We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show me the chips !”

Escena Lounge and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Escena Lounge and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 329 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Vista Chino, just east of Gene Autry
Description: Escena Lounge and Grill pairs delectable California-fusion cuisine with eye-popping design and a playful, retro vibe. Spacious indoor and outdoor dining areas frame majestic views of the towering San Jacinto Mountains. Ranked Among OpenTable's 2015 Top 100 Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America, Escena Lounge + Grill is open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and happy hour. Hours and menus vary seasonally; please call or check our website for current information. Escena Lounge + Grill is located within the Escena Palm Springs community and is connected to the stunning Escena Golf Club. Dining and golf are open to the public year-round. Enter from Vista Chino 200 yards east of Gene Autry Trail.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our first lunch adventure here and i can tell you we will be back !
Beautiful outdoor terrace, with a view of mountains water and fairways that is relaxing and a pleasure to see, along with enjoying a meal.Delicious sandwiches and salads, all named with a golf theme,( "The Slice" a 1/4 beef burger cooked to order with cheddar cheese and caramelized onions)
I am saving the best for last. After we were served our refreshments a nice serving of fresh from the fryer home made potato chips with a side of ranch chipolte infused dipping sauce arrived. i dare you to eat just one, they are that good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seattlessf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 262 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good food, great patio and superb view over the golf course and the mountains. Sunday brunch is very good value and the staff friendly and efficient - book to avoid the line

Thank surfersimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have been going to this place since it opened 3 years ago ... we haven't been back for awhile since we were so disappointed the last time we dined there ... the sad thing is that this is a great venue, but they just don't get it ... they had a great thing going for Sunday brunch, but changed the menu so that you had to order their champagne brunch (pricey) instead of their regular luncheon menu ... consequently, we stopped going there last spring for Sunday brunch
... tonight we thought we would try it again for their 1/2 price bar menu (we have eaten here several times in the regular dining room but wanted something light) ... the place was virtually empty ... We did sit at the bar, and we ordered chicken potstickers ($10) for 4 of them; they were ok ... then we followed that with Shrimp Scampi ($16) for 1 (ONE) shrimp!!; it was tasty but meager ... and Calamari ($14) for a decent sized portion ... these were VERY salty, deep fried, and breaded like chicken tenders ... almost inedible because of the salt .. and we finished off with the chicken tacos ($14) for 2 of them ... again VERY salty ... so our 1/2 priced appetizers with two glasses of wine, tax, and tip came to $48 for 2 of us ... how sad when this place has one of the premier views in the entire Coachella Valley ... I write this with a lot of misgivings because this place, if run right, could be and is one of the best venues in the desert.

Thank Sjrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elise A, General Manager at Escena Lounge and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Folks,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you are disappointed with some aspects of our restaurant here at Escena. We certainly want to present ourselves positively and to be a great value. I wanted to clarify some of your concerns so that hopefully you will see the value and return to a better experience.

Our appetizer menu is priced at full price then discounted half price during happy hour. The prices you mentioned in your feedback are the regular list pricing; you paid half that price on your bill. For example, the potstickers were actually $5, etc. The shrimp in the scampi portion for happy hour is one piece for the $8 price, however it is a 5 oz portion which is almost close to a regular size protein portion of 6oz on most of our regular entrees.

You can still order items during Sunday brunch without paying the $18 price, the regular breakfast menu is available as well as a limited lunch menu for the lower regular price. The only difference was that we cut down on the larger variety of lunch items offered due to the higher volume we get on Sundays.

I hope that addresses some of your concerns and if you have further concerns you can certainly contact me directly at the restaurant.

Thank you,

Elise Arouh
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The sandwiches are yummy, the fruit option is fresh and stacked nicely on your plate. And bar none, they have the best Potato Chips in town. If you just go for the chips in my opinion you will be glad you did.

Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We opted to sit in the area for Happy Hour drinks and appetizers and we were not disappointed with the food. We ordered several appetizers in order to share, the fish tacos, club quesadilla, onion rings were very very tasty. This place is lovely and has fantastic views overlooking the golf course with mountains all around. We ordered the dessert of Bread Pudding home made and it was exceptional! We are definitely going back for dinner. Also our service was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RaePalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escena Lounge and Grill also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Escena Lounge and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing