We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Material Condition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marquis Villas Resort
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Chula Vista, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Material Condition”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

First, the Front Desk people were outstanding!!! They were helpful, friendly, and seemed to care about us and their job. I can't say enough good things about them. The material condition of the place is another story:

1) We saw a roaches and ants on the first day. They sprayed, but later in the week, I saw several more roaches that I killed. We didn't want to risk bigger issues by changing rooms, even though they offered it as an option.

2) The kitchen was just in bad shape, and hasn't been updated since the late 80's by my guess. The small appliances were almost to a condition of being rendered useless. In addition, the A/C unit was horrible loud when it cycled.

3) The bathroom had ants, (they sprayed for them too) and there was moldy, rotten grout/caulking throughout.

4) The TV's are seriously old, and there was no guide for the cable. This made what was supposed to be relaxing days irritating. We just left the resort to watch the football games due to the lack of channels, guide, and really poor picture.

5) The weight room is very bad. The equipment is in need of some serious repair, weights replaced, (lots missing) and I recommend real towels vice the washcloths that were provided.

6) The carpets throughout the common areas are seriously worn, dirty, and smell bad. I would recommend removing and replacing with something that can stand the wear.

7) The grills were filthy, and in very poor shape. I had to contact the front desk to get the pool clerk to start it. I would recommend replacing with commercial type grills that are anchored, and fueled directly from the main LP line for the building, or a large commercial tank.

8) All of the patio furniture was dirty and in poor condition.

9) I have never seen a Resort that didn't have a small supply of items for sale to guests. There wasn't even real vending machines, just sodas. This is just unacceptable for guests spending a week or more there. Even the Motel 6 has this option.

This was our first vacation in 20 years with just me and the wife. As I am Active Duty Military, we cherish any moment we can get away, and we were just disheartened by all of the above issues. Needless to say, we'll never stay there again. We would have been better off staying in an RV to be honest. I hope this helps to open the eyes of management, and steps are taken to shut down, fix, then reopen this resort.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you noted from our responses to other reviews that our aim is to deliver lasting and meaningful memories. Clearly, we did not manage to achieve this for you, and so we are incredibly sorry. We have a very strong commitment to keep our premises up-to-date and we go through a well-thought restoration programme in order to ensure that our resort is always presented at its best. We are currently working on introducing significant improvements the rooms and although we do realize that some of the rooms may still be outdated, we hope you can appreciate that it is not possible for us to close the resort completely for the time of refurbishment. Therefore, we are systematically updating all areas. We are renovating the interior and exterior of the property, installing 37” and 42” TV’s in all rooms, resurfacing the pool deck, preparing to fit new carpets, tiles, etc.
As for your issue with the insects, we are sorry to read about the situation you encountered in your accommodation. The resort does take preventative measures to reduce the appearance of insects, and while this is something that is very difficult to completely eradicate, we would like to reassure you that the situation is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff. Any insects found within the apartments are usually eradicated by the use of a spray; however we never refrain from using more extensive measures if needed. We are very sorry for any disruption caused to your holiday by this incident. We also we apologise for any housekeeping shortcomings you may have encountered, please be assured that these will be addressed.
If you are willing to give us another chance once these refurbishments have been completed, we are confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you and your friend the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    92
    72
    52
    41
See reviews for
93
106
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Marquis Villa Resort is within two blocks of downtown Palm Springs and is a very nice place to stay. We rented a one bedroom that was very large, with a pull out bed in the living room that was uncomfortable but okay. Bathroom was huge, almost too large. The kitchen is dated with black counters tops and a very old microwave, but overall very functional. Four of us easily shared the space due to the large balcony overlooking the pool. The pool was fine and cool but appreciated on a late September day. Outdoor chairs on the balcony of the unit need to be replaced, however. The unit itself was clean and more than adequate; kind of like relaxing at home. Free, secure, underground parking included. And the cost was outstanding. Definitely would return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This property is in terrible need of updating and repairs. I will say the staff was super friendly and tried to be accomodating. The unit however was something else. The water in the tub never shut off, the shower had mold and something nasty on the wall and the drain plate was not connected. The bed was old and uncomfortable with really bad/flat pillows. The dining room light fixture ahd several bulbs burned out, the living room furniture was very stained and dirty and the carpet was heavily stained,dirty and had huge long runs/unraveling throughout the unit, old small TV's.

The elevator should have been my first clue that something was amiss. Not only was the carpet torn but they have used fake parquet floor tiles on the walls, that are falling off and torn. They have used some nails to try to nail some back on.

The pool was dirty, the lounge chairs were old and dirty and the umbrellas were all broken, the outside pool bar was not in service.

It is quite sad because this really could be a very nice property and they certainly have a great staff. The units are very spacious with large decks. The AC was working well and quiet. The location is also great. I just don't understand why they don't put some money in to this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
As we are wholeheartedly committed to creating an experience that exceeds guest satisfaction, your feedback was most concerning to us. Please accept our sincere apology for your unpleasant stay here. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and are disappointed to have fallen short of our goal. At Marquis Villas Resort, we take every complaint seriously, and have begun taking the appropriate steps to correct the issues described by you. Currently, we are painting the interior and exterior of the property, installing 37” and 42” television’s in rooms, resurfacing the pool deck and wall tiles in the elevators are being replaced. Continuing the effort to improve resort quality, we are also in the process of replacing mattresses and carpeting. That project is currently in process and will be ongoing throughout the property. We would like to sincerely apologize for the other housekeeping and service shortcomings mentioned and we would like to assure you that delivering excellent quality of service and accommodation is the very foundation of our business. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance and stay at our resort again. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was a little hesitant after reading some of the other reviews, and yes, there are a few, very minor, signs of wear (have seen far worse at major chains and who charge far more) – but overall, this hotel is a fabulous value. The rooms are HUUUUUGE! and it's within short walking distance to the main strip in PS. The bathroom alone is bigger than many hotel rooms I've stayed at in Europe. Where on earth can you get a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and fireplace and two queen beds in terrific location for under $150 a night? Yes the TVs are still tubes - so what? It's quiet and the pool is nice too. Arrived in the middle of the night after a long flight and drive from LA but the front desk was helpful and gave a great tip on local hiking. If you want relaxing and comfort with a touch of luxury, this is it... my kind of place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Marquis Villas. We were very honored and touched to hear that you had a wonderful stay here, and that our accommodations, rate met your expectations and needs. Our team members are always willing to the extra mile for our guests, and we were delighted to see that they provided excellent Customer Service. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Location great, rooms large albeit a bit tired. Staff OK, with the exception of front desk agent, Robert from Brooklyn-he made our stay "great." His extensive knowledge of area and restaurants were most informed. Also, he went that extra mile, helping us with reservations and fixing a billing error that the agent that checked us in had screwed up. I'll definately be back, but only because of Robert. Keep us that bubbling attitude.

Room Tip: If you need restaurant info, see Robert from Brooklyn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We are very delighted to read that after your recent stay here, you will be returning to our resort again in the future. Our staff takes great pride in offering superior customer service, and what you experienced with Robert is representative of how we expect our entire team to perform. Please know that it is extremely rare that a guest’s customer service experience is not exceptional and that we sincerely apologize if check in was less than perfect. We assure you that we are continuing on our ongoing commitment to making appropriate enhancements to the resort regarding the refurbishment of our units as needed. We hope that our picturesque views and onsite services and amenities made up for what we lacked in modern furnishings. Repeat business is very important to us. We are very honored to read that you are intending on coming back here again in the future and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Very spacious rooms, loved my stay here!

The pool I must admit is small...

Down fall is the front staff had no emotion when ask for room service or checking in/checking out. Should be more cheerful :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are really glad to read that you had an overall enjoyable stay at Marquis Villas Resort and found our oversized accommodations to be comfortable and roomy. We are, however; disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectation for a fully capacious pool but, are pleased that this appears not to have marred your stay. We are, equally disheartened at your disappointment in your check in experience and service provided by our usually very friendly and often complimented front desk team members. We would like to assure you that the impression you had after your recent stay with us is not what we strive to offer our guests every day and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance and stay at our resort again. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The bf & I fell Inlove with this villa! It is very spacious, the pictures on the site are its actual place. Small pool & jacuzzi. The hotel is only few blocks from downtown which is a great bonus. Staff in front was OK, wish they were more attentive & more lively.

Room Tip: Book during week day. Much more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San Diego R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Marquis Villas Resort. We were glad to hear that you and your companion really loved our villas and that our location was close to downtown. It was concerning to read that our staff did not provide exceptional customer service. This will be addressed with them. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 73 in Palm Springs
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
398 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
#61 of 73 in Palm Springs
706 reviews
1.0 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#13 of 73 in Palm Springs
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Villas Resort

Property: Marquis Villas Resort
Address: 140 S Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6612
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis Villas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquis Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing