We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much like Mexican cuisine”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Margarita's Restaurant - CLOSED

Margarita's Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Not much like Mexican cuisine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The decor is reminiscent of something Hawaiian or Asian and the cuisine is not very tasty. Also the service was very slow even though there were not very many people there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank misplaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    45
    27
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not sure why this place is a favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place was highly rated so we decided to try it due to the 'happy hour' specials. I don't think $11 margaritas is any kind of special. The menu was confusing to figure out what was on special and what wasn't. I'd say pass on the happy hour. The mexican food was decent and portions were more than enough. But, I can't say I've ever had bad Mexican food before anyway. A family member had soup and sushi and she said it was just 'ok' (and she's Asian). There is a sushi bar and chef present. There was live music that was pretty good but we didn't stay long enough to really hear it. Overall, it's a decent restaurant but I don't think it's anything special.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccainlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican food !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great Mexican food! Went to Margarita's when I discovered my usual Mexican restaurant downtown closed and out of business. Was very impressed with the food. Had the chicken fajitas. Sizzling platter! Mom had the chile rellano. She said it was very good. As this is what she normally eats. Had a margarita and it was very good at a good price. Not overpriced at for food and drinks! Will be back for the yummy food ! I can't wait to see my friend Mark Guerrero on Fri/Sat nites for entertainment ! He's 1/2 of the singing duo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candyh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Drove past it several times and decided to give it a shot on our last night in town. It is Italian, Sushi and Mexican - this place has it all. We opted for Fajitas and it was good. Guacamole was really good and the chips were fresh.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScooterCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were 6 friends that went to Happy hour at the restaurant last night. We had several drinks and food. The restaurant was very busy, and when we got the bill, it turned out that we were charged the regular rate for the drinks and not the 1/2 price as noted before 7. PM. It took several tries before ( and 30 minutes later) we received the correct bill. We used to go to the restaurant all the time,but it will take a long time, before we go back. Too bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarita's Restaurant also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing