We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and "Palm Springsy"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trio Restaurant

Trio Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Trio Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 318 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Merito and Palm Canyon
Description: Since opening in 2009, Trio has generated recognition as one of Palm Springs top Restaurants and hot spots by numerous life style and travel publications and websites. The restaurant is also listed as TripAdvisor’s Top 10 Percent of Restaurants Worldwide, is a Zagat highly-rated restaurant, and has been local favorite since opening day. TRIO draws a diverse crowd all day long the eatery is often filled with “ladies who lunch” country club set who feel that Trio is worth the drive from other down-valley cities. Evenings draw group of every type of people from all age ranges. TRIO hosts corporate events, wedding rehearsal dinners, and bachelor and bachelorette parties. It’s one big party at TRIO. It can be a little loud with music and chat, but everyone has fun! It’s a place to come in, feel at home, relax and enjoy. Hope to see you soon.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent and "Palm Springsy"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had asked at a Rotary meeting that morning for a recommendation for supper, and a majority said Trio. When I told the desk clerk at our hotel that we planned to eat there, she said "It's really good and very Palm Springsy" - which I took to mean that it was a good place to get a feel for what Palm Springs is like. There are both inside and outside seating areas, which were very full the Tuesday night we were there. Our waiter and the staff were attentive without being annoying. We both had a wedge salad and ribs, which were quite good. The decor is attractive, and everyone around us was relaxed and having a really good time. It was a nice place for a romantic dinner or a small dinner group to have good food and conversation. There was a buzz, but it was not so loud that we couldn't have a pleasant conversation without shouting. If I'm back in the area with my wife, I think she'd really enjoy Trio.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KansanRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,726
    791
    303
    97
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Second review...We know they can do better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We know it can be better, cause we've had better here! The food was hit and miss with this visit. The apps. of calamari, salad wedge were very good but the pate was a standout! Sooo good! That's were things took a turn. We had a hard time getting our waiters attention. He seemed preoccupied with another patron. The entrees of seafood stew and pot roast were good but the shimp and pasta dish was underwhelming. The tuna when served was well done and tough! Tried to get our waiters attention about getting a replacement but he was nowhere to be found! Flagged down another server about the problem and they replaced the dish with a rare tuna steak cooked properly but it was so salty with whatever sauce it was cooked, it resembled eating salt from a shaker! The desserts were also hit and miss. The apple cobbler with ice cream was very good but the mocha chocolate cupcakes were so dry no one wanted to finished them. You can do better guys, we know you can!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely great birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Wow, tried Trio for the first time for a birthday dinner. Sat outside, absolutely beautiful.

We had the roasted half chicken and the shrimp with angel hair pasta. Both dishes were great. The wine list was well managed and we discovered a great new white that we will be trying to get back home.

Bronson was the best server anyone could ask for. This place is highly recommended, we will be back for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BryanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere with Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Trio is a bustling, well-designed restaurant with a good mix of locals and tourists. There is a separate bar area along with several dining areas inside and patio seating outside. The food, unfortunately, is really average at best. The ribs were overcooked and the sweet potato fries cold. Scallops had a cloyingly sweet glaze and the couscous they were served with was bland and without seasoning. Presentation of the food is also mediocre and just not well thought out given the price point they are charging. I am perplexed by all the high ratings this restaurant has garnered....I think the intense Palm Springs sunshine must temporarily sear people's brains and cloud their judgment .

Our waitress must have been new as she was completely frazzled and inept....sweet and nice, but inept. We waited a long time for each course, but the bus boy was on it and kept those water glasses filled. We were eager to get our bill and get out of there by the end of this disappointing experience. My advice is to look elsewhere at these prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjnla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant service, wonderful food, cool ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant. It feels just like iconic Palm Springs! Everything is exceptional - the service, the food, and the delightful ambience. It is very popular among locals but can be challenging to get into. Go early or wait - it's well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenieCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio Restaurant also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Trio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing