We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisey, Noisey, Noisey!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Springs Tennis Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Springs Tennis Club
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Noisey, Noisey, Noisey!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Don't know if we had a horrible room location or it was the time of year, the week of Easter, or thats how it is all the time. Second floor, overlooking Spencers and the trash dumpsters was not a good area of the hotel. The noise from the trash being picked up I can take a couple of times for the week, but the screaming and running from uncontrolled children was unbearable. From early morning till late at night, the noise was constant! These units are not sound insulated well enough.
That ranting aside, the room was nice and well equipped. We were very pleased with the hotel location. Could not have been a more beautiful site against the mountain. Easy walking distance to anything downtown. They do have an adult pool to avoid any more noise. Free laundry facility is available with your own detergent. The staff was very helpful and friendly, including maintenance and housekeeping.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIVacations, Manager at Palm Springs Tennis Club, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
I would like to take a moment to apologize for any inconvenience this guest may have experienced during their recent stay at our Resort during the very busy time, Spring Break. Everyone seems to be in “Party Mode” during this holiday, but this does not excuse disrupting behavior. We do have personnel continuously touring our property day and night in an effort to alleviate any issues before we get complaints, and respond immediately if issues are brought to our attention. Spring Break in Palm Springs has always been a time that many children visit with their parents or grandparents, as well as others taking a break from school or work. We will continue our quest in assuring that The Tennis Club remains the first class resort it has always been for all concerned. Again, I apologize for the issues this guest experienced. I am happy to hear that this guest found most of the staff and accommodations excellent. We look forward to your next visit.

Tom Doyle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    73
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
69
106
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

What a wonderful timeshare resort....those who own here can be proud of their property and the staff that maintains it. Each night we went to sleep in a quiet, comfortable bed and awoke to the music of the birds. We had a one bedroom/one bath casita by the "quiet" pool. It featured a small but well equipped kitchen (even baggies and foil), a small patio with a table and 4 chairs, 2 tv's.... there are free DVD's at the lobby, a free laundry room, bbqs, free bikes, lush gardens with many pools and spas, tennis courts and so much more. Althought our room could sleep 4 - it was more suited for only 2. During our stay they celebrated their 75th Anniversary with a beautiful fireworks display and complimentary wine. The resort was an easy walk to downtown Palm Springs, many fine restaurants, the Art Museum and Rite-Aide for basic supplies (nice selection of wine and liquor). We did not rent a car so used only taxis or public transportation. It worked well for us however if you are planning to hike the canyons, golf or ride the tram, a car would be needed. Many of us in the 80's bought timeshares - this resort reminded me of why we did so. Their entire staff, from reception, housekeeping, maintenance and grounds keepers treated us as valued guests. We have already booked our stay for next year - possibly we'll meet you by the pool.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, a casita by the family pool would be ideal. Rooms in the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judywarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The PSTC is a timeshare property close to downtown that takes tennis seriously. There are several well maintained courts and tournaments are played there. The adult pool adjacent to the courts feels upscale as does the restaurtant. The property has two sections. In the main building are one bedroom and studio rooms. The rooms could use an upgrade, but are pleasant and large. The problem is that when you pass from section to section of the building enroute to your room, the open areas are not air conditioned. This does hit you hard in the summer, but is quite pleasant in the fall. These open areas house the ping pong tables and reading nooks. Across the street from the main building are the villas that are free standing and are popular with families as are the pools there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill
Level Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We loved this place. We were in the cabanas which had one king sized bedroom, two bathrooms, a lovely living room with a pull out bed and two flat screen tvs and a fully equipped kitchen and a very private patio. Went to the pool behind spencers restaurant every day although there were two other smaller pools. This is a timeshare and was very clean and well taken care of. Free coffee and popcorn in the lobby game room every day. Only problem was the internet was down more than it was on. At least three people came to try to correct the situation, but it still worked when it wanted to.

Room Tip: loved room 341
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Charming hotel and suites set against the foot of the Santa Rosa mountains which hearkens back to the mid-century glory of Palm Springs. They have several exquisite, professional-level tennis courts, beautifully landscaped grounds in a part of town which is perfectly quiet, yet walking-distance* to downtown shops and restaurants. Suites were well-appointed with convenient access; pools and grounds are super-clean.

The lovely old-world Tennis Club District is just what we appreciate about Palm Springs: Mid-century and Spanish Revival architecture with lush landscaping, peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, little traffic but very convenient to downtown Palm Springs. This is by far the best part of Palm Springs to stay in for beauty, accessibility, quiet, dining, and value.

You might enjoy the "suites" more than rooms in the main hotel, since you are staying on the adjacent grounds with multiple pools and spas. These rooms come in varying sizes, but most have well-stocked kitchenettes. The upgrade can be as little as $10 more than the hotel rooms, but worth much more. The main hotel does have access to free parking in the building out of the sun, and is closer to their on-site restaurant; but the suites may be more pleasing to your party overall.

Note that the suites are very close together, almost two arms apart; it's generally quiet but has a crowded feel. One huge negative for our stay: When we were checking in we heard a tremendous racket from across the street - screaming that sounded like a football game - we thought there was a fight going on - and when we finally got our room and walked over, we saw why: a family of about 20 people had taken over the family pool and weren't capable of speaking, only screaming. This went on for several hours until "quiet time". I didn't feel comfortable using the facility and I saw nobody else was, either. At least our room wasn't near this area, and I'm sure the people trying to have a quiet weekend were miserable. The large spa had 10 people crammed into it, so that wasn't an option. There was an empty spa tucked around the corner, empty and beautifully landscaped, so I was able to enjoy that one in relative peace (I could still hear the screaming echoing around the place.)

Some reviewers noted a rude staff, and I must say when I walked in, they all looked up with sour expressions and "oh no, I have to help someone" written all over their faces. I didn't get a welcoming vibe at all. Later though when the room was ready (not until 4 pm), the fellow helping us was relaxed and charming, but I wouldn't say 100% of the staff is 100% friendly.

I will for sure try them again, but I'll be more picky about where they put us (closer to the pool, not right on the farthest corner facing the street; our patio had cars going by.)

If you're a tennis fanatic, though, you already know about this place with its world-class courts, and you may already be familiar with the "adult pool" set right against the rocky mountainside with lush landscaping. Great place to hang out.

I actually upgraded this back up to 4 stars from 3 (based on the staff doing nothing about the noise level.) I realized later this was probably a fluke. I'd say 3.5 is more accurate, depending on your expectations - you could do a lot worse in Palm Springs; just don't expect a trendy crowd in this area.

*Downtown is walking distance for someone who is fit, not disabled, and not when it's over 80 degrees. Your best bet is driving, there is plenty of free parking one block west of the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a timeshare property where we are original owners. Units are rented out on an as-available basis as daily rentals if the units are not occupied. The location is fantastic, within easy walking distance of the downtown Palm Springs area. The project contains the Palm Springs Tennis Club, a historical tennis club. There are 10 hard courts, some lit, a pro-shop, three pools, BBQs, etc. The complex has a central core building plus bungalow cottages and 2 BR condos. The main building units will be completely refurbished in 2012, so there may be some noise. This is an excellent property with a fitness room, central activity room, wireless Internet and underground secured parking.

Room Tip: Main building rooms either face the mountain or the street. The street side has more light, but more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stay every year around Christmas. It has become our home away from home. The rooms are large and clean, the pools/hot tubs are fun and located in central areas, and the grounds are beautifully manicured. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Town is a two block walk to shop and eat. The PS Art Museum is around the corner. We also enjoy the Thursday night street fair, the PS Tram up to the snow, The Living Desert zoo and the PS Aviation Museum. Lots to do with family! On the active side, there are great hiking trails and bike rides in the area.... But tennis courts and a full fitness center at the club.

Finally, PSTC is the historic tennis club of Palm Springs. Movie Stars stayed here long ago. The photos in the lobby capture the history.

PSTC is friendly, clean and beautiful. It is a must stay!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAM_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#30 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#19 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.3 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#13 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Springs Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Springs Tennis Club

Property: Palm Springs Tennis Club
Address: 701 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6325
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Springs Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular desert and mountain views, practice your tennis, relax by one of 3 swimming pools and spas or play a round of golf at any of the many nearby championship courses. At night, guests can take advantage of the wide variety of restaurants, including Spencer's on-site. The Tennis Club is ideally located within a short distance to art galleries, discount shopping outlets, casinos, theatres, and restaurants, and walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Springs Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Springs Tennis Club Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Tennis Hotel
Palm Springs Tennis Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing