We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caliente Tropics Resort
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The staff at the front desk were very nice and check in was pretty quick. They have redone the rooms and the beds were comfortable. Didn't use the pool at all and the restaurant was still not up and open. For the value, you really can't beat the price. I would stay again!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bahbahluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel at a short notice. Simon, one of the hotel staff, was really nice. He gave us a great rate to the room, answered all our questions about Palm spring and attractions. The room was great, met our needs.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank shinata2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nothing Better than walking in to a hotel and seeing a friendly face with an outstanding welcoming attitude. The front Desk Employee I believe she said her name was Alisha was very kind she checked me in to my one night stay room. Quality of the hotel I'm not gonna complain because i only stayed one night and left next morning wasn't too long around to give out a review, but enough to say that the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was upgraded by Rocio to the King suite, which is HUGE! I wish I were staying more days to enjoy all the space. This is a cute hotel with old school tiki feel. It has a pool, shuffleboard, a gardens, and gym. I paid less than the Motel 6 next door. This is also in a nice location, just being 2 hotels down from the Ace hotel. You can walk to 2 major shopping centers just down the road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's the biggest pool, and HEATED, in all of Palm Springs, with spectacular mountain views and beautiful gardens with the Tiki Hut atomosphere. The rooms are shabby, smell of pets, and have a lot of dog damage- chewed furniture, etc. The staff are also ambivalent, even though the place has faced financial troubles for years- they just don't seem to care. I go when it's less than $49 a night only, however. The economy in Palm Springs is awful- if the pool isn't your thing, I would not recommend this place for any other reason. There is world-class hiking in nearby Indian Canyons.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

On arrival staff was very polite and gave us that "home" comfort feeling. Chaz and Aliece were cheerful and even upgraded my boyfriend and I to a suite since we were celebrating a anniversary. Great recommendation for brunch at Pinnochio's, though parking was difficult to find. pool and spa were nice, but internet was slow. Great rate! Would stay again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked this hotel on fairly short notice. Pretty disappointed after reading the previous reviews. Old hotel, semi-updated. Pretty hokey decor, nothing to write home about. Everything was clean, that was nice. But, for the money, I expected much, much more. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#41 of 75 in Palm Springs
799 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 75 in Palm Springs
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#51 of 75 in Palm Springs
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,149 reviews
2.4 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#17 of 75 in Palm Springs
891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delos Reyes Palm Springs
Delos Reyes Palm Springs
#63 of 75 in Palm Springs
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-2549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $70 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing