We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Family Vacation-Iffy for a Quiet Place to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County,CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for a Family Vacation-Iffy for a Quiet Place to Relax”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stay at 3-4 different Renaissance properties a year for business and vacation travel. I would rank this one as "average" compared to other Renaissance properties and the price you'll pay. On this occasion, my stay at the Renaissance-Palm Springs was for business. On the plus side, my room was large and could easily accommodate a family of four. It had a large living room with a pull-out couch and a good desk for working. It has a large pool and the gym was adequate for a standard work out. On the downside the room looked a little "tired". The carpet was a bit worn and furniture a little dated. I ordered room service for dinner and my turkey club was "okay" and the fries were cold-not to the standard of room service meals I've had at other Marriott properties, in particular a Renaissance. The property was a little load, but I would attribute that to the beginning of Spring Break (lots of kids) and convention people. As the title of my review indicated, if my kids were still young I could see spending a few days with the family here. If you're looking for a quiet place to relax, you might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJSOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your last stay and for choosing the Renaissance Palm Springs for your lodging needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    555
    258
    105
    82
See reviews for
358
522
67
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for a family vacation and did enjoy our stay with no issues, but I just felt there were some areas where this resort didn't hit the mark. Here is my review:

Staff/Service:
Everyone was helpful and friendly that we dealt with. I called down to the front desk with some questions and they were answered correctly and professionally. The waitresses at the pool and restaurant were nice and hard working. The rooms were stocked properly, and kept clean although I did have to order clean sheets for the pull-out bed because they appeared dirty.

Facilities:
The lobby was nice and open with a bar and lounge area with plenty of TV's. I used the exercise room which was adequate. The pool area was well stocked with towels and clean, with the exception of the green pads on the chairs which really need some attention. Our room was on the 4th floor on the side that overlooked the pool, but over the restaurant area's roof - not a great view, but not horrible. So, my biggest complaint was with the very thin walls. I could clearly hear conversations in the rooms next door to ours. Also the room doors were extremely noisy.

Restaurant/Bar:
We ate in the restaurant once and at the pool once. The restaurant food was okay, and the pool side food was not very appetizing. They also need a real kids menu. If you order drinks stick with beer or wine. The cocktails tasted fine, but were so lacking in alcohol you would have to drink $100 worth to get a buzz.

Location:
We didn't walk downtown, but it was close enough that you could. There is a movie theatre across the street and a great deli nearby, but not much else. The hotel is connected to the convention center if that is the purpose of your stay.

Overall:
This is a hotel that could be closer to a 4.5, with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustensai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for detailed feedback and for making the Renaissance Palm Springs your choice for your lodging needs in Palm Springs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This Renaissance gets better over the years. Stay here annually each spring for a large convention, and I am happier each year. The toiletries are now one of my fav brands - Aveda, so that is a great start. The rooms are perfect for business travel - lots and lots of outlets spread all over the large room. The bathroom is large with above average light and plenty of counter to spread out. The only cons are the rooms seem a tad dark to me (kinda common for Palm Springs from my experience), and the hotel dining rooms were totally overwhelmed by conference attendees at lunch breaks. My recommendation for management is that they check to see when the adjoining Conference Center breaks are and add more staff. I felt badly for the wait staff; they were very nice but totally inundated. Location is good overall, with nice pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nubusniesstrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback and for making the Renaissance Palm Springs your choice for your lodging needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The only thing that we did not enjoy about this hotel was not even their fault, too many ill behaved children and with poor parental supervision!! This is inside the hotel, out by the swimming pool it get s much worse! The hotel itself was very nice and clean and staff very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodelkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a pretty standard Renaissance property with recently renovated and updated rooms and lobby. The pool is large and there are plenty of lounging areas to relax in. Service is mediocre but what do you expect from this chain. There are plenty of other boutique hotels in Palm Springs I would've preferred to stay at but we couldn't get a room during the Indian Wells tennis tournament so we settled for this place. Self parking was an additional $10 and if you get there too late, they run out of spaces forcing you to park in an auxiliary lot that is not far away, but is a little difficult to get to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moving_furnisale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back after your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Really nice lobby, but it goes downhill from there. We were upgraded to two Jr suites, and we were very disappointed. The rooms were old and not well-designed. There was a desk and couch in a kind of work area, and then a typical hotel room. I could touch the ceiling in the bathroom... Claustrophobic! One sink and tub shower with curtain and no hot water early in the morning...miserable. There was no safe and minimal drawer space. Didn't find the coffee maker til check out. I was told that I had a pool view, but the view was actually of the roof of another building. This hotel seemed like a depressing Hampton Inn to me.
The pool was nothing special - had lunch poolside which was average.
I called the front desk to ask to be moved, and was told that the rooms had been recently renovated, and that there weren't any nicer rooms. Period. We immediately began calling other hotels and moved after one night to the Riviera. The bellman Mark was very nice and talkative- very entertaining! Our bills were incorrect, but after about 10 phone calls, I got them straightened out. This hotel is definitely a business hotel, which works for work but not for play!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feed back from your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We will certainly discuss your comments with our staff in order to enhance the areas that we were lacking in.

We hope that you will return and allow us to try and regain your confidence.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We requested a "city view" room (and even double checked this in our written confirmation) and we got a "pool view" room instead. Also, service during this time was pretty poor.

That being said, the room itself was clean and nice and the grounds were awesome. This was a very busy weekend, so I am willing to forgive the lapses in service and the hotel itself was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you able to enjoy the amenities that we offer.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Property: Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing