We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large and well-maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruth Hardy Park

Ruth Hardy Park
Ranked #26 of 119 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City park that offers public tennis courts and free classes to visitors.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large and well-maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We use this park's public tennis courts each time we visit Palm Springs. They are well-maintained and very popular, especially in the mornings. Lots of doubles. There are about 7-8 courts and they are all lighted. When people are waiting for courts, the "one set" limit seems to be enforced and people just choose a court and wait for it to open up. After playing one set, you can get in line for another court to open up if you want to continue playing longer. This only applies during busy times when people are waiting. The courts are much less busy in afternoons, if you can stand the heat!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    36
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go early to get a tennis court.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lots of courts, even more retired folk looking for a pick-up game. Prepare to have players enter and hang out in your court to inspire you to wrap it up OR be prepared to play doubles.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great use of green space.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This park has two sides. One has exercise equipment that gives me no end of entertainment while I watch my dogs clown around. I do cheat and take my dogs off the leash some here-I have to, how else can I use the stations?
Many of the other dog owners I meet there appreciate the cleanliness of the park. We are die hard 'baggers' and sometimes the dog park get a little too, too, used...there are so many dogs in this city and the park, although wonderful can feel small at times. This is a great place to meet friends and check out their Zumba classes. Five bucks!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xcacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It's a park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's a public park with grass, trees, playground. Just like I would hope you'd find in most places. Not sure what the big deal is about this park. Most cities with a decent tax base have parks in every neighborhood. Sadly it seems public parks and public outdoor space in general is virtually non-existent in the populated desert areas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank minicooperfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hardy park welcomes all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The large park features large expanses of grass ( with picnic tables and grills), mature trees, a play structure for children, a sand volleyball court, a basketball court, and most importantly for my purposes: eight tennis courts. Most dog owners keep their charges on leash, and picnic tables are distributed far enough apart to allow privacy, even among large groups. Tennis players need only bring a racquet, and will be integrated to the next open court of doubles.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kim u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth Hardy Park also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Ruth Hardy Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing