We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Until next time Palm Springs........”
Review of Avance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avance Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My Partner and I stayed at Desert Eclipse in October 2013. What a wonderful little Gem in the desert. We were picked up by Michael, one of the owners, from the Airport and brought a short drive to their little oasis. The resort although small, has a wonderfully warm feel to it. Everything was immaculate. Our room, number 6, had a large king bed with beautiful linens and the most lovely pillows. We also had a full kitchen and a private patio area to the back of the suite. Free Wi-Fi too. Leonard, another little Gem in the desert, who looks after all of the guest rooms, was just fabulous. He could not have been more helpful, always at hand to help with, extra towels, toiletries nothing was a problem. Michael and Scott are lucky to have him. Michael was always up at the crack of dawn to organise the breakfast area. There was a great range of continental foods on offer, fresh bagels, delicious muffins, cereal, and fruit, plenty to get you started for your day ahead. They have two Keurig Coffee machines, with a cupboard full of different types of coffee and tea, available 24hrs. There is also a fridge filled with sodas, run on an honors system, 50cent a pop. The courtyard style of the property with comfortable loungers and parasols dotted around the pool was perfect. There was no part of the day where you didn't get Sun. The gardens are very lush and beautifully manicured. The pool is delightful, it is salt water, no chlorine and large enough for the size of the property. All manner of relaxing flotation devices are available to use, to float your cares away in the pool. There is also a full size barbecue for use by guests. As I had let Michael & Scott know that it was my partner’s birthday when we were there, they very thoughtfully left the most delicious birthday cake in our room upon our arrival. Such a sweet and lovely personal touch. Desert Eclipse is a short walk to the centre of town, and within walking distance from the nearest drug stores and supermarkets.Ralphs is 5 minutes walk. One thing that newcomers to Palm Springs should know is that everything is close by. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay, to get away from the world, you can't go wrong with Desert Eclipse. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and made some friends along the way too. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.
Until next time Palm Springs......

Room Tip: We would recommend room 6, it has two large palms outside which are protected from the sun by white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We just spent a week at the Resort, first time visiting and will definitely go back. Michael & Scott are great hosts, the rooms are lovely and having kitchenettes are a bonus. Really enjoyed ourselves. Adam & Thomas

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Seven rooms are very clean and comfortable with salt water pool clothing optional sun bathing. Guests tend to be 30's and 40's and very friendly. Very nice continental breakfast with 24hr coffee and sodas. Parking in front of the resort and near several other gay resorts. I would stay again and also pet friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second visit, and as fine as could be; Scott and Michael are lovely hosts, helpful but not intrusive. We especially like the suites with a kitchen for lunch and some dinners. The place is impeccibly clean, and the guests tend to the classier side. The expanded continental breakfast is a fine addition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gymman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been traveling to PS for some time and have stayed at many of the local resorts. We stayed here based on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. The owners have taken care to create a comfortable and sophisticated resort with comfort and luxury in mind. The full kitchen in our room was well-appointed as was the room overall. The decor is clean and masculine. The beds are amazing and it's clear that they took extra care and expense to ensure a comfortable night's sleep. The Sferra linens were a treat.
We stayed in a pet room which was had a private patio and pet grass.
The pool deck is spotless and spacious.
We look forward to returning soon! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 4 offers a little more privacy than some of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCDan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here at the beginning of October for two nights. It was close to flawless. The rooms were well appointed and the beds were excellent. This resorts is on the small side but that is what made it perfect for me. The pool and hot tub areas were very nice and the place was spotlessly clean. The owners take pride in their property and it shows. The other nice thing about this property is that you are left alone. The staff is around if you need them but they are not obtrusive and in your space when you are trying to relax. I will stay here again when I visit Palm Springs.

Room Tip: The Breakfast Area is functional but very basis, plan on going out for Breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitsilanoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We usually stay in one particular resort in Warm Sands but on our last visit we found it rather tired and jaded so decided to try somewhere new on our latest visit and chose the Desert Eclipse.
We couldn't have picked anywhere better. The rooms were spotless, the grounds well maintained ( even though the breeze and leaves were driving Michael to distraction ), hot breakfast muffins and the best pool ever. We were fortunate enough to meet and make lots of new friends and the owners ( Michael and Scott ) were the perfect hosts.

The only downpoint - we have a eleven hour flight to LA and a two hour drive to get there otherwise we would be visiting every weekend.

Thanks to you both for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
1.3 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palm Springs
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.0 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avance Hotel

Address: 537 S Grenfall Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7618 (Formerly Desert Eclipse Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: $171 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avance Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Avance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Eclipse Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing