We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Vacation Villas
Ranked #50 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
san diego
1 review
“It wasn't what I expected”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My family and I went to Palm Springs May 09. The place was nice and quiet the rooms were a little out of date. everything was okay UNTIL we got home from a long night out went to bed and all I could smell was vicks vapor rub like the sheets were not clean. I got so mad. Then notice tht the villas looked like an old senior home. rallings every where bars all around the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alana88536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2008

I am writing a more recent review than what is available to let others know what a clean, well stocked place this establishment is. All the units are two bedrooms and are quite spacious. The kitchen had everything we needed and I am certain if we needed anything else the staff in the office would have been happy to oblige. Even the laundry room was spotless.

The units are quiet also. It would appear the clientelle are more family oriented people thus there do not appear to be too many rowdy motel type individuals staying there. We are so glad we found this haven to stay in while in sunny palm springs.

  • Liked — The unit and size
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CamadaLlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fussydress
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed for an all expense paid trip as a gift from my in-laws. The gift is absolutely generous because the villas are very nice , roomy, and have fully equiped kitchens.

Unless you're a golfer the only thing to do here is swim in the pool. We enjoy traveling to locations with educational, historical, or cultural value. For the kids the only enjoyable activity was swimming in one of the many pools. We live in hot weather so coming to hotter weather was not something I would have paid for. I don't think I'd ever actually visit the area again.

Whenever we had a problem the staff was very helpful and accommodated our needs.

  • Liked — Spacious villas.
  • Disliked — Nothing to do in the area but golfing & swimming.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fussydress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We had a great experience here. Awesome! The children were so fed up with sharing our space. We were able to spread out in our 2 bed ,2 bath. We stopped at Trader Joe's and made dinner in the fully stocked kitchen. Pool was great. Best value in Plam Springs. Could not recommend it enough.

  • Liked — 2 bed, 2 bath
  • Disliked — office closes at 5pm
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ell8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Three of us, old friends, wanted a comfortable, not too expensive place for our annual get-together in a sunny clime. The Desert Vacation Villas in Palm Springs fit the bill perfectly. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath apartment with a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, and good sized living room for $188/night. The property has a pool and jacuzzi, as well as some other recreational amenities that we didn't use. The accommodations are very clean, though a bit worn. Beds are very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate for a moment to stay there again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rekBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Stayed one night (May 19). We were 2 couples and found the 2 bedroom / 2 bath layout just right for our needs. As others have noted, we were impressed with the cleaniness, as well as the friendly staff and near-downtown location. Decided on Desert Vacation Villas after reviewing the pricing of more upscale and not-so-upscale alternatives. Note: When I tried to book directly I was told "no vacancy." With nothing to lose, several days later I tried an on-line service ([--]) and found a vacancy! Bottom line: Keep trying -- it's a great value.

  • Liked — Quality and price. Near-room parking - great.
  • Disliked — No negatives.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We spent one night at the desert Vacation Villas in April and it was very pleasent. The apratment was very clean and well decorated. The bed rooms were a nice size and it held 7 people very comfortably.The front desk staff was pleasent and very helpful with suggestions on where to go and eat. Very conveniently located, close to the down town.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kheminda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palm Springs
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oasis Villa Resort
Oasis Villa Resort
#40 of 73 in Palm Springs
188 reviews
3.5 mi away
Desert Isle of Palm Springs
Desert Isle of Palm Springs
#44 of 73 in Palm Springs
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Vacation Villas

Property: Desert Vacation Villas
Address: 250 W Vista Chino, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-2930
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of home in a resort setting! All condominiums are two-bedroom, two bath, full kitchen with a Queen sleeper sofa in the living room. All master bedrooms have a King bed and private bathroom. Guests bedrooms have either a Queen or two twin beds. Free wi-fi, welcome coffee basket, welcome bath amentities, and a large paperback lending library add to the fun. Two large outdoor bar-b-q's sit next to the pool and the outdoor whirlpool. Free bicycles for exploring the historic Las Palmas neighborhood and the homes of the movie stars. Only minutes from downtown Palm Springs, the casino, world-reknown restaurants, shopping, the unforgettable mountain Tram, the Air Museum and Art Museum, and Thursday Nite VillageFest where the streets are closed off for miles of food, music and fun. Be the star of your next vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desert Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Vacation Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Desert Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing