We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget motel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Tyne & Wear, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Budget motel in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2006

We stayed here for one night in February 2006 as part of an organised tour group.

Palm Springs is lovely and the weather (in Feb) was gorgeous!

The Comfort Inn is in a great location only a few minutes walk from downtown and a wide range of shops and restaurants (also 24 hour pharmacy right opposite).

We stayed on the ground floor (Room 142?). The room was ok - quite small, but clean. However it was very dark - even with the curtains open.

I've read previous reviews re: security and I have to say that I felt totally safe at all times walking around the hotel and nearby. It seemed a perfectly nice area to me and there were no 'undesirable guests!' Also pool area was fabulous.

The Comfort Inn is a budget motel in a great location. Don't expect luxury - but for a night or two to explore Palm Springs it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    148
    119
    69
    33
See reviews for
85
164
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2005

This Comfort Inn is your typical American motel. Three stories, exterior corridors and decent size comfortable and clean rooms. If you're looking for a luxury resort, this place isn't for you. But if you just want a comfortable place close to downtown and Arenas Road, this place is fine. Breakfast is nice and I had no problems during my stay.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2005

Stayed at this hotel on a thursday night, for a quick one night stay. Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Honestly cannot find one thing to complain about. Don't know what the heck the people below me are talking about!?

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank Admiral21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2005

Thanksgiving weekend in Palm Springs. My first visit. What a disappointment! Hotel front desk staff unhelpful and uncaring. Lots of noise from squeaky floors and plumbing, poor landscaping. OK free Breakfast. BUT Avoid if you can. Stay next door at the Best Western for same price and much nicer property, IF you really want to visit Palm Springs. But we were very disappointed with the whole city. Very rundown and does not live up to the the Glamorous reputation I expected. I will never return! Vegas for me next year.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

London, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2005

I stayed at this hotel - and have to go along with the negative reviews.

As for the room? Well the door didn't feel secure. As we were on the ground floor overlooking the carpark, this was not good. My wife refused to let me go out to the ice machine, this is how insecure we felt (see comment about the swimming pool). It was also cold - quite an achievement in California!

The coffee machine seemed to have bits missing (and we did not have a full set of creamer etc provided).

The toilet overflowed - given that others have commented on this, it seems it is a common (and untended) problem.

The pool and hot tub is nice - shame about the gang of noisy and aggressive drunks that were using a table outside (no-one from the hotel made any effort to have them removed), who seemed to think it was OK to make life uncomfortable for genuine guests using the facilities. Given that the gate to the pool is a simple latch, rather than key-activated, this did not leave me feeling comfortable when using it.

Breakfast was good - nice, wide ranging buffet.

Reception? Mixed bag - some were helpful, others less so.

Overall, of the six hotels I stayed at during my two-week visit to the USA, this was the worst of the bunch by a long way and I hope I will never have to use it again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BOBJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

Wow!!! What can we say! I went to Palm Springs knowing we had booked a '2-Star' hotel and was totally expecting a dump ... BUT we were pleasantly surprised to see a large, clean room with a nice bathroom and lots of clean towels. Plus we had a fridge in our room that was great and the hotel had 2 wonderful pools in the courtyard and 1 large jacuzzi tub!~ Everything was clean and comfortable - who says simple has to be a bad thing?
Would definitely stay here again because it was so close to the heart of downtown Palm Springs. Right around the corner from our hotel was all the great restaurants - our favorites were LG Prime Steakhouse, the Chop House and the Fisherman's Grill and Market! The best part was that my husband and I could walk everywhere from the Comfort Inn - which was a great thing considering we did alot of eating during our 8 day stay in Palm Springs! Lot's of great shopping in the area and the weather there in October was fantastic~! We had 100 degrees almost everyday of our stay! Great tan to come back to Canada with!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank culinarygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2005

We stayed here on the last night of our california/nevada tour, what a highlight & delight. Nice clean & airy rooms , lovely facilities 2 pools , exercise room ,laundry and a very nice comp breakfast.
It does not end there helpful staff , when i asked for a taxi to a mall some 15 miles away the staff member advised me to take the bus, the stop was only one block away, this turned out to be great way to experience palm springs and great value ($1).
The hotel is also in a great location for the price , we were able to walk to all the great restaurants on palm canyon drive , again only 1 or 2 blocks away.
All in all a great way to end our american adventure. Lovely

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
1.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#42 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
#39 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown
Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown
#47 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#36 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.2 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#14 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
Address: 390 S Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-7827 (Formerly Comfort Inn Palm Springs Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1958 as the Dunes Hotel, and once a great weekend to hangout for celebrities like Nancy Sinatra, Elvis, and the Rat Pack, feel good with a great book at the pool with breath taking view of the San Jacinto Mountains. The San Jacinto Mountains provide a scenic backdrop for many of the area golf courses. Four miles from Palm Springs International Airport. Location Located in Downtown Palm Springs, visit the Agua Caliente Cultural Museum, enjoy Palm Springs best of the best fine restaurants, night clubs, great music for all ages. Casino, also within 5 minutes to the world famous Palm Springs Aerial Tramway. Just 18 miles from Desert Hills outlet known for all the top name brands, features more than 180 designer stores like Nike, Saks fifth avenue, J Crew. Three blocks from Palm Springs Convention Center. Hotel Features Over 130 swaying palm trees. 129 rooms and meeting room. Two temperature outdoor pools and hot tub. A 24/7 fitness center and guest coin laundry, and coffee/tea in a common area are available 24/7 at this smoke-free hotel. Free upgraded continental breakfast for two daily, free Wi-Fi, free parking no resort fees. 24/7 business center, meeting room, and a children's pool are onsite. Adjacent to Rio Azul fine Mexican Restaurant & Grill, Ty Massage & Acupuncture and Rooster & the Pigs five star Vietnamese Restaurant. Room Amenities Rooms offer free Wi-Fi, coffee makers, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are among the other amenities that guests will find. Pool and Courtyard rooms with all the amenities and refrigerator. • Access via exterior corridors • Air conditioning • Cable TV service • Free newspaper • Free toiletries • Daily housekeeping • Desk • Free Wi-Fi • Hair dryer • Iron/ironing board • Flat screen Television • Free Showtime Nearby Things to Do The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the hotel; fees may apply. Every Thursday night enjoy walk to Palm Springs street fair, arts, crafts, music, food, greet outdoor life entertainment. Get around Palm Springs every Thursday – Sunday from 11am – 1 am just jump onto the Buzz free trolley at no charge. • Golfing nearby • Bicycle rentals nearby • Mountain biking nearby • Scooter/moped rentals nearby • Hiking • Spa Casino • Jeep Tours • Palm Springs Air Museum • Smoke Tree Stables Horseback Riding • Firestar tour adventure of star homes • Windmill Tours • The Living Desert Zoo Hotel Policies Check-in 3 PM Check-out Check-out time is noon • No Pets • You need to know Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Must be 21 of age to check in. Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for all charges. Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Hotel does not rent to locals. • The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for all charges must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. No cash at check-in. 2 elevators No rollaway/extra beds available Cribs (infant beds) available on request only For group and tour contact hotel direct. The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Palm Springs
Comfort Inn Palm Springs
Palm Springs Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing