We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

As a gold Marriott member, was not impressed with what they said was an " upgrade" if this is an upgrade, I would hate to see what my regular room would have been. Did not feel this was a good value for what we paid. These are resort prices for a non- resort - there is no tennis- no golf and no spa. We felt obligated to stay here since my husband was attending a meeting at the convention center. Fitness center is adequate. Breakfast was good, but when we tried to have lunch, they were only offering a buffet- too much food for lunch. Had to pay too much for self parking. The best feature of this hotel is the friendly staff. Otherwise, not impressed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cactusrose3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott.

I am happy to read that you were pleased with the our staff service. We want to exceed our guest’s expectations and I am glad we did on most levels. My commitment is to work on any areas that any guest mentions. We could not improve or change without our guest’s feedback, so again, thank you so much for your review.

Thank you again for your loyalty to Marriott and for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    534
    245
    102
    76
See reviews for
337
505
65
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Rennaisance was enjoyed despite being extremely busy. Staff was busy keeping areas clean while food and bar lines were kept moving. Communication between front desk and housekeeping for available rooms could be improved. Otherwise, ambiance, room, food and service was commendable. I would return and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bajabob60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review on your recent stay with us at the Renaissance Palm Springs. As a Marriott, we always want to be sure that we go above and beyond in every aspect of the guests stay.

Thank you again for sharing and hope to see you soon during your next visit to the Palm Springs area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
390 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I only stayed one night and was pleased with a complimentary upgrade to a suite (I am Gold with Marriott, so that might of helped).

I didn't use the pool but had an balcony that overlooked it and it was beautiful.

I plan to return on my next visit to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scherzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your loyalty with Marriott and thank you for staying with us.
We hope to see you soon when you visit the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Finally, finally got to stay here after 5 years of bringing my teenage daughter to the cheer competition they host every super bowl weekend. I still don't know how I got a room since the rooms are blocked off for the teams/coaches a year in advance. But the location is beyond convenient since we didn't have to go anywhere but the connected convention center. Sweet! The lobby is gorgeous, pool area is gorgeous, staff is super friendly. My only complaints are that our group of parents likes to party. We wanted drinks. The problem is the bar doubles for some type of buffet/food line throughout much of the day. On a busy weekend like the one we come for, the line for the bar was literally an hour long at times because it was a bunch of teenagers and parents trying to get food. Then people would go to the bar and "cut" the line so to speak, mass chaos & confusion there. They have a connected outside bar but they would only sell smoothies. What??? Then they had zero wait-staff coming outside to take drink/food orders. I've been to some top resorts all over the world and I've never seen a place NOT want to make money off of guests who want lots of booze. It was like pulling teeth trying to get drinks here. Come on, it's super bowl weekend! I think the crowds just overwhelmed the staff. The staff was great though and did their best, especially Amanda in the bar. Now on to the room. The king bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and my daughter even thought the fold-out was comfortable as far as fold-outs go. Minor issues were the water from the sink was cloudy, the sink & tub didn't drain very fast (thus I was showering in 1-2" of dirty water) and the balcony had a cigarette butt left over from the previous guest. These little things were harmless and didn't bother me at all. Overall, a great property and with a little tweaking, will be a top notch resort!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lozaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to hear you finally had a chance to stay at our resort and your overall experience was spectacular. Thank you for your feedback, we cannot change or improve without your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again for the Cheer conference next year.
P.S. You do not have to wait a whole year to stay with us again, we would love a few visits from the family and you in between!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel two times in the past 3 months. We were exceptionally pleased with both of our stays. The lobby is spotless, as well as the rooms, and the hotel staff is spectacular. We were treated like royalty. Our Junior Suite was amazing and was a very reasonable. Both the Rocks Lounge and Date Restaurant were impressive and we found the food to be delicious and the presentation quite stunning. We will definitely return in the next couple of months. Although, the hotel is pet friendly you would never know an animal had ever been in there. Our pets thoroughly enjoyed being with us and even they were on their best behavior due to the sophistication of the hotel.

Green Features: We were extremely disappointed to find out the hotel didn't recycle. We ended up taking our glass bottles home with us. We're earth conscious.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Chad,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Our entire team strives to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel and I am delighted that we were just that. I am happy that is was a great experience!

We want to be sure we do whatever we can to not only meet but exceed your expectations. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I hope to see you during your next stay in the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

As I've shared before, this by far the very best place to stay in Palm Springs. Every time we return, it only gets better. We arrived early and our room was not ready as the hotel was fully booked. No problem, we left our bags with the front desk walked the 3 blocks to downtown. They call after a few hours and gave us a very nice room with a great view, as always. The beds are the best, but even more so, the date restaurant servers, remembered us from previous visits and even remember our likes and dislikes. The breakfasts are always great, we had Eggs Benedict the 1st day and steak and eggs, the 2nd day. As always their food was fantastic. Enjoyed the pool area, as it was 84 degrees in Jan (who wouldn't love it). Nice pool attendant kept our glasses full. In short, this is our home away from home and as we travel here 4 -5 times a year, the Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel will always be our residence.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dablab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Dablab,

I was delighted to read your review and wanted to sincerely thank you choosing to stay with us each time you visit the Palm Springs area. I know each of our team members want this to feel like your home away from home and we will do our best to go above and beyond to ensure you have a productive and wonderful experience. I will be sure to share your review with our entire team.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We know we will see you soon and look forward to thanking you in person! Again, thank you for making us your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed in the hotel last weekend for a forum being held In the conference area. Although I arrived prior to check in time, my room was ready and I was able to spend some extra time settling in. The room was clean, roomy and comfortable with crisp white linens and thick white towels. The pool area is lovely and both the bar and restaurant have nice seating areas outside. We spent 20 hours total in the conference area over the weekend, which was quiet and well air conditioned. The staff in the hotel, conference area and restaurants were particularly welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies that overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am delighted that you were impressed with the hotel and that our team really went above and beyond to ensure you had a great experience with us.

I will be sure to recognize our whole team for their great service and spotless accommodations. They will be thrilled with your comments as well.

Thank you again for choosing the Renaissance Palm Springs. We hope to see when you return to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#18 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Property: Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing