We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your place for fun in the sun in Palm Springs”
Review of Santiago Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santiago Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the Santiago Resort and we continue to be very impressed with this mid-sized gay resort on the edge of south downtown Palm Springs. Located on the edge of a quiet neighborhood near South Palm Canyon Drive, the 24 rooms of the two-story hotel are clustered around beautiful gardens, an inviting swimming pool, hot tub and lounging areas. Room rates include a nicely prepared breakfast and arrangements for a box lunch, if you wish. Jay, the hotel manager, works non-stop from dawn to dusk to make sure that hotel guests are comfortable, to restock the towels by the pool and to help guests with restaurant reservations or recommendations. We stayed in 208 upstairs that has a great view of the pool and the gardens. The king-sized room has a microwave, fridge, large bath and an alcove for chatting with friends. The room is spacious and nicely appointed. The staff does a great job of keeping everything tidy, clean and well stocked. There are lots of nice extras at Santiago: free videos to watch in your room, afternoon cookies and refreshments, tour advice and lots of places to relax around the rounds. Santiago attracts guys from all over the world, and the vibe of the place is extremely friendly and relaxed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 489 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Palm Springs and we are very pleased we chose the Santiago Resort. It was a great choice. A good mix of couples and singles. All very friendly and always good company. Either around the pool during the day or in the hot tub at night. Jay is doing a great job managing the resort and couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. This was the perfect start to a 10 week holiday and we hope the first of many visits to Palm Springs. A great find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akurafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to this resort for the past 7 years and have always enjoyed the tranquil surroundings and fantastic service provided by the Resort Manager David and his associate Ken.

The resort is ideally located minutes from the downtown shops and great restaurants. it boasts secluded grounds offering a terrific heated pool, jacuzzi and hammocks. All this certainly hasn't changed on this trip but there is a palpitable change the air.

With the recent passing of David in March, the abrupt departure of Ken a few days ago and the resort now being up for sale by the owners; one can only expect major changes are taking place at Santiago.

The pool and grounds need a god sweep and some of the chaise cushions have bad stains on them but, more than the ohysical aspects; you can sense the resort is slowly changing its direction. The crowds were boisterous on this trip and, as no management is on site overnight, the noise doesn't abate after hours, leaving beer bottles around the jacuzzi the following morning. Not the quiet experience we expected on the first few night but, thankfully, the challenges were addressed and rectified.

Change is inevitable. Change was dramatic on my recent trip to Santiago. Sadly, with all these changes, i will chose to let the dust settle before thinking of coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeotheLion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have returned to Santiago Resort. I stayed there last year and found it very relaxing and couldn't wait to get back.
It is private, rooms are great, food is great, landscaped well, and great staff.
Very clean swimming pool and hot tub.
David has passed and we are very sad for that. He was a very nice man. Ken has taken over more duties and is an excellent manager. Very friendly !
In general, the resort is great for a get away and is quiet at night.
Short walk to the downtown core.
They include breakfast and lunch.
They subsidize your gym visits.
Heavily recommend this resort !

Room Tip: I prefer 205, 207 209....second floor and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddiemac436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at Santiago Resort every year since our first visit to Palm Springs in 2007, and have never stayed at another resort... and for good reason.

The resort is beautifully landscaped with cacti, desert flowers, fountains, lemon trees and palm trees, Their swimming pool is one of the largest, if not THE largest of any men's resorts. You can have full sun all day long if you want, and conversely, full shade for those who are not as "melamine gifted". There are plenty of chaise lounges around the pool deck and 2 hammocks and a small, out of the way gazebo for romantic r and r.

Prior to our first trip to Palm Springs, many "stories" are heard about the resorts. Santiago Resort was on our "short list" of places to stay and we're so happy to have selected it as our choice. The majority of the clientele at Santiago Resort are repeat guests, of which approximately 90% - 95% are couples.

Breakfast and lunch is included daily so one doesn't have to leave the resort if one doesn't want to. Breakfast consists of: fresh fruit, both whole, and a variety of sliced melon, fresh berries, fresh pineapple and kiwi, a selection of yogurts, breakfast breads such as bagels, raisin bread, toaster waffles, muffins and pastries, boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, juices, and coffee and teas. Saturdays offer an expanded breakfast with the addition of scrambled eggs and bacon.

Saving the best for last, the staff at Santiago Resort are amazing... friendly, engaging, respectable, knowledgeable and professional.

Ken has taken over as general manager since the untimely passing of David. Ken has worked tirelessly to keep the resort in top order as it has come to be known. Along with the positive addition of Sean (Shawn?) and more recently Jay, Santiago Resort has become more and more of an oasis and a place for "R and R".

Don't want to be bothered? No problems. Have a question? They're more than willing to answer. Want to chat? They are engaging when they aren't busy doing their chores and duties.

Oscar and Eddie oversee the housekeeping of the rooms. They work tirelessly to keep you room in check in condition. If anything is overlooked, it is dealt with, without hesitation.

We've been repeat guests for the past 6 years and by the way things are going at Santiago Resort, we'll be repeat guests for the next 6 years... if not more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ACyvrguy604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Needed some sun the first week of March 2013 - and we got it. Not only was the weather beautiful, the resort and it's staff was fantastic. Real relaxation, friendly people, impeccable pool environment - just fantastic! Only little minus: There's no gym on the premises, but there are gyms in the vicinity. Big plus: Breakfast and lunch included!

Room Tip: downstairs during the hot season, upstairs has pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hartmut7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As ever, Ken, Shawn, Oscar and the rest of the amazing staff at Santiago made our stay a wonderful experience. The resort is VERY well maintained. Hardly a bouganvilla blossom hits the ground that someone's not there to whisk it away. Seriously. Very conscientious owners, Well located -- Arenas, the restaurants, clubs, even the Thursday night market, are all within walking distance. We met the new manager (RIP, dear David), Jay, who is very affable, considerate, fun, and along with the others not at all hard on the eyes. He comes with years of experience in resort hospitality, so we look forward to our next visit to see what ideas he's implemented for the place. Only one small suggestion for improvement I might make, although this issue is true I believe of all gay resorts... the music is cable feed, so the same songs repeat to the point of being maddening by 3 p.m. or so. I noted lots of guys wearing earphones. I'd suggest switching more frequently between genres, just to mix it up a bit... but really, of all four resorts I've stayed at in PS, Santiago is our go-to.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike_Michael_Xtopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.9 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Resort

Address: 650 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: $199 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santiago Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most recently updated gay boutique hotel in Palm Springs, Santiago offers free breakfast, poolside lunch, and all-day refreshments in the cantina. The wealth of amenities includes the largest pool of any gay resort in Palm Springs. In this swimsuit-optional paradise, guests also enjoy an outdoor spa, meticulously landscaped grounds with two-man rope hammocks, a mist cooling system, fast wi-fi, and incredible mountain views. Santiago's 23 rooms feature flat-screen TVs, luxury bath products, king or queen beds, and tastefully styled furnishings. It all adds up to the perfect luxurious getaway for individuals or groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Santiago Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing