We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Were We Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caliente Tropics Resort
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wow, Were We Impressed!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is wonderful! The rooms are big with comfortable beds. The sink area is separate from the shower with lots of counter space for cosmetics and shaving supplies, the bath amenities are very high quality. Every thing was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We weren't expecting such a nice place to the low price (it was the off season) When we checked in with Tacarra at the front desk she made us fell welcomed and expected. She explain the location of all the pool and Bar b que, and cabana features, as well as the location of the ice machines, etc. We truely felt she was glad we were there.

The pool area is great. The pool is large with lots of deck chairs, Get brightly colored pool towel at the front office and ask for a copy of the "History of he Caliente Resort" Very interesting. This will always be our hotel of choice when we visit Palm Springs! Great job everyone!

Room Tip: There is no bar or restaurant on premise as of yet and the fitness room was just being added. Many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    373
    157
    84
    88
See reviews for
218
464
112
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Couldnt ask for more we booked a regular king and we were upgraded to a suite which was awesome, I loved the pool, and the grounds were immaculate and the customer service is great specially from Marista who checked us out and allowed us to use the pool for couple more hours. I will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyelainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first time at caliente tropics and honestly we were shocked to see how nice this place is. When we arrived we were greeted by Maritza at the front desk, we arrived a little early but she went out of her way to check us in.The pool is huge, and the tiki torches at night are beautiful, never imagined how beautiful this place is. I wish we wouldve had more time to enjoy beautiful palm springs at caliente.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed one night on our way from northern California to Arizona and would have extended our stay if we could. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and affordable. The location is close to downtown but still quiet. Staff was laid back but helpful. The pool looked very inviting but we did not have a chance to try it out. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The tiki torches burn at night, the tall palm trees sway gently in the hot desert air.....we have stayed here before and will likely stay here again on our way through to L.A. The rooms have been recently re-done and the decor is fun. The price of this motel/resort is very reasonable. The swimming pool is spacious which was advantageous during our stay because there appeared to be some non-guests also appreciating the facility: three couples with multiple children, several coolers, pool toys, a table set up for their liquor - LOTS of colorful tattoos on the male and female adults, all smokers - in and out of the pool - yuk! They even had their own shade canopy set up, so they had obviously been there most of the day. Hmmmmm. Besides this spectacle, the Caliente Tropics is an OK place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the room all the way in the back - there is a very loud garbage truck that comes early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarakay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Forget the typical over-hyped and over-priced Palm Springs hotels that have popped up over the last decade, THIS is the real California desert experience. I've stayed here twice (once with my mom and once with my boyfriend) and both times it was the perfect choice. Spacious rooms, comfy beds, incredible value (MGMT: please, please don't raise your rates but give your fabulous staff a raise), fun pool, great crowd of all types, and cute mid-century kitsch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

At our recent visit to palm springs we stayed at the Caliente Tropics Resort it was a very enjoyable time beautiful pool area and the wonderful tiki torches at night. The room was king suite and extremely clean thanks to Rosario,Connie and the team of housekeepers. The desk staff as fantastic no matter what time of day. It was a very great time and we will continue to stay at the Caliente Tropics when in palm springs, thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay.

Monte and Tawny
Washington

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#45 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#51 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.4 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#14 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#36 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Property: Caliente Tropics Resort
Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264-2549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing