We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of Desert Heaven”
Review of The Coyote Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coyote Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have been staying at the Coyote Inn for nine years in a row. Each year we look forward to our stay there with great anticipation. The inn's charming owners, Chris and Barb, make guests feel completely at home. They have suggestions on where to go and where to dine. Many days Barb makes cookies and puts them on a plate by the pool. Each room has a small kitchen, enabling you to cook there if you choose not to go out. From poolside, you have a direct view of the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. The pool area is planted with palms, fruit trees and bouganvilla. A squadron of hummingbirds zip here and there around the saltwater pool. There is a barbecue where you can cook your dinner under the desert sky.
In the hurried world we live in, Chris and Barb manage to give you the sense you have found a bit of heaven --a peaceful paradise only a few blocks from Palm Springs' shops and restaurants.
Doug and Susan from San Francisco

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for The Coyote Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 366 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

Many thanks to Barb and Chris for making us feel more like friends down for a visit instead of hotel guests :)

I know that all 7 of us had a birthday party to remember! Such a relaxing, enjoyable and comforting place to wind down at the end of the day - or for the entire day! Both owners met us after shopping and other excursions to see how our day was!

Room 7, where I stayed, was the perfect place to lay my head. The bathroom was large for the two of us for 'getting ready' purposes - the timed coffee machine was a delight for the mornings - the sheets on our bed were a little bit of heaven.......so silky and soft.

After returning from an outing - the room was clean, new towels, new pool towels, coffee maker clean, bathroom sparkling and dishes put away.

Both owners were more than helpful when asked about dining experiences and recommendations. I think we hit the jackpot on our last night! Barb went online to make sure the fussy eater of the group would have a beef option at the restaurant! Both owners went above the call of duty in making sure we were well taken care of.

In addition to the wonderful baking left out everyday - Barb and Chris offered up their computer so 7 of us could pre-select our plane seats and print our boarding passes. I honestly don't think I've ever experienced that kindness before in my travels and it was greatly appreciated.

This quaint little boutique hotel is within walking distance of the main thoroughfare. Head out a few blocks and we were at Ruby's Diner! The grounds are so well kept, the hummingbirds are plentiful, the pool and hot tub extremely refreshing. There are no time limits on pool usage, and we certainly enjoyed a few night swims!

5 of us left on the holiday Monday of the September long weekend, and were up at 4 am to head to the airport. Miss Barb was up with us dressed and sending us off with a smile. Like I mentioned above - I felt more like a visiting friend than a guest at a hotel.

Thank you so much Chris and Barb. I'm hoping to get the girls to agree to a gathering every two years instead of the 5 we had originally planned. Shall I book 2 years in advance?

Room Tip: Our party of 7 girls used 3 rooms while there. 6, 7 and 8. All rooms lead straight to pool side...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RaeganLube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My family and I have been going to Coyote Inn annually for over 11 years and have always loved it. After raving about the place to our entire family for so many years, we all finally decided to take a trip together. But this time, it wasn't the same place that we had grown to love. Staying at Coyote Inn was a part of the year that we all looked forward to, and imagine our disappointment when the owners we once loved were distant and cold. Others within the family mentioned that they felt unwelcome, and it really put a negative vibe on the rest of our family trip. We had always experienced hospitality during our stays, and this time, something was just different in a very negative way. Instead of being the outgoing owners that we looked forward to seeing each year, we were faced with negative comments and a lack of socialization on their end. It saddens me to know that this family tradition is officially over with the Coyote Inn, and as I have to search for new hotels within Palm Springs, I can't help but wonder why things have changed so dramatically in a place that was once so wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Myself, and six good friends just returned to Canada after staying for four nights, over the September long weekend, at Chris and Barb's B&B the Coyote Inn. What a fantastic place. The rooms were very clean, tastefully decorated. Tidied each day, with fresh linens/towels provided. The pool, was very clean, and a nice temperature. The decks were washed down everyday. It is only three short blocks from shopping, and restaurants. THe mountain view you can't beat......Chris and Barb were great hosts, with fresh cookies, the newspaper, magazines, DVD's, large pool towels, and sunscreen all provided free each and every day. I hate writing such a great review because I want this to be my well kept secret............

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Being our first trip to the Coyote Inn, we weren't sure what to expect. But from the moment we were greeted at the airport to the moment we reluctantly departed, we felt like we were special guests in an old friend's home. We came to relax and decompress and got so much more. This is a business built on relationships and mutual respect; something Chris and Barb have perfected. The attention to detail like the spotless pool deck, the home baked goodies put out in the afternoon, the lights around the pool inconspicuously lit at sunset for ambience...it was a dream spot to get some much needed R &R. The cheery good mornings and the chats at the end of the day to see what we had discovered made us feel like they had been waiting for us to arrive. This rare find will only make us count the days until we can return. Thanks go to our gracious hosts, you are special people and we look forward to seeing you soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanMik_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We’ve stayed here many times in the past eight years and always loved it. The new and old owners have always treated us very well. But something was different this week. The owners were distant and businesslike. They snipped at my wife when she left our door open for a minute to get a towel we left outside by the pool (the rule is, never leave your door open I guess). All in all, we just didn’t have the same warm feeling like we have in past years. That friendliness we were used to was missing. We talked to others staying there and they were getting the same vibe. Some of them were first timers that had read the good reviews. They asked us if these were brand new owners, but no, they aren’t. One family said they had been coming for 10 years and also noticed a big difference. Maybe they weren’t happy with us because we were checking out Saturday morning. Whatever it was, it was different this time than in the past. We’ve decided to stay elsewhere next year. A real shame because we always loved our stays here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My sisters and I stayed here the second week of August, and loved this small boutique hotel. The owners are amazing, so helpful and welcoming! The rooms are comfortable and clean, nicely decorated, and all rooms have kitchens. The pool was a great temperature and very clean each and every day. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgebackowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#33 of 73 in Palm Springs
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.0 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coyote Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coyote Inn

Address: 234 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: $132 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coyote Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coyote Inn is an exclusive Spanish mission style resort fully gated offering the utmost in privacy. A total of seven different sized suites, from a poolside studio to the grand suite. Each suite offers either a kitchenette or fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, mini library, queen or king size bed with a raised bedside fireplace. The courtyard contains the salt water pool, spa, grill, and poolside fire pit. Located in the Historic Tennis Club, just a stroll to heart of the Palm Springs village. Our relaxed atmosphere will certainly help you to forget your cares and enjoy every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Coyote Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coyote Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing