We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing resort with breakfast and lunch”
Review of Santiago Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santiago Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great relaxing resort with breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We really loved our stay at the Santiago. David and Ken, the managers, were the best. It was easy to meet and get to know other guests in a relaxing and beautiful environment. The pool is perfect and inviting, any time of the day or night. No complaints here!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    62
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
214
82
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is our 3rd visit to the resort. We have many to choose from in Palm Springs, but none are as well kept and managed as Santiago. The personnel David, Ken and Octavio do everything to make sure all your needs are satisfied. The grounds are very well kept up and private. If you want to just get away and relax then Santiago is the place to go. People are very friendly and late afternoons turn into small socials aroung the pool and hot tub. You can not beat the value, included with your room is a fantastically fresh complete continental breakfast as well an incredible box lunch delivered to you poolside each day. These box lunches are superbly made fresh sandwiches with all the extras to make a complete lunch. No need to leave the resort until dinner.The rooms are very well stocked and meticouly clean. The Santiago staff do all they can to insure you have no needs and you get to truly relax. We highly recommend the resort to anyone who just wants to melt away in the day and enjoy the wonderful restaurants in Palm Springs.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are the best. Your door opens right up to the pool and very inviting lounge chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Ok Guy, I am going to be direct and no fluff or BS. There a two high end gay male resorts in PS, one has 8 rooms in warm sands and cost nearly double of the Santiago. Santiago has 24 rooms (so many opportunities to make friends, find a new man or just hang out and relax with your partner or buddies. Good sexual energy on the weekends and not bad doing the week.
I have stayed at Santiago three times and I adore the place and love the staff, Dave, Ken and Octavio. From the moment you arrive in this desert oasis you feel you are in another world of rest and relaxation. Santiago is a destination and you will not want to leave the grounds except for dinner and a night out at the bars. Breakfast has real food, fresh fruit (mellons, bannas, oranges, apples, grapefruit etc..), cold & hot cereal, strong coffee, bagels, breads, muffins, yougurt,and juice ; Saturday they lay on thick crisp bacon and eggs. Lunch is also provided and catered by award winning bakery/deli with your pick of 8 sammys or 2 salads, we are talking NY quality deli and bread.
-Rooms are spotless, high quaility bedding and sheets, unlimited towels for bath and pool. Big flat screen TV and good sized fridge.
- Big Pool, sparkling clear, great padded lounge beds (they are so good you will spend many hours around the pool enjoy the water and men next to you). Hot spa with lots of room for buddies. Both pool / spa are 24/7.
-Staff are kind, polite, hard working and most importantly PROFESSIONAL. They are trained in hospitality and resort operations. The owners of Santiago are Blessed to have this crew and so are you as the guests.
I have been in the service industry working for The Four Seasons so I know what is Good and what is value for money. My most recent stay at Santiago was for over a month while my house was being remodeled during March/April 2012. So I can speak 1st hand how good this resort is.
I have been to the other resorts and most are run down motels from the 50's/60's, and have a slimmy low end feel to them.
In summary, Santiago is a resort, it's guests are mostly repeats and men of means that you will have something in common with. Good spread of couples and singles, age range 25 and up. It is safe, well managed, and has a very good welcoming energy from the moment you entry the front door.
Tim

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TimHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This resort offers beautiful grounds, large pool, hot tub, clean and generous size rooms. Many amenities are included. Offering a good continental breakfast (includiing a morning with bacon and scrambled eggs) hot and cold cereals, fresh bagels and fruit, orange juice and more. A great boxed lunch is served with a variety of choices that were excellent. (make sure you place an order by 11:00AM) The atmosphere is relaxing with the weekends being the busiest. The
visitors were of various ages, singles and couples all being cordial and friendly. The location is in a safe beautiful residential/gay resort area overlooking the mountains. The major club scene is 5 minute drive offering everything form video bars, dance clubs, restaurants and retail. Thanks to John,Ken and Octavio for making our 2nd stay as great as our first experience. The 100+ degree sunny weather (yes they have misters) made us cold weather vacationeers enjoy the resort even more. We plan to visit again soon.......Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snicker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was recommended to this place by friends. Absolutely, an amazing resort. Very clean rooms, grounds, swimming pool, hot tub, etc. The management are very concerned that you have a relaxing time. Breakfast and lunch are free and delicious.
Octavio looks after your room and is amazing.Ken is the overall manager and deserves 10 stars put of 6 !!!!!!
Being a clothing optional resort I was worried about what I heard about Palm Springs and there was no need to worry. In the 9 days I was there , I saw nothing disturbing....very classy resort.
The grounds are extremely well kept and very very beautiful.
This resort is a 5 minute walk to downtown. They gave 50 % off a local worldgym weeklong drop in fee because they don't have a gym on the premises. How nice is that?
I will be back.......it was incredible.

Room Tip: first floor for the pool and second floor for the view of mountains and guys at the pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eddiemac436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Once again, our return to this beautiful, 'OASIS', SANTIAGO RESORT in Palm Springs was just so wonderful and totally relaxing!! The staff was just absolutely 'DELIGHTFUL'!! Their every efforts to make our stay most enjoyable and memorable was so very much appreciated!! David, Ken, and Octavio made us always feel 'SO SPECIAL' in so many ways that we can not applaud them enough!!! They are a team that repeatedly ensures and delivers welcoming hospitality to their guests each and every day. The owners, Bob & Kevin are our friends and they too make us feel a part of their family at this award-winning property; that is a real joy to experience!! BRAVO, BRAVO, BRAVO!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dickjacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I've been coming to Santiago since it first opened as a gay resort in the mid-90's; every time I've tried another property I end up returning here the next time I go back to Palm Springs. Beautiful, large, heated pool with all-day sun, and private, lushly landscaped grounds; lovely and continually updated rooms with comfy king beds, fridges, microwaves, flat-screen tvs, safes and rainshowers. Breakfast and lunch are included and the management is friendly, helpful and attitude-free. A great place for a completely relaxing desert break......

Room Tip: I like staying upstairs on the 2nd floor, overlooking the pool area. There are two rooms types - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarcDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.4 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Resort

Property: Santiago Resort
Address: 650 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santiago Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most recently updated gay boutique hotel in Palm Springs, Santiago offers free breakfast, poolside lunch, and all-day refreshments in the cantina. The wealth of amenities includes the largest pool of any gay resort in Palm Springs. In this swimsuit-optional paradise, guests also enjoy an outdoor spa, meticulously landscaped grounds with two-man rope hammocks, a mist cooling system, fast wi-fi, and incredible mountain views. Santiago's 23 rooms feature flat-screen TVs, luxury bath products, king or queen beds, and tastefully styled furnishings. It all adds up to the perfect luxurious getaway for individuals or groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Santiago Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing