We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely oasis near old town Palm Springs”
Review of La Maison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a gem of a place! Cornelia and Richard are perfect hosts in this lovely hotel. Very comfy rooms, great bed, wonderful breakfasts. Lovely evenings sipping wine outside by the pool.
This is a place you must see to believe. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 726 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's clear from other reviews why La Maison has such a high rating. But I'll throw in my opinion anyway.....

My wife and I stayed here for two days in mid March. The stay was nothing short of perfect.

The owners have taken the time and effort to do everything in the best possible way, from their careful attention to breakfast, overall cleanliness of the pool and spa to the fabulous mattresses which make sleep and rest part of the stay. Rooms are appointed nicely and are very comfortable. Access to the pool is easy but rooms are free of pool noise. (I heard none.) Bathrooms are bright, clean and perfectly maintained. Nor did I get sound from any adjoining room. The inn is also located in an area of Palm Springs close to the main town but far enough away to be quiet. This is, in short, a perfect place to relax, read a book, sit by the pool or even use the pool. (I did 40 minutes of laps in 2 days.)

Any such inn or small hotel, however, is either more or less than the sum of its parts. The atmosphere here is friendly, cordial but unobtrusive. The other guests seemed to share my sensitivities, For a day I needed to sit on the patio and do final touches on a manuscript. (I'm a professional author.) No one bothered me. Housekeeping is excellent. I inadvertantly left an iPad in my room on check-out and the housekeeper quickly brought it to me before I was out the gate.

What more can I say? Excellent. We look forward to returning two or three times a year.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to be larger than others. But that's true anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at La Maison in March, wishing it were longer. What I look for first in any hotel is a decent shower, a clean room, and a good night's sleep. This special place, a transformed older motel, went far beyond those expectations. Our king room had the best bed sheets I've ever slept on, crisp and luxurious on a comfortable mattress. Just a few steps from our door was a nice pool surrounded by loungers, tables and chairs, a great place to relax. What makes La Maison different from other hotels are the hosts, Cornelia and Richard, who make you feel like a guest in the best sense of the word, with homey touches like freshly picked grapefruit from the property and homemade baked treats for breakfast. With only 12 rooms, they create an informal atmosphere where it's easy to mingle with other guests while sipping complementary wine or beer in the late afternoon. I've stayed at more luxurious places, but not any of them made me feel as comfortable or as relaxed as La Maison. Its proximity to downtown Palm Springs offers many great choices for dinner, with a few good ones within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cilantro_and_Lime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at La Maison for 3 nights last week. We loved this hotel ~ upon arrival we were greeted by the owners, Richard and Cornelia, who offered us something to drink and showed us to our room. Our room like several others opened onto the pool area which is beautiful and very relaxing. The room was immaculate, cozy and inviting. The temperature of the pool was perfect and large fluffy towels were waiting on all the chaise lounges.

Richard and Cornelia are very helpful and accomodating. They offered to and did store our bikes in their office so that we did not have to keep putting them in the car. They were gracious in answering our many questions about where things were and what they thought of some of the hikes we were considering. While we did not use them, bikes are available to borrow.
Each morning there was a nice continental breakfast with lattes made upon request. Each evening there was wine and beer along with popcorn. On Thursday evening, they made pulled pork, salad and cole slaw for everyone so that their guests could enjoy the downtown festival without having to fit in dinner. The food was delicious and greatly appreciated. They knew we were trying to get an early start for our drive home. Breakfast was already out when we got ready to leave and Richard offered to put our hot drinks in to go cups so we could take them with us.

You can tell that for these two owners, running this boutique hotel is a labor of love and they genuinely enjoy meeting their guests and making everyone feel welcome. It is a place we would definitely return to on our next trip to Palm Springs.

Room Tip: We had a room that opened to the pool area and it was great. There are a couple/few rooms upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Richard and Cornelia, the owners of this small boutique hotel, are genuinely welcoming, friendly and helpful. To stay at their hotel is like staying with friends or family ... maybe even better. It is the kind of place where you just want to relax and hang out by the pool, read a book or just chat with your hosts or the other guests. We really enjoyed our four day stay and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom level are a bit larger and open out to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveNStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first trip to Palm Springs and we were lucky to find this spot. Richard and Cornelia welcomed us like long lost friends. Richard was always up early making guests cappuccinos and there was always fresh fruit, bagels and fresh coffee in the open air Kitchen area. One night Richard and Cornelia even barbequed everyone chicken burgers. Don't expect this all the time but once in a while they will surprise you with something different like a tray of sweet pastries on the kitchen counter...
Our next visit will definitely be here for the relaxing atmosphere created by our hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs by the pool but the rooms upstairs are just as nice if you want a little more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been coming to Palm Springs annually for about 8 years and we have stayed in different properties every year. No more. This is our hotel for all future Palm Springs visits. The hotel is located about 2.5 miles from the center of downtown Palm Springs. Close enough for the downtown experience but far enough away from the noise and hustle.

As mentioned in previous reviews there is a shopping center within a five minute walk that includes a grocery store and several restuarants. We ate at Native Foods Cafe and Pho 531. Both had good food at reasonable prices.

Our room was just right. Tile floors, a sitting couch, comfortable bed. The room was clean and modern. Most of the rooms face easterly so the room is nice and cool in the heat of the desert afternoon.

The common areas include a heated swimming pool with lounge chairs, a hot tub, several tables with umbrellas, a breakfast nook for continental breakfasts, a fire pit to enjoy at night, and they offer free beer and wine in the evening. The breakfast coffee is good and strong and you might even have the pleasure of a daily cappucino.

Richare and Cornelia are great hosts. We will definitely return again, and again.

Thanks for a wonderful relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#18 of 74 in Palm Springs
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.6 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#12 of 74 in Palm Springs
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel

Address: 1600 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-9170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $243 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine you are in the south of France and treat yourself to a stay at the La Maison Hotel, Palm Springs' Mediterranean style boutique hotel. Wake up to our continental breakfast of lavender scones, croissants and espresso. Enjoy our imported luxury linen and king or queen feather beds with down duvets; it's the perfect setting for that romantic getaway weekend or an extended stay to relax and rejuvenate. All guest rooms at La Maison overlook the pool and lush gardens and feature flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. You will also appreciate the privacy of walled and gated grounds while you lounge by the large 40' heated swimming pool or soak in the hot Jacuzzi. Join us poolside for our complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres. Feel free to grill those steaks on our outdoor gas BBQ or go exploring on one of our cruiser bicycles. Ideally located in the wind-free area of Palm Springs near downtown's fine dining, casinos and all desert recreational activities, La Maison offers you the charm of southern France in the heart of Palm Springs. Soon to be an official Tesla/Electric Car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Maison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing