We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de los Desperados

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de los Desperados
Ranked #9 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Casa de los Desperados, wow... what a true gem! Nestled at the base of a hidden canyon, this property is a beautiful escape. It has recently been beautifully restored, with great attention given to design and aesthetic detail of the lodge. And there is a dead cool Airstream in which you can also stay! The food is fantastic and believe me, I've travelled far and wide and never found more thoughtful hosts. I will be back!

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
41
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We loved staying at B&B Casa de los Desperados! The beautiful sunsets, comfy bedrooms, delicious breakfast, hot tub, all while feeling as if you're far away from the daily stresses of life! You can totally unwind and relax there but you're also only minutes away from the Palm Springs night life, casinos, restaurants, spas, shops, Joshua tree or whatever your liking might be. We took advantage of it all, relaxed, hiked, shopped and dined in PS. Owners, Wayne and Michael were fantastic host. We'll be back soon!
Debi & Mark

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLR1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

What beautiful views, comfortable rooms, and great hosts. The breakfast is great, and I think someone else mentioned that you can also have dinner there, and it is well worth it. It is nice to be just the short drive from the village of Palm Springs. This is a very special place, and we hope to go back before too long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Absolutely loved this place. Had been to Palm Springs several times before (usually staying off the main road that goes through the centre of the town/valley), and we really enjoyed getting out of Palm Springs a bit to visit Joshua Tree park, or going up the cable car to experience a different cliimate.

This time around a friend recommended this new place, and we're so glad we chose it because it's run by two people who really understand hospitality (so everything is spotless, the decor/antiques inside the main house is amazing) - and food. (Wayne really is a talented chef). I was a bit worried it would be miles away from Palm Springs centre, but it's only a short drive so easily possible to get into town/airport (we flew in). There are a couple of places worth eating out in in Palm Springs itself (many more NOT), so speak to the owners here for good recommendations.

Highly recommend this place - as a couple living in an apartment in central London, one of the best things about Case los desperados was the peace and quiet - to be able to sit outside with a coffee and/or wine (usually wine....) without city noise was amazin, and a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Casa de los Desperados is quite simply a perfect escape from everyday life. The accommodations are wonderfully comfortable, the views are breathtakingly stunning, the energy is blissful and the hospitality is generous and faultless.

So much to do nearby from hiking to shopping or simply meandering through Palm Springs with its eclectic diversity. Alternatively, wander up through the Coachella Valley soaking up all its possibilities and amenities galore or even taking a drive to the scenic mountain area of Idyllwild. All awaits and nothing disappoints.

Casa de los Desperados provides an almost retreat like experience and there is little need to even venture far away simply soak up the natural enchanting beauty and surrounding vistas.
Enjoy a romantic dinner with dining at its finest, quite literally, from your hosts of Casa de los Desperados.

We loved it and cannot wait to return.

S & A

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This has been on of my most fasvorite B&B experiences. The owners are helpful, friendly and fascinating. The embiance is wonderful - clean, comfortable and cozy. The setting is amazing. One thing that you should not miss is the ooptional dinner service (at an extra charge-but worth every single penny!). The food was delicious and the conversation with your hosts delightful and stimulating - or was that the wine. Whichever it was don't miss it.
Can't wait to return and spend some more relaxing time in the mountains where you feel solitude but remain so close to the activity of Palm Springs itself.

Room Tip: The hot tub under the starry night sky should not be missed. Comfortable, cozy, classy and clean in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you really want to escape, clear your head, and eat some of the best food ever join Wayne and Michael at this remote sight that is only a 20 minute drive from Palm Springs!
It is quite and rustic comfortable and unique.

Room Tip: If the "big room" is available it is worth the little mark up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Le M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
10.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
9.2 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#6 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
9.4 mi away
POSH Palm Springs Inn
POSH Palm Springs Inn
#1 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
10.2 mi away
Casa Cody
Casa Cody
#7 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Desperados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Desperados

Property: Casa de los Desperados
Address: 11940 Whitewater Canyon Rd, Whitewater, Palm Springs, CA 92263
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious secluded bed and breakfast in a rustic setting! Gourmet food and wines with warm hospitality make this the perfect getaway. Clear blue skies and starry nights will make you want to stay forever!You are only 15 minutes from Palm Springs in a private canyon nature preserve. Owned by a professional chef, this intimate property features an antique filled lodge with only 3 ensuite rooms and 2 restored vintage aluminium travel trailers, a 1963 Airstream and a 1956 Silver Streak Rocket as additional accomodations. A most unique and delightful place to relax and unwind. Read, write, gaze at the stars. Hiking is in our own backyard as is terrific shopping and exploring all the desert has to offer. Please inquire about mid-week and seasonal price reductions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing