We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, but cheap. And nice staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marquis Villas Resort
Ranked #55 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel looks pristine in the photos, but I took nearly a dozen pictures of stains, smudges, hairs, sticky spots, etc. There were hairs in the bed, makeup smears on the pillow cases (fresh, not just a stain that lingered after they had been washed), and a sticky spot on the fitted sheet with stuff stuck to it. Appeared to be some kind of residue from food, thank God.

The decor is ancient, and this is far from luxury.

BUT. The staff is very nice and helpful. They were a highlight of the stay.

And if you're just looking for a cheap place to crash downtown, this is in close proximity to almost everything you're heading for.

So pick your priorities. And bring some hand sanitizer and clorox wipes (and flip flops for good measure -- the shower was gross too), if you opt for the Marquis Villas Resort.

Room Tip: There are street side views and poolside views. I had a poolside view and I would suggest that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLCNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

There is no excuse for a guestroom being dirty upon arrival. We hope that you notified our front desk team so that they could quickly resolve the concerns in your unit. We would like to sincerely apologize for the housekeeping shortcomings you appear to have encountered during your stay and would like to assure you that delivering excellent quality of service and accommodation is the very foundation of our business. The issues mentioned by you are most certainly not the norm here at Marquis Villas Resort and they will be addressed with our team members internally - thank you for sharing your concerns. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, even if it wasn’t the best one. Positive and negative feedback is taken very seriously and we want to learn and grow from each guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 320 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

The $99 groupon was righteous. Two nights in the most luxurious resort I've ever stayed in, so big and many rooms in the suite: 1.) hall, 2.) half bath, 3.) full kitchen, 4.) wet bar, 5.) dining room, 6.) living room, 7.) master bedroom, 8.) double-wide veranda, 9.) walk-in closet, 10.) bathroom with spa tub and separate shower. Very Liberace! Plus swimming pool, tennis courts, billiards. Right in downtown Palm Springs near the Plaza. Plus it came with a $25 voucher for a local restaurant.
Pays to come to Palm Springs in July!
**I did see the worn carpet, but that was the only indication that something needed attention. I thought often of the other reviewers who complained about this resort...I want their lives, if this is the worst hotel they experience!

Room Tip: The room on the first floor looking out onto the pool was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badcatholicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We are really happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised with the standard of our apartments, thank you for your words of appreciation! We hope we will not have to wait until next July to see you again and that you will pay us another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you have been reading reviews for this location you may notice I have posted in the past. I get through Palm Springs often and stay a couple different places. This is my favorite.

I enjoy this location for it's patios and proximity to downtown and the activities they have and shopping when I bring the family. The patios and rooms are large with plenty of room for entertaining or if you just need to step outside for a smoke (Non smoking location).

The rooms are dated as many have stated before. The furniture is in need of replacement in many units and they still have tube type TVs. Rooms are around 1000 sqft with wet bar.

You are getting a Full living room (couch/fold out and at least 2 wing chairs), a Full Kitchen with dishwasher and oven, 1.5 Bath with either a Sunken tub (yes I am old) or a Jacuzzi tub for under $100. Just saying I can put up with a few threadbare spots in the carpet or saggy couches for the space to stretch out.

Try to get either a upper floor, if you must get ground floor try to get inside facing. The patios on the outside ground floor units face the street and are at sidewalk level. So far I have never had a problem but you never know. They charge a $10 plus tax resort fee per day which cover the internet, pool use, underground parking and outdoor BBQ. Maybe other stuff I don't know about too.

The staff is great. House keeping is very courteous and accommodating if not the best cleaners. The landscaping is continuous and looks fantastic. The counter staff has always been courteous even when taking punishment for problems that are not their fault Sorry again Robert.

I would and will stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: If on ground floor try for inside facing, otherwise you are at street and sidewalk level with just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We are pleased to read that although there may have been certain aspects of your stay you were not entirely satisfied with, you have classed us as one of your preferred resorts and you would not hesitate to visit us again or recommend us to your family and friends. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. Great staff, all genuinely warm and friendly, with can do attitudes and very helpful. The room was fantastic and huge, with separate living, dining, kitchen area from the bedroom and huge bathroom with both shower and a huge tub and two toilets and sinks to accommodate up to four people. 100 channels to watch. Great patio off each suite as well. Very nice grounds and pool, hot tub area with an event going on almost every night with bbq and food. Close to everything in downtown Palm Springs, casino, shopping, restaurants. This place is great for some good R&R. Loved it, well done.

Room Tip: Ask for north side if wanting a bit of shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jahmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I love staying here. I have stayed here twice now and I love it. The units may need a little updating, but they are amazingly big and really nice. Clean and quiet and big ..your own apartment. You cant beat the location, we walked to the street fair and casino and Sherman deli is right beside it with amazing food. I love this place. I have stayed at a lot of places and I truly give this diamond resort five stars. I have stayed at other diamond locations in palm springs and they have not compared. I stayed at Hotel ZOZO and they says its 4 stars...and I don't agree...this place is ten times better in my personal opinion. The place was clean and the VALUE amazing and they still have one of the lowest resort fees at 10.00 + tax per night. Most others charge 20 and up. I love this place. The WIFI was fast and worked well, which is rare in palm springs from what I have sampled from different venues. The beds are very comfortable and LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

we have a large family and I am always on the lookout for larger condo type places with the kitchens, while older and VERY outdated both in tv furniture and appliances there is an AMAZING amount of space and one that would be hard to beat especially at the price these rooms go for. It was always clean and staff was always nice,very close within walking distance of palm canyon. I would say the pool and hotub are fine. There is tennis courts but they are run down. There is laundry facility onsite which is nice. we always enjoy our stay here and have never encountered any seedy or unruly individuals , there are is also the ability to bbq outside which was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silversprings76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wesley at the front desk is simply awesome. He heard we were celebrating our 21st anniversary and went out of his way to make our stay pleasurable. The large unit we stayed in had a full kitchen, a lovely living area and huge bathroom. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. the entire unit was spotless. the Wi-Fi signal was strong throughout our three day stay. the ac worked great. Free underground parking keeps your car cool in the hot hot summer months. We cannot wait to return in July and will include my parents on the next trip. The resort is close to everything including the casino. We decided to make ribs in the oven. We did not find a large enough pan in our unit. One visit to Wesley at the front desk and in minutes a brand new pan appeared at our door. We were treated like royalty here. Wesley also provided an excellent suggestion for Thai food. Wesley says that updates are on their way I can only imagine what a great resort this will be.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 235 facing the pool, it has a great view and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#40 of 75 in Palm Springs
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Palm Springs - Airport
1.0 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#19 of 75 in Palm Springs
889 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
#56 of 75 in Palm Springs
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Villas Resort

Address: 140 S Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $86 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis Villas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marquis Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing