We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Tour of Joshua Tree National Park by the Best Tour Guide”

Trail Discovery Hiking Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Providing magical hiking & walking wilderness experiences. Allow yourself to re-connect with nature and the peacefulness within. Joshua Tree NP, Indian Canyons, San Andreas fault, San Jacinto State park, all just waiting for you to Discover! 20 years of professionally guided trips in the deserts, mountains & canyons in Palm Springs, Ca. We guarantee a great experience! We provide entry fees, bottled water, hip-packs, snacks & lots of info on plants, animals, geography & Native American history. Tours rates from $75 - $150 / per., and can range from a couple easy miles of walking, to 10+ miles to local summits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have enjoyed tours in Athens, Istanbul, St. Petersburg, Paris and Cairo, and this ranked right at the top. Not only was Scott tremendously knowledeable across a wide variety of topics, but he was the nicest and most sincere person we have had the pleasure of spending 6 hours. If you truly want a spectacular tour with an outstanding guide - Go with Scott!

Thank Escher_Oenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranarun, Owner at Trail Discovery Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind comments, it was a real pleasure taking the 2 of you out with the others to Joshua Tree Nat'l park. It's always a great validation to hear compliments from experienced travelers like you, that what we do here at Trail Discovery is making a lasting, positive impression on others.
Hope to get the opportunity again! Scott 2

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 68 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Scott took us on an extraordinary 5 hour hike through the beautiful Indian Canyons to 7 Sisters. We loved the time he took to explain the environment, focusing on not just the sights, but also the smells. Beautiful.

Thanks for the invigorating day Scott! It was the highlight of my trip.

Thank Oneoffourteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranarun, Owner at Trail Discovery Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Hi,
It was great taking the 2 of you on a good, workout hike. That morning air, along with the great views & a couple waterfalls are hard to beat! If it gets too cold in NE. remember, the desert is just a plane ride away!
scott 2

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Me and my partner read about Scott's guided hikes on tripadvisor before we went on holiday to California and from the moment we made contact with him and got the first email reply, we knew that we had made the right decision to spend part of our precious holiday time having a guided hike with him. He recommended places for us to visit by ourselves whilst on holiday (which proved to be great tips) and suggested he started our guided hike off with a general orientation in his jeep to Palm Springs given we would be meeting him on our first full day there. We took up his suggestion to do the Murray Canyon Trail in the Indian Canyon and we had a fantastic time exploring the nature and enjoying the scenery of this beautiful area and he answered all of our questions about the wildlife, fauna and history of the area in an informative way with lots of humour. He also took us on a detour on the way back to our hotel to show us more sights which finished off our experience in the perfect way. People can do the trails by themselves without a guide but the experience would be completely different and they are definitely missing out!

Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranarun, Owner at Trail Discovery Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Thanks for that sincere review, it's always a real pleasure to contribute to others enjoyment & hopefully help re instill our "sense of wonder"!
Hope we can do it again!
scott 2

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Scott is a consummate hiking guide. He took us through the Agua Caliente Canyons where we did a little trail, cross-country and bouldering. What an amazing experience! We had no idea that there was so much beauty and history so close to dowtown Palm Springs. Scott really helped us get the most out of the experience by providing us with a historical, cultural and botanical account of our surroundings. He is very well-versed in all three areas. We will definitely hike with Scott again and recommend that you do too if you truly want to experience the outdoors in and around Palm Springs.

1  Thank JMandelbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranarun, Owner at Trail Discovery Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Hi,
Thanks very much for your kind compliments, I really enjoyed taking you out to that magical area of the Indian Canyons, look forward to other adventures!
scott 2

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Scott took us on an amazing hike through Indian Canyon! He suggested taking the Murray Canyon trail which turned out to be a perfect hike for both of us. We crossed the desert floor then slowly descended into a beautiful canyon. The canyon floor had a picturesque stream flowing through it and we crossed it many times. We eventually wound up at a 30' waterfall where the hot desert air immediatly turned to a much cooler atmosphere. It was as if someone turned on the air conditioner! Scott shared some wonderful info about the the many lizards, birds, and such with us as we hiked along the canyon. He was mindful of our capabilities and made sure that we had plenty of rest stops, which he used to talk more about the canyon. Thanks again Scott for a unforgettable experience! We will surely use him again on our next visit to Palm Springs!

3  Thank Beegsmom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranarun, chief guide at Trail Discovery Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Thank you for your words, I always enjoy taking folks like you out who appreciate the beauty of nature & like learning about their surroundings. Love that cooling effect of that waterfall!
scott 2

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail Discovery Hiking Tours also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Trail Discovery Hiking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing