We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to unwind and relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
POSH Palm Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A place to unwind and relax!”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Every year my husband and I go to Palm Springs for a mini getaway for our anniversary. We like to stay at small quaint hotels for some needed R&R. POSH is a small quaint B&B that gives you total R&R. We were lucky enough to be the only guests for 2 days so that made it even more perfect. Suzy and her son, Jeff, were gracious hosts and impeccable cooks. Breakfasts were hearty and scrumptious. So hearty that my husband and I were still full that we didn't even go out to lunch. We just stayed poolside until happy hour which was delectable with wine, cheese, crackers, grapes, strawberries and yummy POSH martinis. Jeff even made some chocolate chip cookies for us. We stayed in Room #8 which was cozy and tucked in the corner for even more ample privacy. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    45
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
22
291
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is our 4th visit and the only place we come in PS. We drive 5 hours once a month and it's so worth it. The rooms, breakfast, cocktail hour and the pool are great. Jeff, Jennifer and Suzi are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Before this guest house became Posh, it was a hotel for "bears" (large and hairy gay men). It was not very successful, and was rundown and went into receivership in 2009. This was when the new owners came across it, bought it and did major work to create a very pleasant, bright and comfortable guest house.

The name POSH, according to the materials in the room, was inspired by the old nautical practice in days before jet travel when those with money would book cabins on Port side on the way out and starboard on the home run: Port Out, Starboard Home (so you got the most sun). The aim of the owners is to create a place that feels up-market.

The overall look and feel is good. They have done a good job at making it bright, clean and looking good. There are 10 guest rooms, including larger suites with their own kitchen (like room 6 which we stayed in).

POSH is in a good location, down a quiet suburb street. It is also very accessible to the main centre of town and also to attractions like the Aerial Tramway that takes you up to the Jacinto State Park. You do need a car though as not really walkable, especially when in the heat of summer.

The overall attitude and approach is relaxed from the owners, and they are available if you need them - but largely make things informal. So don't expect a lot of visible service and attention

When we arrived they were out, but left envelopes on the door for arriving guests with the code and some instructions. So we settled ourselves in, which was fine. The informal approach runs through, including even not having to check in formally at any point.

Positives
Rooms. They have done a good job at creating a "wow" factor in the rooms. I suspect they did not have a huge budget but have used imagination and style to create slightly quirky, but appealing looks. The Room 6 we stayed in was especially good as slightly away from the pool, and large with a dining area and kitchen. The rooms by the pool seemed small and compact.
Breakfast. There is a big breakfast spread from 9am to 10am. There is always fruit, bacon, sausage and then a special of the day.
Pool The pool is a good size, and has a nice deep end (about 8 feet deep) and is kept at a constant temperature, so nice and cool. We have stayed at another guest house at the same time of the year (mid summer) and the pool was too warm. Here it is nice and refreshing all day.
Drinks. There are free sodas, water and in the evening they have a cocktail hour where they make a signature Posh Cocktail. You can also have wine, and they have some snacks and cheese.
Free wifi. This is a plus, and is fairly fast. It did seem a bit directional, and we did not have a signal in our room and noticed that most people would sit outside their room on their laptops/ iPads to get the signal.

Negatives
People! As it is an intimate small resort, there is a risk (like at any guest house) that there may be rowdy weekender group or Hen party that hog the pool and get a bit loud. When we were there we had a bit of that on the Saturday, but only after the owners left at around 4pm. But they all headed out and so things were quiet after that.
Rooms are very bright as thin curtains or blinds (and of course lots of bright sun!), so if that troubles you bring along eyeshades (and maybe earplugs if you worried about the point above!)

We had a good time here and enjoyed the resort and informality. Luckily for us on our 3 nights, we just had the one late afternoon/ evening where we had slightly rowdy guests versus the more laid back time the rest of the stay. But is always a risk at guest houses when you are up close and in a smaller environment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bembridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

After reading the great reviews and hearing from friends who have stayed at POSH we decided to book with another couple for July 4th weekend. We took the last 2 rooms available --one was a suite with 2 beds and the other was a king bedded room. The other couple took the King Bed which I am glad they did.

The King Room (called Spicy) on the website, was VERY small. Barely enough room to walk around the bed. Our suite was at the far end and shared only one wall with another guest which was nice. The rooms are charmingly decorated but be cautioned, this is an older property that still needs some work.

Ofcourse we selected a scorching hot weekend to stay at POSH and in the suite -- although it was spacious -- the small air conditioning unit just couldn't keep up. It ran all night and it was still way too hot to even have a sheet on.

The suite comes with a kitchen but its very tight -- couldn't even open the refrigerator all the way without hitting the sink cabinet opposite of it -- but it was great to have for drinks and snacks.

POSH specialty martinis were served by the pool the first day -- and if you like sweet pink drinks -- you will probably love them! Wine was also served -- not to our liking, but that's a personal preference. There was an assortment of appetizers as well -- just too hot to eat them really. (warm cheese slices just isn't very appetizing)

Breakfast is buffet -- not at all plated like the website represents...and there is very little table seating if you want to dine at a table and chair instead of a plate on your lap on a pool lounge chair. If you want breakfast it is served between 9 and 10 -- show up at 9:30 and its picked over. First day the food was adequate. The second day breakfast had fruit that seemed old -- tasted odd like it had been sitting in the fridge cut up too long.

There were big pool towels in a help yourself linen closet in the courtyard -- which would be nice if there were actually towels stocked there -- each day everyone left their towels at the pool and those same towels were by the pool the next morning -- very messy and a but unclean for my tastes. Towels were eventually collected and fresh towels brought out around 10 or 11 am.

Pool was a bit murky -- and tile was extremely dirty -- and I'm talking months, not days of scum/dirt on the pool tile -- enough drinks in you and I suppose you ignore it, but that is one thing I think POSH needs to improve -- maintenance.

There are no speakers or music by the pool--- there is a flat screen tv in the self serve food area where breakfast and happy hour is served and it was on all day with the Casey Anthony trial.

Very eclectic group of guests -- European, gay, young, old, singles and couples. Everyone was very low key and quiet. The hosts are friendly and hard working.

Would we stay at POSH again, yes, probably. The reason for this review is to temper a bit all of the RAVE reviews -- its fine for what it is -- and its reasonably priced for Palm Springs. But it certainly is not the luxury or quality that I've read here on Trip Advisor. I would say if you want a quick, inexpensive getaway or if you have a group of friends that you want to get together this would be a fine place.

It would be an awesome place deserving of more kudos if it was better maintained and some of the small details were addressed.

Room Tip: Go for a suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelwriterwannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at Posh and really enjoyed the Inn. We are a gay couple and were treated with respect and a very accepting staff. The owners (Suzi & Jeff) were both very friendly and provided excellent service. We really enjoyed speaking with both of them and appreciate their hard work to make this a wonderful boutique Inn. Sandra in Housekeeper did an impeccable job of keeping our room clean and tidy and kept our refreshments in the room fully stocked. We really enjoyed the breakfast & Happy Hour daily and looked forward to the wonderful food each day. We will definitely return to Posh in the future! We highly recommend Posh!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevephoenixarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Unfortunately, we were disappointed when we arrived at POSH. First of all, it is an interesting choice of names, as the property is fine but far from "posh!" The owners are nice and try really hard, but the use of glass aound the pool area ruined the weekend for us. There was broken glass everywhere from the winds, and the slivers presented a real danger., We didn't even go in the pool as the probablity of broken glass was too high. The pool area could definitely use more plants to fill in the voids and the common area could use some de-cluttering! The rooms are small but nicely decorated. The place has a lot of potential but misses because of the glass, the lack of greenery around the pool, and the clutter. I hope that they make these changes and turn POSH into a more comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: It could be so much better with some simple improvements
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank salliebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I read the reviews on TA before booking and POSH did not disappoint! It is a very intimate environment, so if you want the ultimate privacy, this isn't for you. That being said, Susie was engraciating without being intrusive. Her son Jeff was lovely and accomodating. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was a nice treat and the cheese and crackers in the afternoon were gourmet and delectable and not just some stuff thrown together. The room we had was small but we found the wet bar to be useful and appreciated. Having water and sodas available during the hot weather was a nice amenity. We chatted with some lovely people from Canada and enjoyed the morning in the pool both days we were there. I would definitely stay here again - Susie gave us an excellent deal and was a pleasure to work with. Very low key, perfect for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
2.7 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,889 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POSH Palm Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POSH Palm Springs Inn

Property: POSH Palm Springs Inn
Address: 530 E Mel Ave, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4831
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — POSH Palm Springs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POSH Palm Springs Inn, the deserts friendliest boutique inn where POSH is being redefined as PersOnable Service & Hospitality. Located near the Uptown area, we are close to vibrant downtown Palm Springs with its sumptious dining, shopping and cultural activities. POSH boasts 9 rooms, including 6 Deluxe rooms, 1 mini POSH suite and 2 POSH Suites. All are luxuriously appointed and beautifully decorated. Huge pool and new saltwater spa complete this POSH experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your POSH Palm Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posh Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing