We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BFF's Wedding Weekend”
Review of Los Arboles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Arboles Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I hate giving bad reviews but in this case I must if it can make the management aware and fix things. I came to Palm Springs for my BFF's Wedding. The happy couple had a wedding room block and needed to fit the quota so my Husband and I took the last room. We arrived and there was plenty of parking, grounds were lush and clean, and it is a cute looking Spanish style little Boutique Hotel. We entered our room and we said oh not a bad room and its spacious. I needed to wash my hands from a very long day trip and the second I turned on the faucet there was a horrible screeching sound . We are still not sure but we believe the horrible screeching noise was coming from the pipes. Once the water stopped running the screeching sound goes away in around 30 seconds. BUT THIS CONTINUED TO HAPPEN WHEN WE SHOWERED, FLUSH THE TOILET, AND WHEN THE NEIGHBORS USED THEIR BATHROOMS TOO. Lets put it this way we heard the loud screeching that makes your ears bleed kind of noise a lot throughout our stay, which also made it hard to have a quiet nights sleep!!! The A/C also does not pump out very cold air so our room was a bit warm for our liking. To top it all off there was no fitted sheet or tissues in the tissue box. The office closes early in the evening so good luck trying to get a staff member or anyone to give one any supplies or help. I have to mention the restaurant--The Service was great but the Mexican style Breakfast was lacking. My Husband ordered the Chilaquillas which were unfortunately too spicy and we do like spicy food but this was too much. I ordered the Huevos Rancheros and it was missing any sort of toppings such as cheese, sour cream, avocado, etc etc. It looked like soup and hidden under the "soup" were my eggs and a tortilla! The orange juice, coffee, and homemade tortillas were the only tasty things we had. Overall we would not stay or eat here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennynSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Jenny, thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Los Arboles. Sorry to hear that the rest of your visit didn’t stack up to your very positive first impressions. It sounds to us like the noise you heard from the pipes is “water hammer” caused by a small pockets of air in the pipes. We get our water from the city and when city water service is turned off and then on again we sometimes get air hammer is our system. It really can be loud … so please accept our apologies. It can be fixed with air dampeners or more easily by opening all the taps and running water until pressures decreases allowing the trapped air to pass. Our A/C units have the cooling capacity to cool our rooms in the (very) hot desert heat of summer so perhaps you had a malfunctioning unit … it happens occasionally and we nearly always have a room to swap in this type of situation. However, it appears we perhaps did not offer you another room so please accept our apologies. Like virtually all very small boutique hotels (25 rooms or less) we do not have 24 hour staffing. We do however have management on property until 10PM nightly at El Mirasol to handle both hotel and restaurant related issues. Restaurant staff can and often do check late arriving guests into the hotel and handle other requests as well. Glad to hear you enjoyed good service at El Mirasol but sorry food was not to your liking. Chilaquiles are a very spicy dish (a very robust hangover “cure” dish in Mexico) but when a guest cannot enjoy a meal in our restaurant because of too much spice … we happily offer another dish as a substitution. It comes with the territory in the Mexican Cuisine business. Regarding the Huevos Rancheros … sorry our style didn’t meet your expectations. We serve a hearty Zacatecas/Jalisco version of this popular dish and do not add sour cream (a north of the border addition) or shredded jack cheese and avocado garnish. A liberal serving of salsa to be soaked up by corn tortillas, rice and beans is a pretty traditional presentation for Huevos Rancheros. But this dish has nearly as many styles as there are good cooks in Mexico … so there really is no right or wrong presentation. I really do appreciate the time you spent honestly sharing your experience at Los Arboles and we clearly did not deliver our best work or communicate effectively your options at our hotel. Your feedback will be noted at our staff meeting and on behalf of all of us here at Los Arboles, thanks for helping us continue to refine the guest experience.

¡Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Los Arboles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

I got a great Expedia deal over the summer for two nights in the middle of the week. It was a great value and I had a very relaxing time. The property is very well done and the service is good. I love the hammocks and the restaurant was delicious. Loved the salsa and chicharrones en salsa, yummy. It was weird not having a phone in the room to connect to the front desk which closes at 5:30pm but I suppose it was nice to be unplugged. An ice machine would be good especially during the summer since there are no mini fridges in the basic rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally123pho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hola Sally and thanks for the kind words about Los Arboles. Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our little corner of old Palm Springs. Really appreciate your feedback about improvements we can make to the guest experience. Hammocks were a suggestion from a previous guest and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed them during your visit. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you back at Los Arboles again soon.

¡Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our stay at Los Arboles this past weekend was lovely. Very close proximity to downtown without all the noise and traffic. The rooms were spacious and nicely appointed; the bed was super comfortable.

We had dinner at the on site restaurant and it was not great, but not bad. Margaritas were pretty delish though.

We stayed in room 112 and my only complaint would be the constant whistling sound from the pipes every time the water would be turned on. Our neighbors had that same problem. It was quite annoying. Hopefully if we return they will have that all sorted out.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thanks for the kind words about Los Arboles Michelle. Glad you enjoyed the visit. Also appreciate the constructive feedback too ... very helpful as we work to improve the guest experience. A few operational challenges were discovered during (and after) the renovation of this 1930's era Spanish Colonial hotel but we've got some upgrades planned to tackle them. Thanks again for the feedback and be sure to check out the rooftop sun deck (we just opened it last month) on your next visit.

¡Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013 and so glad I found this place. Although I love the nearby large resorts in Indian Wells and Palm Desert, this boutique hotel set in Palm Springs had such a private feel to it so it made it even more relaxing to stay here. You can see the beautiful mountains as you walk to the pool. This is a very small boutique hotel so you are literally steps to the pool from your room and they have an excellent Mexican restaurant right on site with excellent seafood dishes and super friendly staff. Be careful, the margaritas are strong!!! Haha Good thing you can walk to downtown Palm Springs within 10 minutes.

Room Tip: There isn't a fitness center but you can walk everywhere easily from here.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missdrusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments about your visit to Los Arboles and meals (and drinks) at El Mirasol. Our goal is to provide a small boutique hotel atmosphere with the amenities of a larger resort and it sounds like that combination worked well for your visit. Hope to see you back soon.
¡Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our Labor Day Weekend Stay from 8/31-9/2/2013.
We didn't come to stay locked in the room, whole point of coming to the desert is to lay out and go swimming.
I gave them notice since 4pm Saturday & 24 hrs later the pool is still dirty. they said the pump was "off" and that they turned it on but the pool water was still murky, full of bugs n hair floating on the surface of the water. you could see the dirt that had settled at the bottom of the pool. the pool had a rim of built up dirty all around it! The jacuzzi water was so dirty it looked like pond water. Wish the pool had been as pristine clean as the room. That they had given it the same great service as the bartender, Marcos, gave us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahal12592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Manager at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello mahal12592,

Thank you for your comments!

You had difficulty with our pool and spa over the busy holiday weekend and for that I offer our apologies. We do our best to maintain this exceptional property everyday through our regular cleaning and maintenance processes. However, once in a great while, we either make a mistake or have something just happen... in turn we have a guest, like yourself, who's experience we could have made more enjoyable.

On Monday we identified the issue and took the steps needed to remedy the problems that you were kind enough to note for us. In fact, we went over and above to assure that we have less and less issues with this area. Today, we had delivered a much more effecient and powerful motor and pump system for the pool and spa. This new equipment is scheduled for installation on Friday. The addition of this equipment will help to ensure that the pool area maintains it's crystal clear waters!

Now, unfortunately in the desert, we have bugs and dust. It's something that those of us that live here deal with daily. For those visiting, we understand that you may not be used to this environment. We do our best to keep them from the pool area, but as I'm sure you experienced during your stay, a stong gust of wind can make even the most beautiful pool appear less than perfect in a moments notice. With the addition of this new equipment, I'm sure that your next visit to Los Arboles will leave you thirsting for your next!

Thanks Again for your comments and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here 8/14/13 for one night. The hotel is very cute. It is nicely landscaped and decorated. We had no problems checking in and was actually able to check in a little early. The room was plenty big enough for two people. The tub, sinks, bed, and floor were very clean. The place was quiet and relaxing.

The cons:

I had a few issues with the hotel that caused a lower rating. First, the rule about bringing no personal food or drinks by the pool. I thought that this rule was a little excessive. There are numerous signs posted about no personal food or drink at the pool. If you are going to have this rule, then you should have some sort of water cooler by the pool. Many hotels in Palm Springs have no problem supplying water by the pool. We had to go to the onsite restaurant to get water or drinks as there was no pool service.
I did not see the food and drink as a safety reason. It is fine to have the restuarant food and drinks at the pool and in the pool. However, if I try to drink a plastic bottled water then I was breaking the rules. I got the feeling that the place just wanted you to purchase their overpriced snacks, drinks, or be stuck buying from the restaurant. The signs could simply say no glass at the pool.

No refrigerator in the rooms??? Really? It is Palm Springs and hot. A fridge is pretty much standard these days.

The pool was very dirty. We got in the pool around 3 in the afternoon. It was filled with bugs. I am not sure if the pool was even cleaned that morning. If it was cleaned, then a second cleaning in the afternoon should be done.

The bathroom fan was very dirty. I just happended to look up as the fan was making a loud noise. It was covered in dust and looked very gross.

Other than those things, the place was very cute. If the place lost the rule about personal drinks and food, cleaned the pool more often, and had a fridge in the room, it would be a real treasure in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmckendree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, General Manager at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello and Thank You for your comments! We're always happy to have the opportunity to see our property and services through the eyes of our guests and to have the ability to make changes based on your views!

You've asked about our personal food and beverage policy and because that's a big one, let's look at why we have this policy in place. Unfortunately, this is a case of the few who acted improperly affecting the many. When we opened this beautiful hotel several years ago after a 3 year total remodel, we had several occasions that involved hotel guests drinking beer and wine at the pool from glass containers. As you may have guessed, we had broken glass in the pool which in turn forced us to close the pool. By closing the pool, to get it professionally cleaned, we upset a hotel full of people...all because someone didn't use good judgment. We overlooked it the first and even the second time it happened, but on the third time we changed our hotel policy. Since that change in late 2011 we have had no issues at the pool, not even one. It in no way is based on forcing guests to buy any of the wonderful and competitively priced home made items that we sell on property, although we are happy to serve, it's strictly a policy to assure that everyone who joins us on this wonderful property has the chance to relax, unwind and enjoy without worrying.

Refrigeration in the desert! It's coming soon! We are in the process of adding refrigerators to all guest rooms, so watch for this change to take place soon and should be completed by early 2014.

Thanks for asking about the pool too! Those of us who live here in the desert understand bugs and dust! Lots of bugs and lots of dust! We do our best to keep both the bugs and the dust under control, but unfortunately, because we are in the desert, the pool can sparkle one minute and with the change of wind direction, look as if it had not been cleaned the next. We do our best to keep up with Mother Nature, but honestly, sometimes she wins!

Thanks Again for bringing your thoughts and views to us! I can speak for our staff and owners when I say that we couldn't continually improve this property without you! See you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hubby and I snuck away for a long weekend and stayed at Los Arboles - which he found on Travelzoo for a great price. Was a bit tricky checking in as there was no one at the front desk - but the hotel adjoins a very popular restaurant, Mirasol and that's where we found the folks to check us in. All very friendly. Our room was a good size, very clean and the décor had a boutique feel of a Mexican Riviera style hotel. They offered free margaritas on check in and free beverage with breakfast showing your room key. We dined at Mirasol once for breakfast and once for dinner and both were delicious...especially their homemade hot sauce which they sell there. The pool and surrounding patio were very nice although a bit small and needed a few more loungechairs. The location was very convenient to Palm Canyon shops and restaurants. While we enjoyed staying there we may try one of the adults only hotels nearby for a quieter experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Carmella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience at Los Arboles Carmella ... much appreciated. We have been getting quite a few comments about the "Cabo feeling" at Los Arboles lately ... maybe because its been so hot! We've recently added more pool lounge chairs, hammocks and hanging chairs to help accommodate more guests poolside but the big news for Los Arboles is our new 2nd floor mountain view sun deck under construction right now. This deck will be another place to relax, get some sun and enjoy a meal or a margarita. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

¡Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#16 of 73 in Palm Springs
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#32 of 73 in Palm Springs
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
878 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Arboles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arboles Hotel

Address: 784 N Indian Canyon Dr, Enter on Via Altamira, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: $111 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Arboles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Arboles Hotel located in the heart of Palm Springs, walking distance to shopping, galleries, and entertainment...Come 'Discover Your Dreams with Us'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Arboles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing