We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay - Close to action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marquis Villas Resort
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel is always pleasant. The rooms have a dated feel to them for sure. Beds aren't the best, but I sleep fine in them. Definitely could use some renovations. Some rooms have more comfy beds than others. Overall, we always choose to stay here because the rooms are big...actually huge. They have very large living room, dining room, and kitchen. It's always nice to have a place to lounge around other than laying on the bed. The balconies are really big also. Some have a good view of the pool in the center of the hotel while others look to the outside. I always recommend this timeshare hotel to friends. It's also walking distance to everything downtown so no car needed to go out at night. Oh and I forgot to mention, the bathrooms are really big! There are two separate toilet areas and the water pressure in the shower is excellent! Gigantic walk-in closet as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DugKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

Yes,the carpets are thin,some beds are probably lumpy,elevators are slow--but-the location,
price,and sheer size of the units make up for all of that.checkin was smooth,underground
parking a plus,grounds are in good shape.the pool furniture needs improvement,but the
water is clear and refreshing-lots of towels,too.kitchen is a plus,balconies are large enough
for outdoor dining with a view!All in all,a great deal.
,

Room Tip: try various sites for good summer deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ditmar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is tired and worn out, but in a very good location for downtown Palm Springs. You might want to bring your own pool-side chair. Almost all those available are broken.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TommyTravelAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My mom and I stayed at the Marquis villas resort while on a 3 day shopping trip in Palm Springs. The location of the hotel was great and the rooms were very spacious. It was obvious that this hotel likely hasn't been updated since 1983. Everything about it felt old and creepy. The beds were really lumpy, couches and carpet were stained, furniture and walls were chipped, and the shower stall barely opened and closed and had mould in the corners and around the faucets. There was no Internet in the rooms, and the TV's were so small and old. I could see this hotel being a good choice for families on a budget as it is very spacious, but otherwise I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayleekerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I recently stayed at the Marquis Villas in Palm Springs, CA. The location was great - close to downtown and next door to the Spa Resort Casino. The rooms were very large and the hotel has a nice pool. However, the hotel is in serious need of updating - carpets and drapes were stained and fixtures were very out of date. This is a good hotel if you are looking for value and don't mind the look of the place. You'll need to endure lots of little irritations - remote controls that don't work, thermostat that doesn't always work, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gdcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We've stayed here a few times as we've traveled between Los Angeles and Phoenix. This establishment is ideally located two blocks from North Palm Canyon Drive in a very quiet area of town. The grounds here are clean and our room was huge with a large master and 2 bigger bathrooms. This place is not like a luxury hotel at all and I have read some mixed reviews but for the price and location it is ideal and I love the fact you can walk to shopping and nearby eateries. It's a simple, comfortable place to stay. The interior of the place is a bit dated but not to an extreme. I have to say again it's location, location, location. We will come back soon. We've never had a bad experience here. If you come here off season it's even better without the crowds.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The reviews for the property are pretty much on point in regards to the maintenance items. Yes the carpet in the hallways and elevators is worn, and there are areas were the paint needs touch up form the installation of the building fire suppression sprinklers, but really who cares? We stayed at the property for a week. Being only 1 short block from downtown made it very easy to walk around, eat dinner and people watch. The rooms were large and having two bathrooms was a pleasant surprise for us. The bed was very comfortable. Our 13 year son used the couch pull out and it worked for him. The kitchen was fully stocked.

The grounds, grass and pool area was kept clean and tidy. We used them every day. The pool attendant worked very hard (and don't forget to tip him). If you are looking for a comfortable bed, clean room with adequate furnishings and a friendly staff, then the Villas are for you. If you want a 4 star place then don't stay there.

Room Tip: Stay on the main lobby side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherishR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Palm Springs - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#38 of 74 in Palm Springs
424 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
#59 of 74 in Palm Springs
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Villas Resort

Address: 140 S Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $87 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis Villas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquis Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing