We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We enjoyed our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caliente Tropics Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caliente Tropics Resort to your Saves list
Caliente Tropics Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I planned a stay-cation in our home valley and chose this hotel. It was kitschy and older, but our room was clean and well-portioned--but the carpet needs replacing. We received great customer service and enjoyed our stay. The only problem was that the bathroom door didn't open all the way due to toilet placement. Other than that, good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    334
    140
    75
    80
See reviews for
186
410
104
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have stayed at this property many times, but no more! The pool area and grass are great. The bed is comfortable. BUT----- Room type requested with advance reservation not provided and so-called "upgrade" was anything but. Room falling apart, shower not draining, blinds not working, hooks broken, toilet seat falling off. This property needs a serious overhaul. Management and front desk staff frequently missing in action. Billed for incorrect amounts on wrong credit card. On and on....

Room Tip: Don't bother requesting a specific room type -- you probably won't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruinBoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Chaz took care of our concern with the first room assigned to us. He was professional, friendly, and offered suggestions for things to do in Palm Springs. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The pool was inviting, plus the have a lift chair for people in wheel chairs at the pool.

At check out Caroline was very pleasant and stated she hope to see me again. Friendly vibe.
Will visit again.

Suggestions: face towels needed. Otherwise it was perfect.

Room Tip: Nice size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

MY worst hotel experience ever. It is old and run down, the air conditioner is as loud as a train, the pillows are completely flat, and worst of all the bedbug bites. We were so lucky they didn't come home with us. The whole town was booked up for golf tournaments and we ended up here. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Arrived by night, so we didn't have a chance to enjoy time by the pool. Our room for 4 people was spacious enough and clean. Friendly guy at the front desk. Left early in the morning, but the pool looked lovely in the daylight. If you need a place for a one night stand, don't be worry at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swoul84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for two nights this time, and it was just as good as the first time. The room was large and clean, and the wifi worked perfectly. Furniture is a bit dated, but still usable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuaGiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The room was clean and modern, nothing fancy. The pool was nice and the location was convenient. Another example of mid-century modern, the decor was dated, but not old. The theme was 1950's Polynesian. It was fun and creative. Reminder, kids ARE allowed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Luv2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#33 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#30 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#15 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#36 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#25 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Property: Caliente Tropics Resort
Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing