We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim selection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Grim selection”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having had pleasant experiences at numerous Comfort Inns when traveling, I selected this location for a business trip overnight in Palm Springs . Thankfully, it was only ONE night ! From the rate "discussion" upon arrival , my pre-requested conditions (confirmed earlier with central reservations at a firm price) were ignored, and I was told that rooms of the type requested could ONLY be obtained by additional cost. That seemed outrageous as the hotel was not full ( or even close), and I walked by numerous suitable rooms en route to my far-away, very inconvenient location. Then, my room was a litany of bad conditions : chemical smells from new carpet. ( While I understand new carpets do smell...it seemed that there might have been rooms less chemically infused, or aired out prior to occupation. ) The tub stopper did not work properly, and the HOT-COLD shower handle was reversed, which could result in some dangerous temp conditions, had I not investigated before entering the shower..... right down to little things : missing basic items like tissues ( there were exactly 2 tissues in the box, no replacements), which would have been absolutely no big deal....except for the other things. I had to park in creepy parking in the far back section of the facility, enter into a darkened hallway (complete with large garbage cans),then take an old, rattling, dingy elevator . ALL of this, plus the bed was soft, uncomfortable and in need of being replaced - AND the heater unit was plugged into an electrical wall outlet which had a permanent, bright green light on it...resulting in a bright, green light shining into my room all night...plus, the GFI unit on another electrical plug just beeped on ( or off) several times during the night, unpredictable and unrelated to anything I could determine. PLUS, this room was an "adjoining " one, with neighbors whose sneezing and snoring were audible through the "adjoining" door all through the night as well. Totally strange and uncomfortable overnight at this facility. Must say that I will avoid this place in the future, and suggest you do the same !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    170
    136
    76
    40
See reviews for
102
186
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was surprised to read the previous review. For one thing, the room information book states that breakfast starts at 7:00AM, not 6:30, so one shouldn't be surprised that it wasn't ready at 6:45. We just stayed there last night, on Jan. 30th. This is an older hotel, but we found the grounds and hotel area neat and clean. The front desk people were very nice and helpful. It looks like they are in the process of painting and carpeting the rooms. Our king room was very clean and had new paint and new carpet. The furnishings were fine, for this price hotel. The mattress was comfortable and we had a quite nights rest. The breakfast had a large selection and was very good. A dinner suggestion......across the parking lot is a small restaurant called "Scandia". It was excellent. All dinners included soup and salad and was very well priced for the quality of food and service. (most entrees were $16.00 to $18.00)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skikingCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've never been in this area before and normally stay at Choice Hotel properties when I can. I will not go back for several reasons. The first thing I didn't like was the check in. Their system is very old. They still imprint your credit card. My card is one of the newer steel cards that you can't imprint so the clerk hand wrote ALL my card information on paper! This property in not clean and kept up, ( actually quite dirty). The room was just adequate at the very best. If it would matter to anyone, all rooms are entered from the outside. I left at 6:45 am and breakfast was not even close to being ready but advertise it at 6:30. Stay Away!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

White Plains, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Confort Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of famed Palm Canyon Drive, many restaurants and attractions, including The Fabulous Palm Springs Follies. It is also convenient to the Thursday evening Village Fest. The rooms are clean; the shower head was broken; older TV (but I do not watch TV when I'm there). Extra towels provided upon request; one has to visit the front desk for pool towels, a minor inconvenience. The laundry room is large and functional, with two washers/dryers. The hot tub was broken, but was repaired within a couple of days; the swimming pool was warm for swimming on cold nights (I was one of the few guests who used the pool everyday). Temperatures were unusually cold in Palm Springs this Christmas with 30's common at night. The pool is clean, although guests smoking in the pool area was not appreciated. The front desk staff is helpful. Breakfast consists of scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, waffles, toast, bagels, sausage, O.J., tea, milk, coffee -- and is included, The grounds are small, but nice; parking can be a problem at night when the motel is full. High school basketball teams were not as rowdy at night as I thought they might be; and overall sleep quality was good with comfortable, clean bed. Larger than normal in room refrigerator, but no microwave. Overall a good value for the money with convenient location to downtown. Heating and A/C works well. I will definitely stay at the Comfort Inn on all future trips.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor so no one is above. There are few rooms with good views, however, most rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertortropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is was our second stay at the Palm Springs Comfort Inn, and we are certain it is where we will always stay when we come here.
This motel has everything that many higher-priced motels offer. The rooms are spotless, large and bright. Beds are perfect, linens are fresh. Wi-fi is strong. Coffee is provided in the room. The breakfast is unbeatable. Waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, bagels and juice. There are two pools and one hot tub and also a gym.
The Comfort Inn is just a block over from Palm Canyon, with all its shops and restaurant. I could not be better located.
The fellow who registered us (Anthony) was friendly, welcoming and very professional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed a week in Jan and loved it. There is a breakfast in the morning, a gym that stays open 24 hours and 2 pools and a hot tub that stays open until 10 pm. And the staff are very nice. Our room was fine, but we noticed that the carpets we old, but clean. However, while we were there, the hotel was replacing carpets, a dozen at a time . Apparently, ours was scheduled to be replaced when we left.
There was a bit of minor damage in the suite--chipped baseboards, pushed in door stop. But nothing that looked unclean or terribly unsightly.
The lobby and breakfast area are stellar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyFamilyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baroda
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The stay was very good and pleasant. The price and location is what makes this a very attractive option. The rooms were clean, bed comfortable, size of the room was decent too. What i didn't like was the paper thin wall. Easy to hear what's happening in next room. The worst part was the elevator. It was ripped apart and very sketchy. Need an instant makeover. The breakfast was good. I had room on 3rd floor so it was pretty quiet. The swimming pools and jacuzi was clean all the time and very tempting. Overall, the stay was very good. The front desk staff was helpful. No microwaves in room apart from that it has everything you can think of. The best thing is location to downtown. 5 mins walk and you are there. Walking in night is also not an issue.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid any disturbance. View out is good too with pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahavir_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#47 of 73 in Palm Springs
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 73 in Palm Springs
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#39 of 73 in Palm Springs
748 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#62 of 73 in Palm Springs
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
Address: 390 S Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-7827 (Formerly Comfort Inn Palm Springs Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1958 as the Dunes Hotel, and once a great weekend to hangout for celebrities like Nancy Sinatra, Elvis, and the Rat Pack, feel good with a great book at the pool with breath taking view of the San Jacinto Mountains. The San Jacinto Mountains provide a scenic backdrop for many of the area golf courses. Four miles from Palm Springs International Airport. Location Located in Downtown Palm Springs, visit the Agua Caliente Cultural Museum, enjoy Palm Springs best of the best fine restaurants, night clubs, great music for all ages. Casino, also within 5 minutes to the world famous Palm Springs Aerial Tramway. Just 18 miles from Desert Hills outlet known for all the top name brands, features more than 180 designer stores like Nike, Saks fifth avenue, J Crew. Three blocks from Palm Springs Convention Center. Hotel Features Over 130 swaying palm trees. 129 rooms and meeting room. Two temperature outdoor pools and hot tub. A 24/7 fitness center and guest coin laundry, and coffee/tea in a common area are available 24/7 at this smoke-free hotel. Free upgraded continental breakfast for two daily, free Wi-Fi, free parking no resort fees. 24/7 business center, meeting room, and a children's pool are onsite. Adjacent to Rio Azul fine Mexican Restaurant & Grill, Ty Massage & Acupuncture and Rooster & the Pigs five star Vietnamese Restaurant. Room Amenities Rooms offer free Wi-Fi, coffee makers, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are among the other amenities that guests will find. Pool and Courtyard rooms with all the amenities and refrigerator. • Access via exterior corridors • Air conditioning • Cable TV service • Free newspaper • Free toiletries • Daily housekeeping • Desk • Free Wi-Fi • Hair dryer • Iron/ironing board • Flat screen Television • Free Showtime Nearby Things to Do The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the hotel; fees may apply. Every Thursday night enjoy walk to Palm Springs street fair, arts, crafts, music, food, greet outdoor life entertainment. Get around Palm Springs every Thursday – Sunday from 11am – 1 am just jump onto the Buzz free trolley at no charge. • Golfing nearby • Bicycle rentals nearby • Mountain biking nearby • Scooter/moped rentals nearby • Hiking • Spa Casino • Jeep Tours • Palm Springs Air Museum • Smoke Tree Stables Horseback Riding • Firestar tour adventure of star homes • Windmill Tours • The Living Desert Zoo Hotel Policies Check-in 3 PM Check-out Check-out time is noon • No Pets • You need to know Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Must be 21 of age to check in. Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for all charges. Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Hotel does not rent to locals. • The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for all charges must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. No cash at check-in. 2 elevators No rollaway/extra beds available Cribs (infant beds) available on request only For group and tour contact hotel direct. The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Palm Springs
Comfort Inn Palm Springs
Palm Springs Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing