We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parker Palm Springs - Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parker Palm Springs
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Parker Palm Springs - Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Let's get one thing straight...whenever you stay in a hotel you should align your expectations as honest as possible. Just because you saw this hotel on tv does not mean its better or worse than any other. I'd advise going into any hotel stay with a lower than normal expectation so there is room to be surprised.

In my case, I was very surprised at my 5 night stay while on business in the Palm Springs area.

Food: Norma's breakfast is the best food I've ever eaten at a hotel. While on the pricey side, it's heavenly and presented very well. You must try the Wa'za (see photo). It is hard to believe other reviews could compare this to drive thru quality?

Room Service: HUGE portions (club sandwich could feed 2 people). Always arrived before estimated time and tasted great.

Guestrooms: I stayed in the North Tower (view of residential neighborhood) in a Deluxe King Room. The most charming hotel room I've seen to date. The decor is colorful and personal. It's almost as if you are staying in someone's private home. The L'Occitane and Peter Thomas North toiletries are a huge plus! Despite others, no mildew smell WHATSOEVER anywhere on property. Great rugs alongside the 4 poster canopy-style beds. The exposed brick wall is very mid-century modern-esque. Oh, and it's approx 475sq ft. Very clean.

Hotel Grounds: Gorgeous! The small gravel paths lead guests to and from the main lobby, pool areas, and spa. During the day you can spot hummingbirds feeding on various flowers and at night guests can relax by an outdoor fire pit. The Santa Rosa mountains are beautiful from the courtyard area. The weather in PS is perfect.

Pools: Food and Beverage service is available by the pool. Both pools are heated year round but the hot tub is only heated (currently) to a lukewarm 84 degrees. Towels and padded lounge chairs are provided. Very relaxing and quiet.

Check in: I booked through Hotels.com and had ZERO problems upon check in. They actually upgraded me to the Deluxe King without even asking. Hotels.com had a great deal for this property too!

Other: Don't forget, the resort fee is $30 per day and includes your wireless internet, valet parking, and room delivered newspaper.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — the FOOD at Norma's, the beautiful grounds, and charming guestrooms
  • Disliked — The hot tub was only lukewarm
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    347
    155
    118
    127
See reviews for
197
710
71
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times before, and as usual it did not disappoint me. There are so many cookie-cutter resorts in the area, I go to the Parker expecting great service, lovely grounds and unique decor. Perhaps the other visitors were expecting chintz bedspreads and boats in the lobby - go to the Marriott for that. If you like eclectic music playing at the pool (think KCRW - if you're from LA), comfortable linens, no need for television, LOVELY views, QUIET QUIET QUIET, privacy, great spa treatments in the CLEANEST spa I've ever visited and great breakfast, the Parker is the place to stay. I have never eaten dinner at the property, but the grapefruit in the morning is worth the trip. I went midweek for the Spa Junkie, paid 199 for the room and they kicked in a 60 minute massage (not 50 minutes, 60) - including tip. On its own, I know their massages are pricey, so this was a deal.

  • Liked — The pools
  • Disliked — having to go home
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShakaWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax1633
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Is this hotel really a five star? My very first impression walking into the lobby was the smell. I noticed the old, musty smell right away. They did give us an unexpected upgrade, which was nice, even though it looked out to a trash dumpster. The musty smell in the room was even worse, it gave me a headache right away. The bed was very comfortable but the interior design was 70's , which was just OK. The spa and pools were awesome. Spent a few hours in the indoor salt water pool (men and women have different pools) which I had mostly to myself. Outdoor grounds were great, with seating areas in different locations. I'd go back for the spa, but bring a nose plug for the room.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Old, musty smell in room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jax1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo ca
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I "get" boutique; unique; retro and historic, and this property has a little bit of all those descriptions but overall, just misses. Like another review, the hotel hasn't figured out what it wants to be. The rooms were bland, bathrooms small, and the worst feature, cheap Zenith TVs and cheap hairdryers. I would have expected a plasma TV for the exhorbinant price we paid ea night. Drinks were $15 - to $20 ea with your standard liquor requests. Mr Parkers I like the ambiance the food was just okay and pricey. We liked Norma's much better - breakfast was fabulous. We get what the hotel is trying to accomplish, but it misses and the price you pay for adequate is insulting. The young staff is gracious and accommodating though on a positive note. All of them I spoke with from EUrope and only in the US a short time to further their wish of pursuing a career in the hospitality industry. They reminded me of indentured servants, hopefully they earned a decent living because they all worked very hard. The clientele was diverse which made for interesting people watching. I would not return, too many other great alternatives in the desert

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — ridiculous pricing for average
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank currybj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

The hotel was terribly overpriced for what you get. Arguably, the property is 'nice,' the food is 'good,' and the spa is 'ok,' but for what they charge everything should be AMAZING. We got the spa junkie package where for $299 a night you get $200 worth of spa treatments. However what they don't mention is that massages are $180/person! There are no spa prices at all on the website. For lunch we ordered 2 veggie burgers and 2 lemon cocktails, and it cost about $70 including tip. Totally outrageous. I have been to far better hotels where the prices are much more reasonable.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank JuleyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

The hotels grounds are well kept and beautiful. Its split into many areas, where one can sit down and relax, or play some table tennis or other sports. The staff were all very friendly and the whole enviroment itself very relaxing.

There's two pools. Both of the pool area's were comfortable, well maintained and there were enough towels on all the days I was there. I didnt order anything at the pool, but the staff was very friendly and always at hand. The smaller pool has a jacuzzi as well.

The food at the hotel's Mr Parker restaurant was good, with the beef fillets being amazing, but when I ate with a group of people on the lawn with food from the restaurant, it was rather crap. Very basic and no taste. My spaghetti bolognese was as bad as the one I can make.

It was odd, since the other nights when I attended dinners held at various areas of the hotel for our group, the food was great and I'm sure it was from the same restaurant. Strange.

The hotel rooms are split into two separate buildings. Mine was at the back of the property on the second floor. The regular room was spacy, well kept and very light in tone. The bed was absolutely amazing. The bathoom isn't the biggest around, but looked ok, it was clean and there was plenty of space for all your toiletries.

In terms of work, the free(!) wifi worked great, but there was no work desk or a work chair, only a small round table, so writing wasn't the most comfortable thing you could there, but then again, this a vacation resort and not a business hotel. Still, the vibe of the room was very comfortable, you wont mind spending time there, if you have to.

  • Liked — Relaxing vibe, great pool
  • Disliked — Both pools were a bit far from the room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RiotPelaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm springs, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I reserved a table for four: 8:00pm, Saturday evening at Mr. Parker's.

This was to have been a birthday celebration for one of my guests for whom I'd requested a special dessert presentation. The restaurant called that afternoon to confirm our reservation, as well as the birthday arrangement.

We arrived somewhat early, ordering cocktails in the lobby lounge. Whiskey Sour, Lemon Drop, Vodka Tonic, Glass house champagne = $60.00, plus tip.

Then on to the restaurant, which for some reason appeared to be out of nearly every Red listed on its gimmicky wine menu, categorized under: "Crazy", "Sexy", and "Cool". "Stocked" would have been my choice.

Appetizers (8) and entrees (2) -- we weren't particularly hungry -- arrived, but at a glacial pace. Our waitress was basically M.I.A., darting past on occasion, eyes averted. We enjoyed her full attention only at ordering opportunities. And the meal itself: nothing memorably good, or bad.

Three hours into the experience, dinner plates removed, a new face delivered dessert menus to the table. My friends and I squirmed awkwardly -- is it coming, is it coming?

No it didn't. What did come, however, was a bill for $300.00, which covered the above, plus two bottles of water and a middling bottle of champagne.

Mr. Parker's can count on four angry and motivated SoCal "guests" to spread the word.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
21 Thank palmspringstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
2.1 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
3.6 mi away
Colony Palms Hotel
Colony Palms Hotel
#26 of 73 in Palm Springs
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
1.6 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#34 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,115 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#18 of 73 in Palm Springs
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Palm Springs

Property: Parker Palm Springs
Address: 4200 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-5230 (Formerly Le Meridien)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#16 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine spending a weekend at your great aunt's home, an extremely elegant lady of indeterminate age. Her home, the Parker Palm Springs, is full of the kind of patina achieved by always purchasing the best, knowing that living well ages all things with a particular beauty. What is Happy Luxe? Happy Luxe is luxury without formality, beauty without pretension, elegance with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parker Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Meridien Palm Springs
Parker Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing