We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
POSH Palm Springs Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My partner and I were so happy to have stumbled upon POSH, which I found by doing an online search while planning a 3-night, mid-week visit to Palm Springs. It's small - 10 rooms - all positioned around a private courtyard with a nice pool and spa - with kind of a relaxed, retro-chic appeal. The innkeepers, Suzy and her son Jeff, were just about as hospitable and welcoming as humanly possible, providing snacks and cocktails in the late afternoon and a wonderful full breakfast in the morning. It's an unpretentious, friendly place - so you don't feel like you're walking on egg shells - instead it's like you're with friends and family. Our room itself was very nice - clean, comfortable, well appointed with free snacks, free bottled water, plenty of towels, heavy robes, and other amenities you'd expect to find in a nice hotel. And the price was great. While tucked away in a quiet neighborhood, It's a short walk to downtown Palm Springs, a bonus since we spent one whole day without driving anywhere. Will definitely be back and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ermiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanantal, Owner at POSH Palm Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Thank yoiu so much for your lovely review. We try very hard to please our guests and to provide a POSH experience for all. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Suzy Antal
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 419 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

Been deliberating on writing this as I live by the motto that "if you don't have anything nice to say than don't say it at all." But after the way we were treated by this establishment and the fiasco I had to go through I feel it necessary to address.

My wife and I were visiting Palm Springs for the 1st time in late October of 2011. We were excited to take a road trip from Las Vegas to California and relax for the weekend. We did some research on the hotels in the area and came across Posh. It had great reviews and looked interesting so we went for it.

We wanted some extra space and reserved one of the Posh suites on Priceline.com. Everything with the booking went smooth and we received a confirmation for our suite via Email. On the morning of our check in date we departed for Palm Springs (about a 5 hour drive). At some point early in the afternoon a rep from Priceline called our house phone (hours after we had left for Palm Springs) and left a message stating: "The owner of Posh just let us know that your suite room is not available and they have one basic room left if you want it?"

Keep in mind this came in hours after we left and were on our way (on the day we were to check in). So we never got that call.

We pull up to the hotel (that looks more like a motel) in a quiet residential neighborhood and all the spaces are filled directly in front. So while my wife waits in the car parked illegally across the street I walk up and ring the doorbell. Guy answers (w/o a shirt and barefoot) and opens door. Checks me in, gives me key and walks me to my room. I am expecting a suite still. No mention of the room not being a suite. So I am a little shocked at how small the room is.

Spot finally opens for parking, park the car and my wife joins me in the room. The both of us notice that the room is NOT clean and covered in dust. The clock radio is not plugged in and when I squeeze behind bed to plug it into the one electrical outlet I find more dust and some candies on the floor (that look like Mike & Ike's). So room was not cleaned properly from previous guests. In addition the main door does not make a tight seal when shut all the way and there is a gap in-which light shines through and pests can crawl through at will. Sink at the kitchen is also clogged and bathroom door wont shut properly. Wife thought bathroom looked dingy. Was not a pleasant find after a long road trip. ((I have photos attached of this below))

So I am starting to get mad and I figure out that this tiny room is not the room we reserved on-line. I go back to the front office, shirtless guy says he is the owners son and calls his mother on the cordless phone to talk to me. Hands me the phone and owner Susan is sort of defensive, says that she had no suite rooms available and blames the error on Priceline. Almost speaking down at me says that my issue is not with her and call Priceline. She understands if I don't want the room etc.

So I call Priceline, the rep laughs when I tell them what the owner has said and they say that it is up to the managers / owners at the properties to update their inventory w/ Priceline (and similar websites). Says that this owner had the suite available and reserved it to me fairly. Also says she probably had someone arrive and offer more for the room or a guest extend their stay another night. Either way we get screwed and no suite for us!

So we decide to leave. After hours of calling around and finding no occupancy in town we are lucky enough to get a suite at The Riviera (beautiful property). The room is about $75 more a night. Priceline apologizes, agrees to honor the booking and reimburse us for the extra cost and we move hotels and try to save he weekend.

So we get home and I fill out all of Priceline.com's paperwork so I can get reimbursed for the extra cost to move hotels. It takes over three months to get the $150 sent to me. The issue according to Priceline management is that Posh is refusing to do the right thing and pay the extra costs associated w/ moving hotels. Priceline (Bookit.com) says they are ignoring their messages and finally sends payment from their own account. Money arrives four months after we visit palm Springs and after I have to call them 15+ times. Major hassle!

Overall a bad experience and ruined our first day in Palm Springs. Thankfully we saved it w/ nice stay at another hotel. I really don't see what all the hype is about and hope that this review saves other people from the hassle we went through.

Room Tip: Maybe call hem directly as they seem to give their own booking priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanantal, Owner at POSH Palm Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

I always want to take the professional high road when responding to a negative review. In the industry we all receive them time to time, however, this review is a travesty and I feel it needs to be addressed.
First and foremost, I would never favor our own bookings as you refer to them over a booking from a service such as PriceLine.com.
What you do not undestand is that we subscribe to these services and thus look forward to the bookings they provide. That being said, frequently we have overbookings that occur and according to our contractual agreements we must provide a like experience or provide alternate arrangments for the guest. In this case when you booked with them I Immediately informed them that we did not have the accomodations that you were looking for. Priceline told me that they had tried on several occasions to reach you via email and telphone to inform you of this to no avail.
Please understand that we as the hotel are not provided withcontact information and cannot reach you ourselves.

When you showed up to our facility we informed you of the situation and tried to provide you with a Kinfg bedroom and you did not want that. NO PROBLEM. When you became angry my son called me to handle it and I tried to facilitate the situation and you were not interested in what I had to say.

We understand how this can be dissapointing to a guest. I let you out of your reservation and since you had paid directly to Priceline for the deposit it requires me to arrange with them to return it to you.
I was upset that you went to a much more expensive hotel and Pricekline expected me to pay for the increase in room charge and for all of your travel expenses etc. I had a problem with them because I felt that they dropped the ball. This is between me and my guest service coordinator with Priceline.
I did in fact reimburse you and the situation was dropped. You did not stay at our hotel even for one night so I find it hard for you to critique me or my son or the facility since you were angry and here less than 5 mins. tops.
As I will always say, we cannot please everyone ALL the time although we would love to be able to do so. I thinkl as a guest you are much better suited to a large hotel experience as you ultimatley ended up doing. Incidently, we provide parking for 25 guests and we had 15 here at the time I am sorry that we did not have a space readily available for you when you arrived I don't understand this complaint.
Thank you for your input.
Sincerely,
Suzy Antal
Owener

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The web site and the brochures paint POSH Palm Springs as a luxurious haven with impeccable service, accommodations, and food. Despite the glowing assessments of my fellow TripAdvosors, I didn't find any of it.

Arriving after 5pm, I found the place locked up with an envelope taped to the front door giving me instructions. It was dark, and there is no light at the front door to see how to get in. The facility itself is painted gleaming white and nicely arranged. It is an aged motel that has been restored. The room I stayed in was small. The place was furnished with an eclectic collection of stuff that was obviously picked up from many sources. The room was dirty. There was a dirty clock radio on the night stand, however, there was only one electrical outlet, so I had the choice of the clock radio or the light on the night stand, not both. The mattress was an inexpensive uncomfortable item that just didn't fit the POSH image.

The bathroom was inadequate. The sink stand was too small to lay out any utensils. The soap, so small that it was a joke. Heating and AC are provided by a window style unit.

Breakfast was good, but not exceptional. There were beach chairs to eat at, but it was clumsy and very uncomfortable. The "spa" consists of the pool, and a hot tub. Rooms in the rear were near the pool machinery which was noisy.

The staff spent the absolute minimal time in the facility. At 5pm, they were gone.

This was prime season. Occupancy was low, and I can understand why. This is not a repeater.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the rear, as they can be noisy due to pool machinery, or late night hot tubbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanantal, Owner at POSH Palm Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

I am very sorry that you were so dissapointed in your stay at POSH. As I am sure you realize, we cannot please everyone dispite the fact that we try very hard to create a wondereful experience for all of our guests.
We have never had a guest complain of our facility being dirty. This is more disturbing than anything else you mentioned. We clean each and every room top to bottom daily and did not realize we had missed dusting the clock.
As far as our facility being an older building, Yes! We cherish our vintage buildings here in Palm Springs and relish in the fact that we don't simply tear them down for new square boxes. It is a unique experience to stay in a vinatge boutique hotel and an acquired desire. Our hotel was completely refurbished top to bottom in 2009. We receive accolades daily for our design and decorating.
I Cannot help it if the food was dissapointing. Again, we can't please all.
Regarding your comment about us leaving early daily. There is no place to live on property and we provide check-in times for our guests so we can be here to acclimate them to POSH. If you arrive later in the evening we try to reach you via phone but sometimes are unable to do so. We have found that this is the easiest way to receive our late arrivals.

Thank you for your comments, we will take all into consideration and try to provide the best service and experience we can for all future guests.
Sincerely,
Suzy Antal
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I were looking to get away for a "baby moon" a few months before life changes as we know it. :) Not only was the hotel immaculate, owner Suzy along with her son Jeff went great lengths to make sure our stay was incredible. They serve breakfast in the morning that is delicious, and cocktails around a firepit for happy hour. Great conversation with everyone there, and already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsellers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

WIll keep this review short....
Simply stunning boutique hotel, everything is great, thepeople the hotel, the rooms what more could one ask for.

Cannot wait to go back another time for a few more days...... love it.

Mark

Room Tip: all rooms are great and infividual.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Beautifully appointed room, comfy king-size bed and lovely pool. Wonderful hosts who go above and beyond to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The best part is the five-star full breakfast each morning. Happy hour with wine and cheese is an added bonus. Close to the trendy artsy downtown with excellent restaurants, I would highly recommend this charming accommodation and we definitely would love to go there again.

Room Tip: Couples can have a king room or, if you're travelling for a girls weekend for example, you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanantal, Owner at POSH Palm Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Suzy Antal
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Really lovely place run by charming and friendly people. Happy Hour drinks and delicious goodies included, as well as a great breakfast – just be there on time so it doesn't run out.
Very few rooms so it was a really private but still friendly atmosphere.
Rooms and especially the bathrooms are a tad small but doesn't matter because everything else is so nice. Great place to just chill...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalalandonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
762 reviews
2.7 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#7 of 74 in Palm Springs
349 reviews
2.7 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POSH Palm Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POSH Palm Springs Inn

Address: 530 E Mel Ave, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: $161 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — POSH Palm Springs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POSH Palm Springs Inn, the deserts friendliest boutique inn where POSH is being redefined as PersOnable Service & Hospitality. Located near the Uptown area, we are close to vibrant downtown Palm Springs with its sumptious dining, shopping and cultural activities. POSH boasts 9 rooms, including 6 Deluxe rooms, 1 mini POSH suite and 2 POSH Suites. All are luxuriously appointed and beautifully decorated. Huge pool and new saltwater spa complete this POSH experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your POSH Palm Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posh Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing