We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro cool”
Review of Desert Hills

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Hills
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Retro cool”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and thought we'd been transported back to the 1950s! It was mid-century modern at its best. The units are all clustered around the pool area and each has its own little table and chairs right outside the door. The units are spotlessly clean and well equipped. The kitchen (we had a deluxe suite) had a fridge, microwave, stove, sink, coffee maker and dishes, pots, pans and cutlery. There is a living area with sofa and chairs and there is a large dressing area off the bedroom with tons of built-in storage and a separate bathroom/shower area. Everything is immaculate, however, the sheets, towels, robes are starting to look a tiny bit worn. Nevertheless, everything is exceptionally clean and nice.

The pool area is simply beautiful. The landscaping is gorgeous and all the flowers are a delight. We spent a lot of time just sitting around the pool and in the hot tub because we just didn't want to leave. Like everything else, the grounds are immaculate.

We took the cruiser bikes out once and had a lot of fun exploring the surrounding neighborhood.

There were a couple of negatives that I would like to mention (aren't there always?) One, the continental breakfast is pretty poor. Just packaged pastries, yoghurts, juice and coffee. The addition of some good quality granola and bread and bagels for toasting would be an improvement. But I guess it's better than nothing.

The other thing is that on our last morning we were awakened out of a deep, peaceful sleep at 7:10 a.m. by the sound of lawnmowers being fired up right outside our door. For the next half hour the grounds crew performed their grasscutting and trimming operations and the noise was deafening. Sleep was impossible and we were unable to get back to sleep after that. Very disappointing when one is on vacation and looks forward to being able to sleep in. I am sure that the owners could insist that their landscaping company not commence activity before 9:00 a.m. for the comfort of their guests. I did hear several people around the pool commenting on the same thing later that morning.

Other than those two things we loved Desert Hills and most definitely look forward to returning to this very charming resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    16
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
73
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Our stay at Desert Hills was excellent! Here are the highlights:

Bed: Very comfy bed!!
Bath: Clean. Great supply of hot water and good water pressure. Hairdryer and shampoo/conditioner provided. Original fixtures and tile work from the 50s are a nice touch.
Kitchenette: Stocked with dishes, glasses, silverware, dish towels, toaster, fridge, coffee maker. There is a grill by the pool and you have enough supplies in your room to make a simple grilled meal. In the common breakfast room there is all of the spices, oils, etc that you would need for your meal. We did have to wash our dishes in the bathroom sink, but it wasn't a big deal. You can eat on the tables by the pool.
Breakfast: Basic continental breakfast. Good enough.
Patio/Pool: AWESOME!!! Great view of the mountains. Very quiet. Mostly 50+ adults. The grill was awesome! Very pretty and relaxing area area! Beach towels in your room.
Location and Parking: Free parking. Very easy walk to the downtown strip but right on the edge of town near the mountains which provided a very peaceful quiet location.
Extras: The kitchenette area was nice because we could pack lunches to take with us on our day hikes. We didn't use the bikes.

There is not a bad thing I have to say about Dessert Hills. If you are looking for a wild, crazy time, this is probably not it. This was an amazing, quiet, relaxing stay!!

I would highly recommend this inn over a chain hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFrugalButOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2010

My fiance and I had such a wonderful vacation that we decided to go ahead and get married when we returned home. The week we spent at the Desert Hills Palm Springs was so relaxing and peaceful that it gave us a chance to talk about our future together while we floated in the pool or sat in the hot tub or just hung out in the immaculately kept courtyard. We walked to shopping and restaurants and ate dinners outside of our room prepared on the great BBQ grill located in the courtyard. It was a romantic week and I can still smell the Molton Brown bath products from memory. Backt home, after wearing the wonderful robes provided, I won't wear anything else.. Excellent amenities for the guest's comfort and a super friendly staff attends to all your needs. Can't wait to go back. May go there for a belated honeymoon!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHollinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The romantic setting at the base of the San Jacinto mountains is only one of the perks from staying at the Desert Hills. In the mornings, the sun lights up the beautiful SoCal scenery and there's no place I'd rather be than by the pool at the Desert Hills. Its location leaves it protected from the sometimes fierce winds in Palm Springs, so it's always comfortable to lounge. The architecture and service is reminiscent of yesteryear in the most pleasing way. Yet, the facilities are new, clean, and clearly well taken care of. Even down to the minutia (cashmere bathrobes, fresh OJ in the mornings, managers who remember your name) the Desert Hills has it all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmedtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We chose this hotel after consulting with the Karen Brown & Trip Advisor websites. The hotel was charming, rooms simple, clean and harked back to the hey day of Palm Springs. The pool and jacuzzi were immaculate, the setting breathtaking and it's3-5 block proximity to down town Palm Springs a real treat both for shopping and for the Thursday night Village Fest. Free beach cruisers were available for the asking. Music from a gentler era played while retirees basked in the sun, read or did crosswords most of the day. Two large stainless steel barbecues stood at the ready near a very modern water feature. All very relaxing. The continental breakfast should be improved or removed. Coffee, juice, milk and non fat yogurt were offered along with prepackaged fruit pastries. For prepackaged pastries, the cinnamon horns were not so bad, but a nice bagel or toast would have really been appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ochw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2010

What a delightful place to stay!!! This hotel was probably built in the 50's but has been completely renovated but the old world charm remains. I stayed in Lucille Ball's room - the room Lucille Ball apparently stayed in year after year in the 50's. It had a huge living room, kitchen, bathroom and large bedroom. I also saw several other rooms that were exceptionally large, each having a little kitchen, great linens and high end shampoo, body wash products in showers. The hotel offers brand new vintage bicycles you can use to sight see around the area. The hotel has a lovely pool and hot tub in a setting sounded with beautiful mature landscaping.. The hotel is just a short 3 block walk to the main street of old Palm Springs, close to great restaurants and fun night life. I was there during a great Street Fair with over 100 artisans and great food booths. The hotel staff is exceptionally nice and very helpful. It is one of those places that you will want to return to again and again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnae51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

A group of friends have been spending several days at this great little boutique hotel each November since Debbie Broughton acquired it six years ago. It is spotlessly clean, comfy robes and linens, super friendly staff, beautiful sparkling pool and hot tub and upscale easy to use BBQ by the pool.. Easy walking distance to downtown and scrumptious restaurants. Perfect spot for a girls' getaway. Looking forward to next year's stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#29 of 73 in Palm Springs
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#14 of 73 in Palm Springs
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#56 of 73 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills

Property: Desert Hills
Address: 601 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6313
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Hills, tucked up against the rugged San Jacinto Mountains is one of Palm Springs classic boutique hotels. Built in 1956, Desert Hills is situated in the historic district a few blocks from the shops, galleries and restaurants in the heart of Tennis Club District of old Palm Springs. The "quiet luxury" of Desert Hills retains the essence of classic old Palm Springs with rooms and suites reminiscent of the 1950's mid-century modern design. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing