We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetest receptionist I've ever met!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caliente Tropics Resort
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Sweetest receptionist I've ever met!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

While staying at Caliente Tropics I had the pleasure of being checked in by a young lady named Taccarra who was so helpful and sweet when we arrived. We had a very long trip with nothing but problems... but she was able to brighten our day with her sunny personality, her bright disposition and a winning smile!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaspar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    385
    160
    85
    88
See reviews for
225
475
115
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Upon arrival, we received a suite instead of a normal room without asking (Tnx Maritza!).
The room was huge, bed was great, service was superb, pool looked great, staff was very friendly and everything was very clean.
We found a cockroach in the bathtub but because everything else seemed very clean and we didn't have any other issues, I think it's more bad luck than anything else.
For 70$ this was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was more than adequate for a relaxing two night stay after camping for 5 nights: comfy bed, air conditioning, roomy shower, large pool, easy access to our favorite eating establishments downtown, friendly check in and immediate attention to a problem with lighting in the room. We didn't hear any noise from our neighbors (albeit the AC was on and it makes noise).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm just finishing up a 2-night stay here at the tail end of a business trip. This motel has been nicely renovated with thoughtful touches and whimsy, like the painted outside lights. The room rates are insanely great, and while it's definitely a remodeled motor inn, the pool and lawn area in the middle have been relaxing and relatively quiet. Check-in staff were friendly and efficient. Sometimes it's nice to pull up right in front of your room instead of traversing a maze of hallways. The room is comfortable and nicely done, and while not fancy it has everything you might want, including wifi (sometimes slow), a/c, a fridge, safe, TV, and nice toiletry products. Come here with reasonable expectations and you'll be thrilled; I will return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dpenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently stayed here and and had to take a minute to mention how impressed and happy I was to get such amazing customer service from Tacarra at the front desk. Here is a hotel that is nice, comfortable, clean and well kept and a very reasonable rate. But the best part of the whole visit was being greeted with Tacarra's beautiful smile and cheerful "can do" attitude. The internet was down while I was there and like many of us, I have come to use it as a way of doing daily business. She offered me a table in the lobby area which allowed me space and time to complete my work, thus transforming what would have ben a huge problem into a positive result. I have been in a customer service oriented field for over 2 decades and know and appreciate the importance and value of good service. My compliments to Tacarra. Watch out Caliente Tropics Management, I'm be setting up an office out there and would try and steal her away in a New York minute!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side don't get the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa AZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed at this Motel a few times and I always have a relaxed calm experience here. Aside from the huge pool and deck area, there are no bells and whistles at this place. So, if you don't mind just the basics this is a great place to relax and chill out. It's location is close enough to the downtown area (you'd have to drive taxi or bus if walking isn't your thing) yet far enough away to not get caught up in it. There are beautiful mountains that provide a nice backdrop for photos.
The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfy... it's a good deal no doubt

Room Tip: I always get a room upstairs so I can look at over the pool area or see the mountains from the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank az480specialk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We only stayed at Caliente Tropics for a few days for a wedding, but we had absolutely no trouble at all. The pool is a very nice area, there are some cabanas that are comfy, and the rooms were cute! Overall, I felt like we scored because the price was so low! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,763 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#27 of 73 in Palm Springs
115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,536 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Property: Caliente Tropics Resort
Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-2549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing