We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Charge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Just make sure you don't give them a credit card you dont want to use for the "Hold". They will charge it even when you specifically ask them not to. They said it would just be a hold and not charged. Then they charged us again at the end. We got charged twice for the room ok, mistakes happen but trying to get it fixed was a nightmare. The front desk manager said he would take care of it first thing in the morning the next day, well when we called around 10am, they told us he didn't come in until 2:00pm. I guess his morning is different than mine. Service all around was terrible. From room service to restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just returned from a 4 nights get-a-way to relax. I chose the Renaissance because of its' location as well as the fact that I LOVE the beds at Renaissance. The hotel has just completed a huge renovation and is absolutely beautiful. One thing..if you have sensory problems with colors and designs..think twice because the colors are orange, red and brown. For me it was great but I know that is sometimes a concern. The beds were as expected..so comfortable. The room is equipted with a coffee maker, howerver, it is almost hidden on a low shelf next to TV. The bathroom is very nice with great water pressure in the shower. We enjoyed the pool with it's new chairs and cushions as well as the pool bar service. They have put in a couple of beautiful glass firepits neat the outside of the bar/lounge area. Nice to sit around in the evening with a glass of wine. It's about 1.5 miles from Palm Canyon Dr, however they have a shuttle that will take you anywhere in the downtown area. This was really nice in the evening as you could have dinner with wine then a nice safe ride back to the hotel. The staff is friendly and accomodating to your needs. We ate at Keisers Grill as well as The Chop House...both were excellent.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the pool with a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dotti143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

We are very proud of our renovation as well and are happy to read how you enjoyed our new look along with our staff and services as well as Palm Springs in general. Our Renaissance beds are great; many of our guests comment on them.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your comments. We look forward to being of service again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Being 'that guy' who researches everything to a fault, after reading reviews of this hotel, my wife and I decided to book a 5-day stay in January. Overall, this hotel is a great value if you stay Sunday through Thursday. Weekends are a bit steep at about $159 per night. There is about a 3 block walk to downtown Palm Springs and a casino but good separation from where all the action is. The room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the pillow-top mattress bed with lots of pillows. Had concerns about a previous review stating walls were thin with noise from neighboring rooms. Our room seemed quiet but there didn't appear to be anybody occupying the room next to us. The pool area is fantastic. Very large with heated pool and hot tub. Some remodeling is still in progress as a gas generator was being used which was excessively loud during one of our 'hang by the pool' days. There is a daily charge for internet access, however, some rooms are able to get the common area free access by connecting to the 'lobby' or 'meeting' wireless networks. Parking is $10 per night or $18 for valet. Employees are always very nice and greet you every time they see you. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room 4241 was great.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your "Great Stay in Palm Springs"; it was great being of service to you. We were delighted to read how our Ambassadors (that's what Renaissance refers to its' employees as) all engaged you throughout the hotel.

We appreciate you choosing our hotel and look forward to providing another "Great Stay" the next time you are in Palm Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at the Reaissance for four nights, the location of the hotel was great, You could walk to downtown in 10 minutes, or take the shuttle provided by the hotel. Thursday nights downtown Palm Springs has a local market, and many vendors are there with merchandise and food. The only con we had was that there was a conference going on at the same time we were there. This was sometimes a little overwhelming because they took over a lot of areas in the hotel, you may want to check before you book. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and very large for a downtown hotel. There is a large pool and a kiddie pool. We did walk just a couple of blocks down to a Deli (Shermans) it served breakfast,lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyerno.one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent trip to Palm Springs and for sharing your review of our hotel. We love to read how our guests enjoy discovering Palm Springs and all it has to offer.

When you decide to re-discover Palm Springs, it is our hope that you will again be our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Excellent hotel for many reasons. Updated rooms, fantastic pool, friendly staff, very helpful valets, pool and lounge area are best in PS. We were lucky enough to stay during PS film festival so lots of excitement. Parking at $10 is reasonable for a seattlite, paying for wifi isn't. So take a tablet. Only blemish was the room we booked, a studio suite, was not available and we had to accept a standard room, wasn't worth the argue on vacation.

Room Tip: Wait for a pool/mtn view room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunless_n_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

And we are looking forward to your return! Thank you for your most favorable review and we were delighted to read that you were here during Film Festival; any star sightings?

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Large, confortable rooms with all the up to date features. Reasonable prices.
Check in with a Marroitt Rewards Visa Card and get free internet.

Room Tip: get close to elevators or it can be a long walk
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butch14nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thank you for your favorable review of our hotel as well as being a Rewards member; we appreciate the loyalty to the Marriott brands.

We do look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stopped for an overnight stay on our way from Phoenix to LA. Our only regret was that our visit was brief!
Check in was friendly and efficient ~ wait was very manageable. Front desk accomodated our request of a top floor room, and the room was excellent. Very new, very clean!
Had no issues with thin walls, nor long walks to the elevator, as did previous reviewers. Very quiet, serene evening ~ and it was a Friday night!!
Superb Palm Springs location ~ close to shops and downtown eateries.
So you're not surprised, the only odd thing was the cloudy tap water ~ safe to drink, but hard to wrap your mind around (I always picture water as clear ~ go figure!!)
Solid choice for your visit to Palm Springs ~ we were NOT disappointed!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

We wish you had more than one night too! Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful review of our hotel and services. You are correct that the cloudy water we experience is safe; we simply have air in our lines that cause this.

Thank you again and we look forward to your planning a longer stay your next time in Palm Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 73 in Palm Springs
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: $126 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing