We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a great place to stay.”
Review of Del Marcos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Del Marcos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely a great place to stay.”
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Stayed two nights and would definitely pay them another visit. Rooms were impeccably clean and cozy. Staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. We spent the first evening in the gazebo by the gas fire pit watching a soft rain fall on the pool. Location was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryoftheMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    128
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
501
49
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2010

"Amazing place! Takes you back in time. Wonderful service and feels like family atmosphere. Relaxing place pool very nice kept at 90 degrees. Friendly hosts and very helpful. Rooms were excellent and spacious. Good nights sleep beds were great.
We definately will return to this hotel to stay.
Only regret is that too many people will also fall in love with this place and next year I won't get a reservation.
PS. should have more kudos for Janice and Diana.

Anne, Annie, and Judith

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I had the very spacious Oceans 11 suite with a very large bedroom with mini kitchen, table, easy chairs, and entirely separate 2nd small bedroom with its own queen size bed and flat panel TV. The hotel has a fabulous heated pool, downstairs kitchen with coffee, fruit and pastries constantly on tap, and the friendliest staff you are ever likely to come across. Added to this is the great Frank Sinatra theme throughout with ol blue eyes music wafting by the pool and great art deco art and furniture. And, by the way, great, great location and price. Dont stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runrhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

A great time in Old Palm Springs. Sinatra and wine by the fabulous Del pool. Staff was great and every request was taken care of with a smile. Just a short walk to the strip with tons of restaurant choices.
Can't wait till next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shankapotumous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

From the moment we walked in the front door, it felt like were living in a dream. It was such a treat to enjoy the architecture and well-chosen furnishings, gaze up at the mountain, listen to sweet music from a bygone era, and soak up the friendly ambiance, all from the comfort of the poolside!

Janice and Diana are such great hosts, ready with suggestions and help, but they're never in your face. We had a chance to look at all the rooms and they're all a little different, whether the shape and size of the room, the furnishings, the exposure, etc. We loved our quiet ground-floor room, but next time we might choose one with a sweet kitchenette! If I had one complaint, it was the lack of recycling bins, and the use of disposible cups, etc, but our hosts did tell us to put anything aside that we wanted to recycle.

Thanks from the bottom of my heart to the hotel owner for keeping the historic Del Marcos from some horrible fate. Thanks for the time and care you put into maintaining the integrity of design. It's one thing to restore a building, but if you don't choose the right materials and fixtures you might as well not bother. The Del Marcos is well on its way to regaining its status as a shining jewel of the desert.

This place was an oasis, a refreshing alternative to the big nasty chain hotels that are becoming ubiquitous across the nation. A real dream come true!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aregie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary but didn't have a lot to spend. Being modern architecture fanatics, we decided on Palm Springs. After perusing many hotel websites, we settled on the Del Marcos Hotel. The photos showed real architecture, designed by noted desert architect William Cody and furnished with authentic mid-century pieces.
When I called to make reservations, I mentioned that we were architects, had recently met William Cody's daughter, and that we were celebrating our anniversary. I asked for the best room they had available, and Dianna described each room and assured me that we had indeed gotten the best one. Then she told me that they would "do something special" for us.
Having been disappointed in the past, we were a little apprehensive as we neared the hotel (did I mention that the location is in the heart of the downtown area, with great mountain views?) But upon arrival, the building looked just like it does in the pictures - iconic mid-century forms with that great landscape... we were warmly greeted by Janice and Dianna, who immediately offered us beer or wine. Then Janice showed us to our poolside room, where we discovered champagne on ice. She let us know that those adorable bathrobes folded on the bed, along with the personalized coffee mugs, were ours to keep. I cannot adequately convey how very generous and congenial these people are! And if you need ideas for dining or activities, they are full of great suggestions.
The building itself is classic mid-century and she's beginning to show her age. But if you appreciate the era, this is a great place to experience that authentic Palm Springs vibe. The owners are planning more upgrades soon, which, if they continue in the current vein, should be done well. (My only suggestion would be to provide some carpet around the bed.)
A few quick mentions: hanging out in the lobby or at the poolside fire pit is a great way to meet interesting people and perhaps discover a good place for dinner. You will also find that this location is ideal for walking the downtown area. Or borrow the on-site bikes for an afternoon ride through the neighborhood. Another can't miss is Gary Dorothy's photo gallery along Hwy 111 - amazing photos from all kinds of places. And he is as friendly as our hostesses!
All in all, we had a fantastic couple of days. We're now working on coordinating a party weekend at Del Marcos with several other couples - so look out!
Thank you Janice and Dianna!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton alberta
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Our first ever trip to ' the desert was nothing if not memorable...and for reasons you wouldn't immediately suspect. Of the eight days we stayed in Palm Springs nearly six were filled with rain. Normally this would put both a figurative and literal damper on the experience. While we were disappointed in the weather, we nonetheless tried to make the best of the situation by seeing and doing things we otherwise might not. Were it not for the two wonderful ladies at the Del Marcos even this 'glass half-full' approach would have failed miserably. Janice and Diana were more concerned about our well-being and happiness then we were. They are first class examples of what true customer service should be and are to be commended for their efforts on our behalf and those of other guests in the hotel. We will return to Palm Springs and we fully intend to stay, once again, at the Del Marcos.

Ps. Whatever Janice and Diana are getting paid...it isn't enough!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junetwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Marcos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Marcos Hotel

Property: Del Marcos Hotel
Address: 225 W Baristo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Marcos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed buildings in Palm Springs, designed in 1947 by iconic architect William F. Cody, the backdrop of this classic Mid-Century 17 room hotel, is the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. Enjoy the scenic biking or hiking trails or simply relax around the serene saltwater pool listening to the sounds of the Forties. From our comfortable well appointed Standard rooms to our large Deluxe Suites, the hotel offers guest rooms furnished with a Mid-Century Flair. Private patios, balconies, kitchenettes and full kitchens are available. Located only 1 block from downtown. "Once you arrive there's no need to drive." Complimentary Palm Springs Art Museum Passes and Discounted Tram Tickets are available.Complimentary Cruiser Bike use, Continental Breakfast, WiFi and Parking with no Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Del Marcos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Marcos
Del Marcos Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing