We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gay Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santiago Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santiago Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Coast California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Gay Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is very pleasant. The pool and jacuzzi are private but still open and lush. The courtyard/garden is surrounded by a tall hedge and palm trees. The guys who work there seem genuinely friendly and interested in helping us with assorted things. We called last minute this last Saturday and were able to get an affordable large room with great view of the property and the mountains. The room and common areas were all clean.
The price of the room included a nice breakfast and lunch as well as snacks and bottled water in the rooms. The room was quiet even with the pool outside and the air conditioner which I heard can be overly loud at some places.
The clientele was youngish and upscale for Palm Springs. We met some nice guys from Phoenix and Sydney. One can be to themselves or join the crowd around the pool. Definitely flirty and sexual without overtly a free for all sex club.
It is close to the gay bar - Hunter's - a 3 minute cab ride.
We are a gay couple in our 30's and 40's.

Room Tip: The second floor is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    61
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
208
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was my second stay at the Santiago.
The staff, Jay and Mark, are friendly, accommodating, helpful, and hard working. Two great guys.
The rooms are well-appointed, spacious, and always clean.
The resort itself is beautifully landscaped. The large pool is the focal point.
Complimentary breakfast has a vast choice of foods, and a complimentary lunch from a local bakery is a bonus.
I will definitely return to the Santiago
Bob K. Phoenix, AZ

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

first time staying at Santiago... but no stranger to Palm Springs. Can't say enough good about Santiago Resort. Outstanding staff & service... well-maintained facilities... nice amenities... nice big shower in the room... very nicely done breakfast & lunch. It's a little further out than the resorts in Warm Sands, but still within walking distance to downtown. I've paid more for far less at other resorts... may have found a new fave to stay at when in PS!

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper, you might want to try & get a second floor room. Sometimes, ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slick1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was in Palm Springs for the 4th of July weekend and a much needed get away from L.A. Yes, it was HOT, but my stay at the Santiago was worth it. The staff was GREAT; upon my arrival I was greeted by Jay, who is the manager, he advised me about the amenities at the Santiago, breakfast and lunch were also included. My room was clean and COOL, the grounds and pool area were well maintained, and the view was pretty special, if you know what I mean : >)
Needless to say I will be staying at the Santiago in the near future, when its a little cooler.
Thank you again, for a wonderful weekend get away!

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Return guest and reviewer for this property. Spent four nights for an annual get together with a great group of men and have to say, I'm never disappointed with the Santiago. The Santiago's new management and staff are gracious and attentive to the needs of the guests. The breakfast was not the typical "continental" but had many choices. Including a quality lunch is a great touch and affords the quests the opportunity to stay on the property. The Santiago is becoming a Palm Springs favorite for this traveler.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms offer a wonderful mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VegasPokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great place to stay and relax in Palm Springs. It is a gay resort but feels classy. The staff wonderful and so are the amenities. I have been here about five or six times for the last few years and always enjoy my relaxing time here. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l.a. , cal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Recently spent three relaxing and rejuvenating days at Sanitago Resort. Manager Jay and his staff are all friendly, helpful and devoted to making the guests feel welcome. Facility is kept very clean and in good order; the grounds are lovely (and the mountain views unsurpassed among gay resorts in the area). Pools are clean and well maintained. The rooms are clean and furnishing and amenities are well thought out and comfortable. I have stayed at other gay resorts in the desert area and in my experience, Santiago is the standout for amenities, management, and atmosphere. I will return at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: Second level rooms afford a view of the magnificent San Gorgonio mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenL_a_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.4 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Resort

Property: Santiago Resort
Address: 650 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santiago Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most recently updated gay boutique hotel in Palm Springs, Santiago offers free breakfast, poolside lunch, and all-day refreshments in the cantina. The wealth of amenities includes the largest pool of any gay resort in Palm Springs. In this swimsuit-optional paradise, guests also enjoy an outdoor spa, meticulously landscaped grounds with two-man rope hammocks, a mist cooling system, fast wi-fi, and incredible mountain views. Santiago's 23 rooms feature flat-screen TVs, luxury bath products, king or queen beds, and tastefully styled furnishings. It all adds up to the perfect luxurious getaway for individuals or groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Santiago Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing