We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay if attending events at convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Renaissance is the place to stay if you are attending events at the convention center. During the desert hot summer months, it is not worth it to drive any distance to another property. Having said that, the hotel is fairly nice. I stayed here 2 years ago and can see the carpets have been replaced but the hallways and doors have scuff marks so the overall impression is heavy traffic and a bit worn. If not here in the summer the pool would be very nice. Lobby is nice, room is clean. If you aren't using the convention center, there are many other beautiful properties in the area you'd probably want to consider. .

Room Tip: This is my second visit and the front desk will not give you a pool view room without an upcharge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveler222Irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that your stay went well overall. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I have returned to this property for the last several years to celebrate our anniversary and also experience the fantastically spectacular fireworks at the baseball field for the 4th...

The staff here tries very, very hard to accommodate the needs of what appears to be a fairly high maintenance crowd.

We arrived on a Wednesday and the place was practically empty...our best day there. Despite temps above 100, there was space at the pool for us to use an umbrella and the pool was crystal clear. We did notice many broken umbrellas which is unfortunate as they are already in short supply. Similarly, there were a few broken lounge chairs. The cushions on many if not most of the furniture is soiled and is in need of cleaning or replacing. Even the grout around the pool area is full of debris and feathers. I'm sure the staff does all they can do to keep up with the rush of people who come in for the holiday, but perhaps on slow days, a deep clean of the pool area would help keep up appearances.

The waitstaff at breakfast is very accommodating and even at dinner, they are very attentive. There are NO complaints with the food; we enjoyed the crab cakes and the fennel salad; both were tasty and well prepared and presented.

The rooms are comfortable, although the cleaning staff did not attend to our room until very late in the day; the grout in the shower needed attention, at least in our room, and again maybe because of the holiday, there were no washcloths and only two large towels....which was fine but we started off with four. This hotel might want to consider allowing Gold and Elite status members the option of earning points by foregoing the cleaning service each day. Then the delay in service wouldn't be so noticeable and we have no problem making our own bed.

On July 4th, the staff needed to clear the pool or adhere more closely to posted health regulations. Many patrons had drinks in the pool, no doubt spills occurred throughout the day. By noon the water was murky and it was so warm and without a huge influx of chemicals there were many microbes multiplying in the hot sun.

This property has a kiddie pool that is virtually unused. I am not sure it is because of its location or depth or cleanliness, but the large pool had SO MANY babies in it (some in swim diapers, some not) that without a dose of chlorine every so often (or time to allow the chemicals to work), we were all exposed to unsafe levels of bacteria.

Bottom line, people are rude and high maintenance. They expect 5 star service regardless of the rate they paid to stay overnight and no amount of effort on the part of the management or staff will please them. There are some that complain about everything and those people will never be happy regardless of where they stay. For the rest of us who deal with the above issues, we do our best to enjoy the short vacation from daily life. People who insist on carrying on a conversation as if they were in their own living room while the people lying on the lounge near them are trying to read or sleep or relax should not reflect on a hotel's inability to satisfy them....it's just the way it is. But I did see a manager go over to a woman who complained about an obviously overworked employee who didn't 'notice' her standing there to order a drink and she was ultimately comped two drinks. Give me a break - I'm sure she was noticed, but just not in the five seconds of standing at the counter to be served.

Aside from the above rant, this hotel needs a deep cleaning and repair work to warrant a return visit. The staff has done a fine job of overcompensating for the decline in the surroundings...we totally appreciated the popsicles on the 4th!! (we didn't appreciate the little kids who left their wrappers and sticks every where!)

Minor point: we did ask the front desk for a small tool to repair my husband's glasses; when we asked them they said they called our room repeatedly to tell us they did not have anything. No recommendation of where to go, etc. Interestingly enough, the next day in their small on site store, we noticed the tool among the needles and thread and dental floss. Oh well.

The chef who made our omelets on the 5th of July was seriously awesome, as was our waitstaff the entire time. The food quality and preparation at this location is deserving of 4 or 5 stars.

I don't think we'll return to this property based on this last experience.

Overall: average at best.....the employees are awesome though!

PS. When we checked out on the 5th, every single parking space had been taken and cars were parked on both sides of the fire lanes. Super dangerous and totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have really nice views of the mountains and large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear J.M. - Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear the positive comments about our staff. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed from Friday to Sunday and had a great relaxing time! Hotel was very clean and the staff both inside and outside were very accommodating from the time we drove up. Great for kids too, we brought ours. One server who really stuck out and you need to ask is "Fenito". I can't remember her last name, but she went over and beyond to help my wife, kids and I. We would come back to this hotel just based on our experience with her at the pool!

5 minute walk to the casino too if you have a baby sitter.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Jaafri,

Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the 4th of July. We will be sure to commend "Fenita" on going the extra mile for our guests to feel welcome.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Palm Springs convention center is attached to the hotel... The bulk of the shopping and restaurants are a couple blocks away. We were upgraded to a mini suite (low level Marriott rewards program...so gold/platinum status not required for a comped upgrade). Very good service level across the board, good deals in the bar during happy hour. Overall very nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear the positive comments regarding our staff service levels.

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Every step of the check-in process including the valet and bellman was very welcoming. We enjoyed the 4th of July weekend here and spent most of our time in the lovely big pool area. Yes, there were a lot of people, however we easly found loungers close to the pool and all the guests were very freindly. We also ordered lunch which was delivered quickly and was very tasty. This is our second time at this hotel and will be our first choice for return visits to Palm Springs.

Room Tip: In the hotter months get a room that faces east. The afternoon sun will overwhelm the AC for the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Couple_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Traveling Couple,

Thank you so much for the positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel three times in the past few months and LOVED it. The staff is great and very accomodating. The lobby, bar area, rooms and the pool area are beautiful. We had an issue with the a/c in our room the last time we were there and they paged someone and he arrived within minutes to fix the problem. We love spending time at the pool as they're always doing something to keep the area clean, with clean towels, and they also have a few hundred poolside chairs so you won't have any problem finding a place to sit. Would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the casino, downtown (check out Pinocchios for their bottomless champagne at breakfast and great bloody marys). And every Thursday night they have a street fair downtown with lots of vendors and tons of restaurants.

Room Tip: We like staying on any floor, but near the elevator so there isn't a huge walk to the pool and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that the wonderful comments regarding our spirit to serve our guests reflected during your stay and look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

4 high school girlfriends (in our 60s now) just enjoyed our 2nd three-night stay here. During our previous stay, we had walked the 3 blocks to downtown to eat, see the Follies, etc. This time we'd planned to go downtown again, for dinner and maybe to see a movie at the cineplex across the street, BUT, once we got settled in, we didn't want to leave. Really good food and drinks are available in the hotel restaurant, at the bar, and in the huge, beautiful pool area. The wait staff are friendly, courteous, and helpful, as are the front desk and housekeeping. They can't do enough for you. On our last day, we definitely intended to walk to town for dinner, but we'd found a poolside table in the shade that morning, spread out our game board, spent the day dipping in and out, and having too much fun to go anywhere else, so we had another lovely dinner (salmon) there. Would never stay anywhere else in Palm Springs!
(Note: I accidentally checked a rating below for the Spa and don't know how to erase it. We had intended to get massages, but didn't get around to it.)

Room Tip: We were "overlooking" the parking lot (which we chose for the lower rate), but it was love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 816CityWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your 5-star review. We are delighted to hear that our hotel had so much to offer for your party and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your next visit to Palm Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#29 of 74 in Palm Springs
413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: $147 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing