We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD MANAGMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caliente Tropics Resort
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris,idaho
15
Reviewed June 5, 2005

The title says it all, and the staff are rude. The hotel is great but they need a new staff.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2005

The room was spacious, nothing too fancy but clean and tidy. The best part was the pool. We stayed on a Friday night for 88 bucks, not bad - not very close to downtown by the way.
We liked how the pool had torches lit at night and was big and deep. The front counter guys were horrible and rude. Took their sweet time, and seemed as if they didn't care how long you had to wait. They are very strict on their pool towels, which aren't that great, so I don't know what the big deal is.
Maybe I would stay there again, but I would want something closer to the action.

4  Thank BG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
northern california
16
Reviewed May 31, 2005

this was our first time at the caliente tropics and i cannot BELIEVE the rudeness we encountered! we had made reservations over SIX months in advance to stay at the caliente tropics and they had lost the reservation. after pulling out our print out of the confirmation number, they replied that it was meaningless. apparently, when the management shifted, the head manager dumped all old reservations made over the internet. they were completely unwilling to help us find other lodging (since the hotel was completely booked) and gave us the impression that this was OUR fault. so there we were, first time in palm springs, after driving for 8 hours, with no-where to stay due to their incompetence.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2005

Just came back from a weekend in Palm Springs at Caliente Tropics. We stayed there last summer so was looking forward to the stay. I read some more reviews and was apprehensive to see so many negative ones as of late.

We had a great time with some minor problems. Shower water was sketchy and temperature changed which made for a quick shower. My sister's room had a toilet problem which was promptly fixed. We had friendly service, clean rooms, pool was great and at a bargain at $60 per night on expedia. Can't beat that!!!

It is low key, relaxing and location can't be beat! Overall, recommended for value, location and polynesian theme. Will be returning!

3  Thank mrsfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
14
Reviewed May 20, 2005

We checked in there basically the last day of the old management. We were able to check in early and were greeted with wonderful service. When we got to our room, we got a call about 15 mins later checking to make sure our room was satisfactory. Sodas were in fringe, pool towels by the sink and fluffy towels in the bathroom and extra pillows were brought right to our room.

In the morning our paper was delivered.... and then all the changes started. The hot tub was starting to get murky, the pool was filled with branches and leaves. No one has cleaned it out that morning. The sodas were not replenished, the pool towels were not changed, and paper no longer came. On our 3rd day there I noticed the staff was smoking at the pool, the hot tub was disgusting and the new management just had unpleasant attitudes--- a smile goes a long way in the service industry.

On our last day, we learned on our second day there was an abrupt change in management. I have stayed at the Caliente Tropics on many occasions and loved the little extras that were provided by the previous owners. Though I love the atmosphere at Caliente Tropics, there are too many newly renovated hotels in Palm Springs that offer better service at comparable prices, that I probably will not go back to Caliente :(

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, Nevada
13
Reviewed May 16, 2005

Staying at the Caliente Tropics in the past has always been a pleasure. My last visit was a big disappointment though. The towels were not the soft ones I am used to and we never had enough in our room. Our room did not get made up one day and the staff was overall pretty rude. I understand that there has been a change in management. Seems like this was a big mistake on someones part. I will not stay here again, there are too many other options with better service and better prices.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2005

I have stayed at this wonderful Tiki hotel before. It was a great place. I always recommended it. Now its dead, gone; greed killed it.

The new Managment has cut everywhere. Beverages; gone, newspaper; gone, magazines; gone, continental breakfast; nearly gone. 12 noon checkout; gone, extra towls and upscale amenities; gone. Sharp grounds and clean rooms; going fast. I am sure the excellent linen will be replaced with cheap as it wears out. The towls were already getting dingy.

The previous continental breakfast has been replaced with a box of whatever old pastry is on sale at Cosco and weak coffee, thats it. Not even any Tang. The rooms have been stripped of all references to the hotel's cool past. The spa was not working. The room was not as clean as before.

This Hotel was saved and made wonderful by the previous owners. Now it is sinking fast. Soon to be the flophouse it was previously. I hate to see this happen. I will miss it.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank billyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.9 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 75 in Palm Springs
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#52 of 75 in Palm Springs
316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#40 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,190 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#51 of 75 in Palm Springs
320 reviews
2.4 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#17 of 75 in Palm Springs
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-2549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $117 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing