We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Monet, from far back it looks good, up close it's a mess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marquis Villas Resort
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Northern California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It's a Monet, from far back it looks good, up close it's a mess”
Reviewed February 13, 2009

My husband and I planned this trip for some romantic R&R in the sun. Mother Nature didn't fully cooperate unfortunately. We arrived at M.V. a little after 4:00 on a Saturday. There is no vallet or a driveway access to the registration area, but there was a small parking lot very close. Check in was quick and the gal who helped us was very nice and helpful (we asked lots of questions). We had a 1 bedroom unit, second floor, facing the pool and mountain. We really liked the view from our room! The parking lot is underground and gated, your room cardkey opens the gate. There are luggage trollies around, so look near both elevators if you don't see any when taking your stuff up to your room. Our room was very large, two sinks, two toliets, shower, a large tub, walk in closet, and two balconies. The bed was comfortable. Upon first glance the room looked very nice and clean. A much closer inspection revealed some areas where things could have been upgraded or replaced. The kitchen was quite dated but clean and functional. All of our applicances worked just fine and we did not have any water damage in our room. The coffee cups are small, like China cups, so I wish I had brought a mug from home. We only had one frying pan but called the front desk and within 5 minutes we had 2 more. We shopped at the Von's about a mile down on Ramon/Sunrise. We joined the shopper rewards program and saved $. We used the woodburning fire place 3 nights and they brought us the log and lit it for us ($5 charge for each log) We also used the heated pool and hot tub each night and found both to be clean and fully functional. Loved looked at the stars from the hot tub! The staff was really nice and tried very hard to help us with all requests. The resorts location is excellent. We walked the few blocks into downtown each night for dinner/drinks. We ate at Los Caleas, good food,drinks and entertainment. We ate at California Pizza Kitchen,good food and drinks and at Kalura Tattora (so/so food and cramped dining room). We went to Palm Desert one day and ate at the Tommy Bahama Cafe, good food. The street it's on, El Paseo has a lot of high end shopping. We really enjoyed our tour of Joshua Tree National Park and the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway (great views at both).
We really enjoyed Palm Springs and although Marquis Villas is in need of renovating, it did not detract from our romantic getaway in any way.

  • Liked — Proximity to Dowtown shops and resturants
  • Disliked — No in room movies
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keybjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    91
    70
    52
    40
See reviews for
90
104
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We spent more than our yearly allotment of timeshare points for 6 days here. I even emailed the manager in advance to inquire about construction & asked for a "nice room". What we were assigned was sub-par for even a 2 star condo. Five areas of flaking, water stained ceiling; unrepaired 4 inch hole in a door, 2 burners out of 4 not working on the range; rotting, poorly slapped on grouting in the shower, kitchen with minimal cooking essentials, no DVD or video player (& the remote didn't work in
the bedroom), deck windowboxes full of dried out old dirt & NO attempt at flowers/plants. The public areas were beyond worn, especially in the only working elevator - carpeting was completely worn through. Security was non-existent and the exterior gate did not close, leaving the entire resort open to the public. No security cameras in sight. The one gas grill cost $5 to use! That's just plain cheap. On the upside, there are no timeshare pitch people on site...they're probably too embarrased. Absolutely no amenities on prem - no internet access, even for a fee. The one continental breakfast was meager. Do not waste your timeshare points on this place if you are a Diamond member.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yag42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

As part of two couples we stayed here on an exchange and were pleasently surprised. I read the reviews and was not expecting much. Diamond point is in the process of updating all of the rooms they own and is in escrow to purchase the rest of the hotel. Each room in the one-bedroom is very large with a separate bedroom and a bath and 3/4 as well as a wonderful living room and a full kitchen. Yes the rooms are in need of an update as they are thirty years old, but they were clean and a beautiful balcony that had door opening from the living room and the bedroom. It also close to downtown as it is only two blocks from all the activity and also two blocks from a new casino. You never have to take out your car unless you want ot play golf or go to area attractions. It has a very secure underground garage that is gated and access only by your coded key, all for no extra charge. We had a wonderful two night stay and would go back as soon as possible. We are golfers so we had plenty to choose from and the nightlife and restaurant choices are endless.

  • Liked — Great room and location
  • Disliked — Needs an update
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tf97355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

This is a decent place to stay if you understand going in what you are getting. No, it's not a Hilton or Marriott resort. I would probably be very disappointed if I paid more than I did, but we got a deal for only $99/night (plus tax) for a Friday & Saturday night stay.

This place is getting old, it's that simple. The rooms are clean but a bit worn. However the suites are quite large and have a full kitchen, which in my opinion makes up for the condition. The A/C unit is loud but I got used to it quickly. The room also had a rather musty smell but I also got used to that. Again, if I were paying more than I did I'd probably be a lot more picky.

The pool is only average sized and 5' deep (no diving / deep end). There is a hot tub and kiddie pool (1.5') though. Great place for families. Location is outstanding. Right near Sherman's, an old-school bakery/deli, and only a block or two from the Palm Springs nightlife and downtown shopping.

The free continental breakfast is very poor. Coffee is not very good and the food is directly from Ralph's supermarket (literally). Doughnuts and bagels only.

If you want a cheap place to stay with room for your family, or a place to crash after partying downtown, this place fits the bill nicely. Just don't expect too much.

  • Liked — Large suites with full kitchen, location
  • Disliked — Overall condition, amenities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Okay, we stayed at the Marquis Villas Resort for three days in July. The only reason we booked the room is because we had some extra days through our timeshare that we needed to book by the end of July or we would lose them. After booking the time, we read the reviews on tripadvisor...
we were quite worried, but decided to go and make the best of it.

The GOOD:
1. Location: Very nice, about five min from shopping and restraunts.


2. Room: Not the best, but certainly not the worst! I have stayed at MANY different hotels, and I don't know what all the other reviews are complaining about! Its not the Four Seasons, but did they really expect that?

We booked a one bedroom suite and it came complete with a FULL kitchen (and all the kitchen things one would need), two bathrooms, a king bed in the the bedroom, and a full living room with a pull out couch.

3. Amenities: There was a WONDERFUL pool and jacuzzi.
A fitness room, small but more than adequate considering I didn't really want to work our on vacation.
A BBQ deck, with tables, chairs, and a big BBQ which would be nice for dinner.


The NOT-SO-GOOD:
1. Guest Services:There were no problems during our stay, but everytime we contacted the front desk they seemed as if we were bothering them. There was always an answer or suggestion, but it still didn't feel nice to be treated as if we were interrupting something.

2. Parking: There is an underground parking garage where guest park thier cars. It is gated, and can only be accessed by guests with thier room keys... or not at all, in our experience.
Right after checking-in we were told to go right outside and turn right into the garage, so we did. However, the gate raised about six inches off the ground and got stuck!
Being the sneaky peopel that we are, we went around to the otherside and entered that way, but it was quite inconvinient!

3. Elevator: The elevator near our room smelled as if it was burning the entire time we were there.
The elevator down the hall had about twenty pieces of caution tape around it, so we opted to use the burning one

Summary:
All in all, if you don't go here expecting an AMAZING hotel, you will be satisfyied. Again, the location is great, close to just about anything you might want to do in Palm Springs, and the hotel is a great price, especially if you are going to utilize the full kitchen that it comes with!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank allierskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I first stayed here in 2005 and then again last month, different rooms. There was a blatant difference in internal maintenance this time. The carpet was beat up and torn, three light bulbs burned out, and parts of the kitchen sink and shower were missing.

That said, tho, dollars per square foot, it's the best bargain in town. It's spacious (to me), conveniently located, and best of all has underground parking...a big plus in the summer!

  • Liked — Underground parking & spaciousness
  • Disliked — Condition of rooms, esp the torn up carpet w/burn marks & flaking bathtub "enamel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PS-Heat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2008

DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT!

The rooms are in very poor condtion. The couch was ripped, the carpets were stained, the "double sized beds" are a litle bigger than a twin sized bed, and we found a very noticeable white stain on the comforter. (Which I took pictures of).

I was told that every patio has a BBQ, which the entire resort has 1 BBQ that you have to rent for a $5 per use.

You only get 2 parking spaces, in the tiny and crowded underground parking which states PARK AT YOUR OWN RISK in red letters on the walls.

Once I called management, they moved me into a "newer" room which only had a newer dishwasher, refrigerator and a small black TV. They do not have as much as an alarm clock, or DVD player, the "queen" sofa sleeper did not work, the springs popped out and you could not pull it out. When I asked for a roll-away bed they gave me what looked like a twin hospital bed.

The kitchen counters were dirty, housekeeping had to come in.

Toilet paper was scarce, when housekeeping came, they would give you 1 roll- even though the room has 1 1/2 bathrooms, which are seperated by a pocket door.

I would never stay at this or any DIAMOND RESORT again.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank octraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#27 of 73 in Palm Springs
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Palm Springs
861 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
#60 of 73 in Palm Springs
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Villas Resort

Property: Marquis Villas Resort
Address: 140 S Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6612
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis Villas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marquis Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing