We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth your money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquis Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marquis Villas Resort
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth your money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The bf & I fell Inlove with this villa! It is very spacious, the pictures on the site are its actual place. Small pool & jacuzzi. The hotel is only few blocks from downtown which is a great bonus. Staff in front was OK, wish they were more attentive & more lively.

Room Tip: Book during week day. Much more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank San Diego R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Marquis Villas Resort. We were glad to hear that you and your companion really loved our villas and that our location was close to downtown. It was concerning to read that our staff did not provide exceptional customer service. This will be addressed with them. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    83
    70
    52
    39
See reviews for
87
101
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Md
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

While I agree that this hotel is a little outdated, ie; tube televisions. The rooms were well maintained and clean.
We had a one bedroom condo that had plenty of space. Gorgeous views of the mountains. And most important ti us,was very quiet. No noise from adjoining rooms!
Had an issue with the ac upon checkin, it was fixed within 15 mins, can't ask for better service than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMDJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed there for the second time and were really disappointed: location is wonderful, rooms were phantastic originally, but is is run down now. Sofa is broken and dirty, balcony furniture is broken and you can´t sit on it without cutting your skin, beds are worn-out as well. Pool was rather dirty.
Management should really take care of the hotel immediately and buy at least furniture and keep the location maintained.
We really loved the hotel and would like to come back, but I really can´t recommend it any longer under these conditions!

Room Tip: Wait until next refurbishment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUC_PUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay here at Marquis Villas. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide essential services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet your expectations in regard to offering quality accommodations. We are truly sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. It has been brought to our attention that some of our rooms are in need of refurbishment and we are doing everything in our power to bring these rooms up to the quality level that our guests have come to expect. In the meantime, our front desk would have been more than happy to assist with trying to relocate you to another room that better met your expectations. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

ok so the rooms are huge, & i think tolerable ("cleanliness not so much") if you prepare yourself (BRING CLOROX WIPES) i think you'll be fine, the staff is super friendly, BUT, the pool, can you say update, the grounds are almost a hazardous for smaller children, with rusty pool equipment & chairs, that have ALL seen better days, someone PLEASE INVEST IN THIS PROPERTY it has potential

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sasham648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We regret to read that you were not entirely satisfied with the standard of housekeeping at our resort and would like to assure you that we put great emphasis on ensuring that all our apartments are spotless prior to check-in, which is inspected by our head housekeeper. We are deeply sorry if on this occasion an oversight appears to have taken place.
We would like to advise you that we have an ongoing refurbishment program and the issues mentioned by you will be addressed very soon indeed. We hope that we will have another opportunity to see you in the future, till then we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel looks pristine in the photos, but I took nearly a dozen pictures of stains, smudges, hairs, sticky spots, etc. There were hairs in the bed, makeup smears on the pillow cases (fresh, not just a stain that lingered after they had been washed), and a sticky spot on the fitted sheet with stuff stuck to it. Appeared to be some kind of residue from food, thank God.

The decor is ancient, and this is far from luxury.

BUT. The staff is very nice and helpful. They were a highlight of the stay.

And if you're just looking for a cheap place to crash downtown, this is in close proximity to almost everything you're heading for.

So pick your priorities. And bring some hand sanitizer and clorox wipes (and flip flops for good measure -- the shower was gross too), if you opt for the Marquis Villas Resort.

Room Tip: There are street side views and poolside views. I had a poolside view and I would suggest that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLCNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
There is no excuse for a guestroom being dirty upon arrival. We hope that you notified our front desk team so that they could quickly resolve the concerns in your unit. We would like to sincerely apologize for the housekeeping shortcomings you appear to have encountered during your stay and would like to assure you that delivering excellent quality of service and accommodation is the very foundation of our business. The issues mentioned by you are most certainly not the norm here at Marquis Villas Resort and they will be addressed with our team members internally - thank you for sharing your concerns. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, even if it wasn’t the best one. Positive and negative feedback is taken very seriously and we want to learn and grow from each guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The $99 groupon was righteous. Two nights in the most luxurious resort I've ever stayed in, so big and many rooms in the suite: 1.) hall, 2.) half bath, 3.) full kitchen, 4.) wet bar, 5.) dining room, 6.) living room, 7.) master bedroom, 8.) double-wide veranda, 9.) walk-in closet, 10.) bathroom with spa tub and separate shower. Very Liberace! Plus swimming pool, tennis courts, billiards. Right in downtown Palm Springs near the Plaza. Plus it came with a $25 voucher for a local restaurant.
Pays to come to Palm Springs in July!
**I did see the worn carpet, but that was the only indication that something needed attention. I thought often of the other reviewers who complained about this resort...I want their lives, if this is the worst hotel they experience!

Room Tip: The room on the first floor looking out onto the pool was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badcatholicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are really happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised with the standard of our apartments, thank you for your words of appreciation! We hope we will not have to wait until next July to see you again and that you will pay us another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you have been reading reviews for this location you may notice I have posted in the past. I get through Palm Springs often and stay a couple different places. This is my favorite.

I enjoy this location for it's patios and proximity to downtown and the activities they have and shopping when I bring the family. The patios and rooms are large with plenty of room for entertaining or if you just need to step outside for a smoke (Non smoking location).

The rooms are dated as many have stated before. The furniture is in need of replacement in many units and they still have tube type TVs. Rooms are around 1000 sqft with wet bar.

You are getting a Full living room (couch/fold out and at least 2 wing chairs), a Full Kitchen with dishwasher and oven, 1.5 Bath with either a Sunken tub (yes I am old) or a Jacuzzi tub for under $100. Just saying I can put up with a few threadbare spots in the carpet or saggy couches for the space to stretch out.

Try to get either a upper floor, if you must get ground floor try to get inside facing. The patios on the outside ground floor units face the street and are at sidewalk level. So far I have never had a problem but you never know. They charge a $10 plus tax resort fee per day which cover the internet, pool use, underground parking and outdoor BBQ. Maybe other stuff I don't know about too.

The staff is great. House keeping is very courteous and accommodating if not the best cleaners. The landscaping is continuous and looks fantastic. The counter staff has always been courteous even when taking punishment for problems that are not their fault Sorry again Robert.

I would and will stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: If on ground floor try for inside facing, otherwise you are at street and sidewalk level with just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are pleased to read that although there may have been certain aspects of your stay you were not entirely satisfied with, you have classed us as one of your preferred resorts and you would not hesitate to visit us again or recommend us to your family and friends. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.2 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#28 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#23 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Palm Springs - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Villas Resort

Property: Marquis Villas Resort
Address: 140 S Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6612
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis Villas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquis Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing