We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vista Grande Fan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vista Grande Fan”
Reviewed November 13, 2010

My 10th visit to the Vista Grande and I always stay in the Avalon section. I am rarely influenced by the bad reviews of others. Most just have a beef or like someone else said here, they are a "10" looking for a "12." This is the most lush, beautiful, and safe of the many resorts. Have never experienced or heard of a bedbug here yet have been bitten in Grand Hyatts and one Marriott elsewhere in the U.S. This place is what it is - a nice place to relax unclothed by two pools, make some new friends, play in steam sauna, whirlpool and much more. The owners, Bob and Robert, always make me feel welcome and greet me like an old friend. The many rooms may be eclectic but this is what gives them character. The breakfast is light and just enough to start the day. If you need more, cook in your room or go to IHOP. I hope to continue to enjoy my twice yearly visits here for more than a week at a time. -- East Coast Traveler

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slaveboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    130
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
3
209
151
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

yes the staff is not that friendly.
yes resort goes down a bit every year.
yes the rooms are updated and smell.
the grounds are pretty though! but is it enough to make a stay a nice stay?
I don;t think so.There are so many resorts in town that you can choose a nicer hotel and this is true that for for few bucks you can get so much better.
I am going this week end and i am not going there !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frenchsurfsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The place is so run down. They don't let in locals anymore. The place was deserted (only 50% occupancy). Bob & Bob are not the friendly people they used to be.

Take any other resort, Or a straight hotel. This one should be avoided at any cost.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nlmslcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Sadly, I write this review. I have stayed here several times in the past and though it was never the Four Seasons, it was a vibrant, thriving resort with a lot of amentities to make for an enjoyable stay. This trip, it was different. Starting from arrival, the front desk guy could not have cared less. In fact, he even lectured me about a mistake in my reservation (which they had made!) The rooms here are all completely different: some have fans, some have microwaves, some have central air, some have broken windows, it is a real mix. Arriving mid week, there were just a few rooms occupied. The resort no longer allows locals access to the resort during the day. This also makes a huge difference. I ended up visiting two other resorts during my stay and enjoying myself much more there as a guest than at this place that I have stayed at five times. Breakfast is nothing. Why even bother? Talked with two longtime guests staying there and they also were very sad that this place had just seem to give up. It is a real shame. They could be the premier place in PS. Instead they are just binding time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My BF and I have stayed at the Mirage 3 times now. Is it dated? Oh my word, yes. The decor is awful and most of the rooms look like they haven't been updated since they were built in the 70's. You almost expect the Brady Bunch to come around the corner. However, the waterfall and steam room areas are very fun and clean. It really comes down to what you're looking for. If all you're looking for is a place to spend with your partner where you can float in a pool and hold hans... then you might want to stay at the INNdulge or Hacienda. They're both lovely, but not necessary cruisy. (Though I supposed it really depends on the crowd that week). We've also stayed in several other gay Palm Springs resorts and if you're looking to meet fellow revelers and have a great time with them, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank therealtikiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

An update to the reviews below:
1. They no longer allow locals to visit during the afternoons. This used to be a major attraction as it made the resort "frisky". Many returning visitors were complaining about the change as it is not documented on the website. It seems the resort started to have trouble with drugs and theft so they had to change the policy.
2. One of the reveiws below says there is no WiFi. They do have WiFi now - I checked with others that I saw with their netbooks by the pool.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGuy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We used to stay at this hotel at least once a year for a week or two. Always had a great time. Never disappointed, that was few years ago. This year we decided to pick up our old habit and go back to this hotel again. It's very different this time.
The rooms look exactly like what they were few years ago. No renovations. I don't think they put any money to update this place at all. Even the carpet smell. The worst part is they stop selling day pass(however, when we called to make rev. they told us they do), there's no more locals, no more guys staying at other hotels can come in. So you are gurantee to meet just few people during your stay if the occupancy is low. This explains why during the weekend when we were there they have only sold about 10 rooms. People don't come to this hotel to just relax. If that's the only thing they want they could stay at a 4 star resort paying less money(this hotel's charged $20 more than Hyatt and Doral on the same weekend). You think with such low occupancy rate in such bad economic they would do more to attract/retain their guests(i.e. running promotion with special rate, selling day pass or give out free pass to dudes under 25 to keep the place alive), instead they are still running the place like it's White Party weekend- let's jack up the price and sit behind the counter and people will come!
It's so sad to see a beautiful property like this go down hill so quickly. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend go to discount website you will find plenty of deals with 4 or even 5 star hotels. If "activities" is what ur looking for, look somewhere else since they are no longer here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave91776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.5 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#2 of 42 in Palm Springs
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
#5 of 42 in Palm Springs
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort

Property: Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Address: 574 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7633 (Formerly Atrium Mirage Vista Grande Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 29 beautifully appointed rooms, 3 heated swimming pools, hot tub, spacious steam room, and breathtaking waterfalls and lagoon, Vista Grande Resort is the premium clothing optional gay men's resort in Palm Springs, California. Complimentary breakfast and lunch served daily and dinner on the weekends. Eat family style with the other men at our 20' banquet table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Mirage Vista Grande Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing