We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caliente Tropics Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caliente Tropics Resort
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Other reviewers were accurate; think "motel" and you won't be surprised. The place is older, as is most everything in Palm Springs, but they keep it CLEAN! I don't care if my sink is inside or outside of the bathroom area, as one person complained, and the shower seemed brand new. The pool area was kept up to high standards. A nice place, especially if you can get it for $65/night, as one reviewer did... that would be a steal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_MplsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    366
    153
    82
    87
See reviews for
213
450
110
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for five nights, it is a great little place to get away but very basic. They have a beautiful pool and all common areas are kept up very well. The rooms have been redone but still feel a little dated, really can't complain for the money it is a great place. Is a little drive or about a 1.5 mile walk to downtown and everything kinda happens down there. There is a nice coffee shop about two blocks down and a few restaurants right in the area though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for a good place with a low budget. Taking a chance at a place this cheap was a gamble but we came out winners! As soon as we entered we were greeted by a very personable desk employee named Stephen. He was very friendly and very knowledgable about the town. He was very personable and made our weekend great by pointing us to all of Palm Springs hot spots. The pool and Jacuzzi were great! decorated with tiki lights and small cabanas. We will be back every time we visit Palm Springs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here during Feb. 2013 for 9 days and we were reasonably satisfied with our stay.
Good points:
- the room was clean and the staff was friendly
- lovely pool and hot tub with plenty of space to lounge
- attractive grounds
- good location for town activities

Downsides
- the phone in our room never worked even though we requested a repair on arrival
- the water was often only lukewarm when showering
- Wi-Fi was OK but a little flakey
In summary, good but lots of scope with better management
-

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvalihora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

They hired a good photographer and the pictures fooled me. This is a cheap motel pretending to be a resort. Features of our room: holes in the sofa; creaky floors; dirty carpet; bath sink outside the bathroom - no privacy; no closet; noisy refrigerator; absolutely no privacy - I could hear all conversations in the neighboring room. You should be able to find a similar motel at 1/2 the price within a mile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NPTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

First, one should note that this is not a hotel, and a resort might be pushing things. So expect a motel. That said, what about the price. I paid 65$ a night through a web service.

For a motel at $65 a night this was an excellent choice. Quiet room on the second floor that had been refurbished. Two large queen beds, good linen, fluffy pillows. Nice toiletries in the room.

Swimming area is large, and very clean. Good outdoor whirlpool.

Location-- maybe a 1.5 mile jaunt to the town centre, but a nice area on its own. I liked being away from heavy duty tourist traffic.

One downside. No restaurant, although they do provide coffee in the lobby and the room.

All said, an excellent stay given my expectations and price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the main road as you can. I think the second floor rooms are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingCannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at the Caliente for Modernism Week and found it a convientient location, great price, quiet, and a wonderful hot tub. When we were there the weather was pretty cool so didn't use the pool, but the hot tub was perfect for size, temperature and lightly used...which was like having our own private paradise. The rooms are clean and adiquate, but would have like to see the decor updated a bit. They have maintained their Polynesian motif, which I'm not that crazy about...but is their claim to fame so can't blame them for sticking with it. I would recommend the Caliente.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#48 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.1 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#38 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#15 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#44 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#32 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Property: Caliente Tropics Resort
Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264-2549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing