots of people with the front desk poor attitude and service, although that seems to have improved somewhat from 2003, when it could not have been any worse. They raised the weekday rate from under $100 a night in 2003 to $160 in 2005. It's a very nice facility in a convenient location and may work out for you, especially if you are low-maintenance as far as your needs from the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
110
Reviewed May 5, 2005

DONT Stay at the Ocotillo Lodge. It is a old crusty motel style timeshare development on the white trash south part of town. No night services. Lobby closed at 10:30 pm and does not open until 8:00am. No early checkout or late check in. IF you show up late expect to sleep in your car. If you have to play gold early and need to check out, forget it. You must wait for them to show up. Lousy and unprofessional (Jerry Springer style) desk service. Ripoff prices. Not clean. Avoid at all costs. Take your money somewhere else and thank me later!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#32 of 73 in Palm Springs
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#62 of 73 in Palm Springs
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Sun Inn
Royal Sun Inn
#22 of 23 in Palm Springs
265 reviews
1.3 mi away
Las Fuentes Inn and Gardens
Las Fuentes Inn and Gardens
#18 of 23 in Palm Springs
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotillo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotillo Lodge

Address: 1111 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-9168
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: $190 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocotillo Lodge was a first for the well-known developers, George and Bob Alexander. Together, they worked with architects Dan Palmer and William Krisel, and landscape architecture by Garrett Eckbo, to create this famous destination in Palm Springs, California. From celebrity owners to celebrity guests, this historic hotel has a lot of history. Today, the property still amazes guests throughout the year from all parts of the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocotillo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotillo Hotel Palm Springs
Ocotillo Motel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing