We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth it any more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caliente Tropics Resort
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
14
Reviewed May 20, 2005

We checked in there basically the last day of the old management. We were able to check in early and were greeted with wonderful service. When we got to our room, we got a call about 15 mins later checking to make sure our room was satisfactory. Sodas were in fringe, pool towels by the sink and fluffy towels in the bathroom and extra pillows were brought right to our room.

In the morning our paper was delivered.... and then all the changes started. The hot tub was starting to get murky, the pool was filled with branches and leaves. No one has cleaned it out that morning. The sodas were not replenished, the pool towels were not changed, and paper no longer came. On our 3rd day there I noticed the staff was smoking at the pool, the hot tub was disgusting and the new management just had unpleasant attitudes--- a smile goes a long way in the service industry.

On our last day, we learned on our second day there was an abrupt change in management. I have stayed at the Caliente Tropics on many occasions and loved the little extras that were provided by the previous owners. Though I love the atmosphere at Caliente Tropics, there are too many newly renovated hotels in Palm Springs that offer better service at comparable prices, that I probably will not go back to Caliente :(

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
There are newer reviews for Caliente Tropics Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,305 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, Nevada
13
Reviewed May 16, 2005

Staying at the Caliente Tropics in the past has always been a pleasure. My last visit was a big disappointment though. The towels were not the soft ones I am used to and we never had enough in our room. Our room did not get made up one day and the staff was overall pretty rude. I understand that there has been a change in management. Seems like this was a big mistake on someones part. I will not stay here again, there are too many other options with better service and better prices.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2005

I have stayed at this wonderful Tiki hotel before. It was a great place. I always recommended it. Now its dead, gone; greed killed it.

The new Managment has cut everywhere. Beverages; gone, newspaper; gone, magazines; gone, continental breakfast; nearly gone. 12 noon checkout; gone, extra towls and upscale amenities; gone. Sharp grounds and clean rooms; going fast. I am sure the excellent linen will be replaced with cheap as it wears out. The towls were already getting dingy.

The previous continental breakfast has been replaced with a box of whatever old pastry is on sale at Cosco and weak coffee, thats it. Not even any Tang. The rooms have been stripped of all references to the hotel's cool past. The spa was not working. The room was not as clean as before.

This Hotel was saved and made wonderful by the previous owners. Now it is sinking fast. Soon to be the flophouse it was previously. I hate to see this happen. I will miss it.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank billyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2005

I had been a HUGE fan of the Tropics for years. Recommended it to everyone traveling to Palm Springs. Loved the ambiance, cleanliness of the rooms, special amenities (like the drinks in the fridge, non-smoking rooms, and puppy priveliges), and especially the fantastic hospitatality of the staff. However the recent turnover in management is a fright. They do indeed ignore you at every opportunity. They spend more time snapping their clipboards and complaining to one another than attending their guests. And the prices are a bit out of line considering the quality and appeal of some of the boutique hotels in Palm Springs. The Reef Bar was open when last I attended but the prices of the drinks seem to fluctuate according to the whim of the bartender!! I'll always love the Tropics but next time, I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Betty9583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
17
Reviewed April 26, 2005

The hotel is poorly managed. From the moment we checked-in until we left two days later, our stay was plagued with incompetent hotel staff. They were rude and could not perform basic tasks like checking us into a room that wasn't occupied. The hotel bar is never open. The pool towel check out policy is byzantine. This hotel might be respectable in a few years, but it needs to overhaul the way it treats its customers.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2005

Pros: Great location, clean and well maintained, decent value
Cons: Very dirty jacuzzi, somewhat murky pool, bad smells from Mexican restaurant on premises

We stayed at the Caliente Tropics 4/23-24/05, paid $110 for one night (Saturday). No problems with staff--I would say we got typical motel-type service, and we weren't expecting anything more professional or accommodating. We had an upstairs room in a building at the back of the hotel with storerooms underneath--probably one of the quietest blocks of rooms at the property. Room was decent sized and very nicely furnished/decorated. Very clean and well maintained. No tub, but a large tiled shower--perfect for our needs. A few minor amenities--like nice soap/shampoo/lotion, but no complimentary sodas or newspapers. (Although there were a couple of current local entertainment publications in the room, plus other good magazines.)

We did not try the Reef Lounge, but it was open and they were serving food as well as drinks.

The pool and jacuzzi were, to us, the biggest drawbacks. First, we wanted to use the jacuzzi at 7am and the gates were locked, and no one in the locked and dark front office to accommodate our request to open the pool area. Pool hours or rules not in the room. Pool area opened at 7:30am, but when we saw the dirty, murky jacuzzi, we couldn't set foot in it. Pool was cleaner, but still on the murky side. (Both pool and jacuzzi were dirty the entire time we were there.) Pool area was uncrowded, no screaming youngsters. The view of the mountains from the pool is fantastic. However, burned food odors continually drifted over from the Mexican food restaurant on the property. Not pleasant. Plus, no one at the front desk told us about towels, we had to ask one of the guests where to get them. And then the wait and the signing of the form--gorgeous, thick towels, but we think better to buy cheaper towels and keep them at poolside.

We would most likely try another place before we'd go back to the Caliente Tropics, but we would stay there again if we couldn't find a similar place at a better value.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Millerfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2005

April 16/ 17, 2005

This didn't start off well, that's for sure. There was only one person in line in front of me at check in with the windows, with a person at each. The person in front of me was complaining loudly about the property and their experience. The employees at the other two windows ignored me like I wasn't even there. One guy kept fiddling with a computer or something, while the lady (ommi? or some similar name) was talking quietly on the phone. No one even so much as acknowledged my presence for a good 5 minutes (My wife just gave up and sat down in the lobby).

When I finally was able to speak (felt like Seinfeld / soup nazi episode) and checked in, I was informed that the key machine was broken and that they would let me in the room and bring the key up later. I informed them that we didn't plan to just sit in the room and wait. They replied that they weould just leave it in the room. I asked them how I was supposed to get it, since I'd be LOCKED out..... duh.... Speaking of "locking", if you use the in-room safe it's $1.50 a day....

We went to the pool. Huuum.....where's the towels? Oh. That's right, go back to the lobby, stand in line again, and sign a form for the towels. And return them the same way.

Anyway....one night stay - total with tax = $156. NO complimentary beverages as their expedia ad states, NO complimentary paper as their expedia ad states, the Reef bar was closed for rennovation, NOT mentioned in their expedia ad.

There's a Motel 6 next door. If you aren't enomoured with staying where the Rat Pack proportedly played around 45 years ago, save a hundred bucks and move over a building.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.9 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#32 of 73 in Palm Springs
118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#38 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#26 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
416 reviews
2.4 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#13 of 73 in Palm Springs
877 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-2549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $68 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing