We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and safe.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caliente Tropics Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caliente Tropics Resort
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Clean and safe.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Traveling alone as a woman the most important thing is feeling safe in my hotel. This one provided that easily. My room was clean and comfortable. The property is very well maintained for one of its era. The pool is lovely and the hot tub a little on the cool side, but huge. The details are fun.

My only complaint was that there were no shades on the bathroom window (though it is opaque glass) and the sun was BRIGHT in the morning, and woke me up. Have to remember to close the bathroom door at night.

The fridge was useful and the bed very comfortable. Would highly reccomend. I got a $64 a night deal on hotwire.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleReebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    365
    153
    82
    86
See reviews for
213
448
110
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friend and I were staying here for one night and had a great stay for an awesome price. For $66 (including tax) and a more than comfortable room to stay in, what more can I ask for. We were gambling at the casino and decided to see if we could check in our room one hour early. We were graciously greeted by the nice front desk staff Maritza. When asked if we could check in early, she said it would not be a problem and without asking she upgraded our room just like that. That was a pleasant surprise. She checked us in quickly and we were soon relaxing in our upgraded room.

If you are looking for many ammenities of a $200 a night hotel, you might not find that here, but my friend and I were looking for an inexpensive, clean, safe place to stay with no hassles. That is exactly what we got and more. The beds were comfortable and we both slept well. The air condition was on the louder side, but that didn't bother my friend or me as we slept well. We didn't really have time to access the pool as we were out and about, but it looks like some people were enjoying the pool. Easy to get in and out as parking is right by your room as we were in and out frequently and no charge for parking as some hotels do charge.

Our check out was just as efficient as our check in as were able to have Maritza again. We thanked Maritza for a good one night stay and we were off on our way back to Los Angeles. You obviously knew that having friendly knowledgeable staff at the front desk goes a long way as Maritza was excellent.

I will gladly stay here again at my next trip out to Palm Springs. Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B-Rad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was a little disappointed with this place after reading so many wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. The service was excellent! Both ladies in the reception at our arrival were extremely friendly and professional. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. The location is great, very close to downtown Palm Springs. I did not have a chance to use the pool area as I was only there for a night, but it looked nice! Overall, I might stay here again. I'm giving the hotel a 4 based on how great the service was. Without that, I would probably have rated it a 3. If you want a very basic hotel near downtown at a reasonable rate, you will be happy here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsindelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Al I have to say is go, all the other reviews have summed it up, a great place at a decent price which is pet friendly. This is our new hangout since the Holiday Inn down the street sold out and was ruined by it's new owners. We spent the summer staying at different hotels/resorts from Palm Springs to Indio, this resort by far fits my family the the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prosailortim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've stayed here three times over the last 5 years, and each time, I'm struck anew how wonderful this place is. Hanging out by the pool, I saw tattooed folks, a lesbian couple holding hands, a few people playing music, families with kids, 20-somethings drinking beer and BBQing... and the most amazing part?? Everyone was respectful and friendly and got along well. No gangsta rap, no kids screaming and running, no jerks blowing smoke in your face. Somehow everything meshes and everyone chills.

The room itself is pretty large and clean, with a small fridge for sodas and leftovers. The ice machine never seemed empty. The AC actually worked. There was a communal ashtray outside my room that needed some tending, and it was clean five minutes after I asked the front desk. Friendly staff.

It's a little outside the main downtown PS area, so you would need to drive most places.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The reception was very nice. Friendly and polite front desk staff. Good coffee in the morning at the reception. There was no regular coffee available to brew in the room.
Although there was some maintenance done on the grass so you could not use the cabana's we did not mind. There was enough space for everybody and the pool area was well maintained. The room (we stayed in the King Suite) was nice. Quiet AC. Although the bathroom was not very spacious the room was very nicely decorated and felt like a tropical treat. We had booked this room through Venere, and was quite a lot of money, however maybe it was more expensive because our stay was during the weekend. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would defenitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I made a last minute reservation for this hotel. I spoke with Sadie on the phone is she was utterly charming. It was our first time going to Palm Springs. Upon our arrival, we were so happy with the hotel, we changed our plans and stayed an additional night, which the staff was happy to accommodate. This hotel is still in the process of renovation. I understand there will be a restaurant/lounge and a fitness center by the time we visit next year. We got to meet Ed, the general manager and he was not only friendly, but clearly dedicated to this motel. The pool and hot tub were absolutely spotless and I swam for the first time in years. There are lovely little cabanas for soaking up some sun, a beautiful maintained grassy area for kids to play.
Our room had two beautiful queen beds which were very comfortable, the bathroom had plenty of room. We were given great recommendations by the staff. There is not a single negative thing I can say about this hotel or the service we received. Thank you to all, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#48 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.1 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#46 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.4 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#13 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Property: Caliente Tropics Resort
Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264-2549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing