We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the Desert!”
Review of Desert Hills

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Hills
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a very clean well kept quiet property. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The towels are thick and dreamy! The small kitchen had everything we needed to cook a couple of wonderful dinners. (BBQ) We were well taken care of at this property. The pool is sparkley clean. Lots of places to go for dinner within walking distance. Thank you to Jim and staff for a wonderful holiday! We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comingforthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our stay was from Christmas Eve for 3 nights. Palm Springs is bustling at that time of year but this place retained an air of desert calm. From the impeccably kept patios and pool area to the soothing, very spacious interiors, the overall effect was completely relaxing. The managers are so nice and helpful, the rates are very reasonable. I love the '50s Palm Springs architecture. There were bikes available to use with no charge. The pool is sparkling and clean. It's just perfect for a peaceful, grown ups getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

What a discovery this was! Small hotel with 50's charm with units around the courtyard and pool, and tucked in against the mountain. It is only two blocks away from Palm Springs downtown and in the midst of mid-century residential architecture. We had easy access to restaurants, museums, entertainment, and walks. Our room was spotlessly clean and the property well maintained. We could eat breakfast outside under the umbrella by the pool while reading the local newspaper. Coffee was ready for us in the small kitchen. The place was quiet - no parties. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would gladly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Desert Hills is an excellent small hotel. It has a great setting tucked up against the mountain in "Old Palm Springs." It is small, quiet, and within easy walking distance to the downtown core. Arranged around a pool and hot tub area, the rooms are nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff is friendly without being intrusive and they are on task.

We have stayed at a number of small hotels in "Old Palm Springs" over the past fifteen years. Our stay at the Desert Hills was the best of them all. We will be back when next we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: We had Room # 27 and it was great. But, the place is small - you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Found this place online when looking for a small, mellow, mid-century modern place to stay near downtown.
Desert Hills has it all! Built in 1956... it has the awesome architecture of that time.
The place is small and laid back with 14 rooms surrounding the pool.
The place is very clean and well taken care of... especially considering the age.
We were in a Standard Studio Suite which was steps from the pool and also had a small kitchen.
Most of the guests were older couples, 50+. We were definitely the youngest people there. This place is mellow......... NOT a party place. but a good place to go if you just want to relax by the pool and take in the classic Palm Springs vibe.

Great location in the Tennis Club district. Only a few short blocks to downtown. Plus complimentary cruiser bikes and many good places to ride. WIFI and a basic continental breakfast included too.

No kids. No dogs.

We were here in May and the cost was $179 a night plus taxes for a studio.
We tried to go back a couple times after the first visit, but it was SO hard to get anyone to answer the phone at this place to make a reservation, so we ended up going to other similar hotels instead. I will defintely go back someday tho.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a place with a pool and quiet. Well, were we pleasantly surprised. Owner Jim was super nice and our room 10 steps (yes I counted) from the pool. The place is a no kids - no pets place (I'm a fan) and right up against the mountains. The pool never closes (we were in it all the time) and did I say it was relaxingly quiet cause it was. Pool area has comfy floaty mats & noodles for major pool lounging. Much older folks staying here but all was good. This place is located about 5 blocks from the main Palm Canyon Rd. You have the use of their complimentary cruiser bikes to ride into town for whatever. Our room (Standard Studio Suite) had a kitchen with an eating area, a major cozy bed with a living room area too. This is our little oasis in the desert & we will be visiting again.........soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paigelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Desert Hills has a perfect location nestled up against the mountains with very nice views. A retro style one story hotel with all rooms facing the pool. I went to Palm Springs with my 3 girlfriends who are all over 35. I think we were still too young for this place because we were asked to "keep it down" by the manager during our game of spoons at 3 IN THE AFTERNOON. Really? We were not cussing or talking trash, just laughing and enjoying our card game. The other hotel guests were fine with us and told us to have a good time! So our new friends from Pasadena, Claremont, Washington, and Seal Beach joined us in the pool where everyone got loud!!!!

I would still recommend this hotel for the nice clean rooms, the great pool area, and the location (5 minute stroll to main strip). Just make sure you are prepared to be quiet. Do not come here to laugh and have too good of a time!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waterseekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Three Fifty Hotel
The Three Fifty Hotel
#47 of 75 in Palm Springs
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#6 of 75 in Palm Springs
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#59 of 75 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#28 of 75 in Palm Springs
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills

Address: 601 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6313
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: $120 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Hills, tucked up against the rugged San Jacinto Mountains is one of Palm Springs classic boutique hotels. Built in 1956, Desert Hills is situated in the historic district a few blocks from the shops, galleries and restaurants in the heart of Tennis Club District of old Palm Springs. The "quiet luxury" of Desert Hills retains the essence of classic old Palm Springs with rooms and suites reminiscent of the 1950's mid-century modern design. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing